New, easier fog?

Forums: New, easier fog?
3D Studio Max Plugin (Export Script Plugins developed by [gk] and KilaD; Integrated Plugin developed by Karba)
Forum rules
Please post only in English in this subforum. For alternate language discussion please go here viewforum.php?f=18

New, easier fog?

Postby Norman_Stansfield » Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:27 pm

Norman_Stansfield Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:27 pm
Hi, I've heard somewhere that there is a new, easier fog control for octane. Previous one was kind of hard to create a simple "3dsmax" fog, there were Shlick options in Volume Scatter, and so on. Is this easier version already implemented?
Best,
Norman_Stansfield
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:27 am

Re: New, easier fog?

Postby paride4331 » Mon Dec 10, 2018 2:58 pm

paride4331 Mon Dec 10, 2018 2:58 pm
Hi Norman_Stansfield,
same procedure, but in Octane V4 there is Ai denoiser that cleans scene quickly. in Octane 2018.1 spectron feature will further improve denoising.
https://docs.otoy.com/3DSMaxH/3DSMaxPluginManual.htm#3DSMax/CameraImagerSettings.htm?Highlight=denoiser
https://docs.otoy.com/3DSMaxH/3DSMaxPluginManual.htm#3DSMax/Devices.htm?Highlight=denoiser
Using Octane camera, check Denoising and denoise volume in Octane camera panel instead of imager panel.
Regards
Paride
Win 7 / i7 5930 - 32gb / 1 x quadro K620 / 2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2106
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: New, easier fog?

Postby XYZ-Animation » Sat Dec 15, 2018 7:50 pm

XYZ-Animation Sat Dec 15, 2018 7:50 pm
Norman has a point. I think Octane works really fine but the fog system is stupid. It is not working good. I had some correspondence with "the helpdesk" but that did not really got the job done. It has a lack of quality. And most of all a lack of logic. I work with max now for over 23 years and seen a lot of renderers and they all had a better fogsystem the Octane.
So you have to render your work twice. Once in with the Octane renderer and once with the standard max scanline renderer and the put it together in After Effects.

gr Paul Kolbrink XYZ-Animation
XYZ-Animation
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 7:44 pm

Re: New, easier fog?

Postby paride4331 » Mon Dec 17, 2018 8:06 am

paride4331 Mon Dec 17, 2018 8:06 am
Hi XYZ-Animation,
I sincerely do not fully agree with you; in which specific cases do you think Octane denoise works badly?
Regards
Paride
Win 7 / i7 5930 - 32gb / 1 x quadro K620 / 2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2106
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: New, easier fog?

Postby thekwen » Mon Dec 17, 2018 9:29 am

thekwen Mon Dec 17, 2018 9:29 am
Every month someone ask how to do a correct fog ...
Personnaly for each scene it's like i'd never done any fog before, i have to play with setting for hours to have something correct.
Sometimes i give up and has to make a special vdb for my scene.
In vray you can make 3D fog in a few minutes ...

Please paride you're doing a great job but you are completely blind about major request.
thekwen
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 2:26 pm

Re: New, easier fog?

Postby XYZ-Animation » Mon Dec 17, 2018 11:15 am

XYZ-Animation Mon Dec 17, 2018 11:15 am
Octane denoise doesn't works badly! The way the fog system works is terrible. You don't have a lot of control over the falloff . It takes a lot of rendertime. Tweaking takes ours. It is unpredictable and on top of that it looks bad. I am not saying those things because I thing Octane is a bad render engine. On the contrary I think it is a great engine. But there are some setbacks. One is a good hair material witch can work with the native Max hair system without creating geometry and the other setback is the scatter fog system in the daylight medium slot. Except those two setbacks I enjoy working with Octane every day.
XYZ-Animation
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 7:44 pm

Re: New, easier fog?

Postby paride4331 » Mon Dec 17, 2018 11:27 am

paride4331 Mon Dec 17, 2018 11:27 am
Hi guys,
I will try to ask to developers to add something like 3dsMax volume fog.
Regards
Paride
Win 7 / i7 5930 - 32gb / 1 x quadro K620 / 2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2106
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: New, easier fog?

Postby XYZ-Animation » Mon Dec 17, 2018 3:34 pm

XYZ-Animation Mon Dec 17, 2018 3:34 pm
Thanx paride4331 that would be great!

gr Paul
XYZ-Animation
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2016 7:44 pm

Re: New, easier fog?

Postby ianvalentine » Tue Dec 18, 2018 2:04 am

ianvalentine Tue Dec 18, 2018 2:04 am
paride4331 wrote:Hi guys,
I will try to ask to developers to add something like 3dsMax volume fog.
Regards
Paride


That would be great! I know the C4D environment uses something like this.
ianvalentine
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 6:35 pm

Re: New, easier fog?

Postby jim99 » Tue Dec 18, 2018 9:41 am

jim99 Tue Dec 18, 2018 9:41 am
Totally agree, Octane is awesome beats vray rt in no time ( I use vray and octane ) but If you work in VFX or High-end cg graphics you will hit some walls in octane for example like FOG setup and hair ....which vray has more stable / better setup ....

Cd4 octane render seems to have better integration...
jim99
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 6:07 am
Next

Return to Autodesk 3Ds Max


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:58 pm [ UTC ]