From DEMO to FULL license - Everything is blown out

Forums: From DEMO to FULL license - Everything is blown out
Autodesk Softimage XSI (Developed by Face)

From DEMO to FULL license - Everything is blown out

Postby dangaud » Thu Jun 09, 2016 3:05 am

dangaud Thu Jun 09, 2016 3:05 am
Hey guys,

Probably a super dumb question but I just can't find a way around the problem on my own.

I've been playing around the demo version of Octane for a few weeks now. I thought the integration with Softimage was amazing. Renders looked great. So I just bought the license 30 minutes ago. Re-installed everything, activated Octane online and now for some reason, all the renders by default are super blown out. It wasn't like that with the demo plugin running. Any ideas?

RETAIL PLUGIN
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzXAak ... sp=sharing

SAME KIND OF SCENE WITH DEMO PLUGIN
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzXAak ... sp=sharing

And yes I did use the Octane Imager and cranked the fstop up. I get back some of the details but the results still look weird and not as good as in the demo.

Thanks!
dangaud
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 7:38 pm

Re: From DEMO to FULL license - Everything is blown out

Postby face » Thu Jun 09, 2016 4:24 am

face Thu Jun 09, 2016 4:24 am
Hi dangaud,

I haven´t seen any difference between the demo and the full version in tests.
The only difference between the two versions are the octane.dll/octane.dat, which isn´t my work, and inside the plugin the saving functions.

Have you tried to updated the render properties over the menu entry?
You can also open the "Octane Node Graph Window" or the "Octane Log Window" from the debug tab, to check if a connection is broken.
If this won´t work, can you please upload the scene, maybe i can find out what happens.

face
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3178
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: From DEMO to FULL license - Everything is blown out

Postby dangaud » Thu Jun 09, 2016 1:26 pm

dangaud Thu Jun 09, 2016 1:26 pm
Hey Stephan!!

Yes I did tried to Update the Render Properties via the menu.

Check out the Node Graph + Debug:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzXAak ... sp=sharing

Everything seems normal.

If you wanna check out the scene, here it is:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzXAak ... sp=sharing

Maybe I'll just re-install Soft from scratch, that could fix it. I'm at that point now! haha

Thanks a lot for your quick reply!
dangaud
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 7:38 pm

Re: From DEMO to FULL license - Everything is blown out

Postby face » Thu Jun 09, 2016 7:57 pm

face Thu Jun 09, 2016 7:57 pm
Strange, can't find an error.
Is the exposure in the preview Windows set to 1.0?
What happens if you render to disk?
Have you unistalled the demo Version?
You can try to uninstall the addon and then delete the files in the c:\users\xxx\autodesk\softimage\addons\plugins\octane4softimage\ folder.
After that you can installiert the addon again.
It's possible that the octane.DLL/octane.dat aren't overwritten if the demo isn't uninstalled.

face
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3178
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: From DEMO to FULL license - Everything is blown out

Postby dangaud » Fri Jun 10, 2016 3:02 am

dangaud Fri Jun 10, 2016 3:02 am
Is the exposure in the preview Windows set to 1.0?
It's set to 0 but setting it to 1 makes everything go pure white..

What happens if you render to disk?
Same thing.

Have you unistalled the demo Version?
Yessir

You can try to uninstall the addon and then delete the files in the c:\users\xxx\autodesk\softimage\addons\plugins\octane4softimage\ folder.
Did that.

After that you can installiert the addon again.
Did that too.

Basially just uninstalled Softimage completely, and reinstalled it just with Octane as the only plugin. Renders are still super blown out. Very weird. Running out of ideas of what to try next! haha
dangaud
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 7:38 pm

Re: From DEMO to FULL license - Everything is blown out

Postby dangaud » Fri Jun 10, 2016 3:48 am

dangaud Fri Jun 10, 2016 3:48 am
With an Octane Sun environment, if I put ridiculous values in the sun POWER like 0.03, I can see the scene. But the colors are all messed up. Check out what happens when I put a random texture on a sphere.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzXAak ... sp=sharing
dangaud
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 7:38 pm

Re: From DEMO to FULL license - Everything is blown out

Postby face » Fri Jun 10, 2016 10:28 am

face Fri Jun 10, 2016 10:28 am
So, have this time used the version which you can download and now i have the same problem.
Its also a issue with the release version.

You can use the 1.04 RC2 if you don´t need the instance shape support before a solved version is available.
viewtopic.php?f=29&t=54039

Only funny that no one has reported it before :?
face
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3178
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: From DEMO to FULL license - Everything is blown out

Postby face » Fri Jun 10, 2016 11:33 am

face Fri Jun 10, 2016 11:33 am
Hm, realy strange.
What i have seen, there is nothing different to the demo version. The values which are set in the Octane nodes, are in both versions the same.
In any debug version, i can save the scene to open it in the Octane standalone to see changes. And again, both render results look the same.

It can only have something to do with the image output, but there is no different in the code between the demo and the full version.
The gamma is the same, all calculation values are the same but after all, it looks different. Also the image values i become from the render engine are to bright.
I think only a single value which isn´t set will make the difference.
But i will find it :)

face
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3178
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: From DEMO to FULL license - Everything is blown out

Postby dangaud » Fri Jun 10, 2016 1:28 pm

dangaud Fri Jun 10, 2016 1:28 pm
Haha that's the story of my life. When I was doing this big project on Maxwell I ran into huge bugs that stalled the whole production and Next Limit had to compile a special beta just to fix it. I have that curse where things never end up working as they should!

So I did try to go back to RC02 and RC01 and still had the same blown out renders. Also tried 1.02RC12 and I STILL get those blown out renders. I have absolutely no clue now. Not that I had a clue before but now if even the old versions doesn't fix it, then I guess the problem is within my machine? Mmmmm. I just update the Nvidia drivers so that should be fine. mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzXAak ... sp=sharing

Thanks for looking into it man! Like you said, I'm sure it's like 1 value somewhere that's messing up the whole thing.
dangaud
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2016 7:38 pm

Re: From DEMO to FULL license - Everything is blown out

Postby face » Fri Jun 10, 2016 1:43 pm

face Fri Jun 10, 2016 1:43 pm
1.0212 RC2 does the same?
Maybe a new driver cause the issue.
You use a GTX9xx i think?
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3178
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany
Next

Return to Autodesk Softimage XSI


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:10 pm [ UTC ]