Testing beta 0.69a -> 0.69b (Update for sdk 1.18)

Forums: Testing beta 0.69a -> 0.69b (Update for sdk 1.18)
Maxon Cinema 4D (Export script developed by abstrax, Integrated Plugin developed by aoktar)

Moderator: aoktar

Testing beta 0.69a -> 0.69b (Update for sdk 1.18)

Postby aoktar » Wed Jun 26, 2013 12:10 am

aoktar Wed Jun 26, 2013 12:10 am
Hi,
i found some extra problems on animation rendering. And i have fixed asap.
Also i'm trying to improve geometry update codes. I'm not sure how reliable at this time. I'll test tomorrow again. Workaround is on instancing geometry updates. Now updates much faster. But need some extra work.

I hope this will be last release until sdk 1.20. Also any tests will welcome

Cheers,
Ahmet

Install:
Copy c4doctane directory in zip to over old one. Put needed version of plugin files (*.cdl/*cdl64) from (r12,r13,....) zip dirs. to c4doctane folder.
There is a r13-fast and r145-fast directory. these are release builds. We can expect to work much faster then others.

For mac, use only needed version of plugin file c4dOctane-r13.dylib or c4dOctane-r14.dylib. remove all older Octane plugin files



VERSION 0.69B (fixes for 0.69a)

Windows (r12-r14)
http://render.otoy.com/customerdownload ... R12-14.ZIP

Macosx (r13-r14)
http://render.otoy.com/customerdownload ... R13-14.ZIP



Also i have attached a sample scene and preview video. I hope will help to people. It's a old commercial done with vray and converted to octane. Total render process took only 9 minutes.
It's rendered with geometry update option and can shown on live view with updated geometry option.

Scene link: http://www.aoktar.com/temp/kitchen.rar
http://www.aoktar.com/temp/kitchen-prew.mp4
Last edited by aoktar on Fri Jun 28, 2013 2:19 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13422
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Test beta 0.69a Latest (Update for sdk 1.18)

Postby cfrank78 » Wed Jun 26, 2013 12:59 am

cfrank78 Wed Jun 26, 2013 12:59 am
Hi Ahmed!

I tested both. R14 and R14 fast. I see absolutely no difference in speed. Both are very slow compared to max. I used the surveycam testszene again.

Also i found out, that if you do not have octane render view open and hit the playback button, the animation plays back realtime - even the keyframe slider. As an example you have 30frames per second, in 1 second the slider moves 30 frames. realtime. As soon as you start octane renderer and hit the playback button, the slider moves in 1 second only 16 or 17 or at maximum 18 frames per second. The half speed! If i playback the szene in max with octane render viewport open, the slider or the 3d viewport allways playback realtime. in c4d thats not the case!

This is completely weird :-P!

Kind regards Chris!
cfrank78
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 11:44 pm

Re: Testing beta 0.69a (Update for sdk 1.18)

Postby aoktar » Wed Jun 26, 2013 1:21 am

aoktar Wed Jun 26, 2013 1:21 am
after getting away serious problems, I'll take a look for speed. fast and normal versions has differents more complex scenes
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13422
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Testing beta 0.69a (Update for sdk 1.18)

Postby cfrank78 » Wed Jun 26, 2013 1:49 am

cfrank78 Wed Jun 26, 2013 1:49 am
Tested now several testszenes. Fog also. No crash so far! Tested r14 and r14 fast. Allways used 2 gtx 670 gpu´s. Did not see any speed differences in any szenarios!

Hope this helps. Chris!
cfrank78
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 11:44 pm

Re: Testing beta 0.69a (Update for sdk 1.18)

Postby DennisK4 » Wed Jun 26, 2013 8:17 am

DennisK4 Wed Jun 26, 2013 8:17 am
I will be testing this new beta 0.69a to see if my stability issues continue.

In the mean time, and I know this is a depressing question in the dedicated plug-in forum, sorry, could someone more experienced than me tell me if using the Standalone Octane 1.20 is a viable option for rendering animations from Cinema 4D until things get sorted out?

Would that be possible with Octane exporter for C4D version 0.12b (current)? Or are there problems with that approach?
Win 7 x64 | 2 x GTX580 3GB | i7-2600K 3.4GHz | 16GB | Cinema 4D R14 | Nvidia 320.18
DennisK4
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 10:46 am

Re: Testing beta 0.69a (Update for sdk 1.18)

Postby Silverwing » Wed Jun 26, 2013 10:23 am

Silverwing Wed Jun 26, 2013 10:23 am
f using the Standalone Octane 1.20 is a viable option for rendering animations from Cinema 4D until things get sorted out?
Would that be possible with Octane exporter for C4D version 0.12b (current)? Or are there problems with that approach?

Unless you want to animate Textures, Material properties etc. that are handled in Octane directly animation should work fine. At least it did for me.

I did a couple of animations using the "C4D version 0.12b" exporter.
You have to understand that only your meshes come from C4D with that method. Material, Light, Environment settings etc. are controlled and Stored within the Octane file.

And you only can save 8 bit png´s when rendering animations. So no 32bit EXR or 16bit Tiff unfortunately.

Other that that it sould work as expected!

Cheers,
Silverwing
WIN 10 PRO 64 | ASUS X99-E WS | 3 X GTX 1080Ti | i7 5960X 8X 3,33GHz | 64GB RAM
User avatar
Silverwing
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 275
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2011 8:36 pm
Location: Ludwigsburg Germany

Re: Testing beta 0.69a (Update for sdk 1.18)

Postby aoktar » Wed Jun 26, 2013 10:59 am

aoktar Wed Jun 26, 2013 10:59 am
Hi DennisK4,
if you have rendering problems then must try 0.69.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13422
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: Testing beta 0.69a (Update for sdk 1.18)

Postby ChrisVis » Wed Jun 26, 2013 12:48 pm

ChrisVis Wed Jun 26, 2013 12:48 pm
Hi aoktar,

thank you for the update. Hope it really fixes some rendering problems. Will give it a try tomorrow with many animation sequences I have to render.

Besides that, since Octane 1.20 is out today: How long will it take to implement SDK 1.20 for the plugin and a newly C4Doctane 0.7? So I would wait for that and test with the stable SDK 1.20.

Thank you! Exciting news today,
thumbs up! :D
ChrisVis
C4D R15 - C4DOctane 4.0 | Win7 64 | NVIDIA 417.22 | EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC | EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC |EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC
i7 4930K 6x4.3GHz OC | 64GB | ASUS P9X79-E WS
+ Netstor Turbobox 250A | 2x EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC + 2 x Palit GTX780 Ti 3GB | all watercooled
ChrisVis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 1:53 am
Location: Germany

Re: Testing beta 0.69a (Update for sdk 1.18)

Postby Elprezzy » Wed Jun 26, 2013 1:09 pm

Elprezzy Wed Jun 26, 2013 1:09 pm
I ran cactus dans ik model with no problems with this update, just ran a little slower but didn't crash during a half hour test on a cycle... Couldn't run it for more than a few seconds before.
Thanks

Craig.
Elprezzy
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed May 08, 2013 10:18 am

Re: Testing beta 0.69a (Update for sdk 1.18)

Postby cfrank78 » Wed Jun 26, 2013 1:14 pm

cfrank78 Wed Jun 26, 2013 1:14 pm
Using the debug file (not fast folder) now for 1/2 day! 3 Animations, 7 Still Picture renders.

no crash so far

Seems you have done a really well job Ahmen. GREAT. Not even a crash with update geometries. Cool!

Kind regards Chris!
cfrank78
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 11:44 pm
Next

Return to Maxon Cinema 4D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

Fri Jul 03, 2020 2:52 pm [ UTC ]