HDRI and Noise

Forums: HDRI and Noise
3D Studio Max Plugin (Export Script Plugins developed by [gk] and KilaD; Integrated Plugin developed by Karba)
Forum rules
Please post only in English in this subforum. For alternate language discussion please go here viewforum.php?f=18

HDRI and Noise

Postby DartFrog » Wed Jan 27, 2016 5:06 pm

DartFrog Wed Jan 27, 2016 5:06 pm
I have an interior scene that renders fine with a default gray color in the environment. It cleans up quickly. It looks much better overall if I put in an HDRI in the env spot, but it takes about 10x longer to clean up, if it even cleans up. Is there a trick to using HDRI files as a lighting source?

I tried applying it directly to a sphere and increased the samples to 200, not really any better. I switched to PMC from PT and it's better, over time, but still not nearly as quick as when I'm not lighting with HDRI. Does anybody have any advice?
DartFrog
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 8:54 pm

Re: HDRI and Noise

Postby profbetis » Thu Jan 28, 2016 3:08 pm

profbetis Thu Jan 28, 2016 3:08 pm
Did you enable Importance Sampling in your Texture Environment settings?
GTX 1080Ti 11GB (3x), Water-cooled
Intel i7-5820K 6-core @ 3.3GHz
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM
User avatar
profbetis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 11:00 am

Re: HDRI and Noise

Postby DartFrog » Fri Jan 29, 2016 4:35 pm

DartFrog Fri Jan 29, 2016 4:35 pm
Yeah. It was on by default anyway. I also tried making a sphere with the HDRI texture pointed inward toward the scene and raised samples to 200, still crap. I gave up. I even threw portals in the non-glass windows to help direct light but I just don't think interiors are lightable from HDRIs, not yet anyway.
DartFrog
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 8:54 pm

Re: HDRI and Noise

Postby profbetis » Fri Jan 29, 2016 5:42 pm

profbetis Fri Jan 29, 2016 5:42 pm
That is a shame. One thing you might try too is adding octane lights or mesh lights in your windows (if octane lights, uncheck visible). This should help fill your room with lights that samples better. It's not ideal but you might be able to tweak it to get close to what you need.
GTX 1080Ti 11GB (3x), Water-cooled
Intel i7-5820K 6-core @ 3.3GHz
Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM
User avatar
profbetis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 11:00 am

Re: HDRI and Noise

Postby mbetke » Sat Jan 30, 2016 9:07 am

mbetke Sat Jan 30, 2016 9:07 am
Can you show us some screenshots?
Pure3D Visualisierungen - Germany
Sys: Intel X5690, 128GB RAM, 2x Titan RTX, Windows 10 Pro x64, 3ds Max 2019
User avatar
mbetke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1075
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: HDRI and Noise

Postby DartFrog » Mon Feb 01, 2016 4:58 pm

DartFrog Mon Feb 01, 2016 4:58 pm
When I'm back in that scene I'll try to get a screenshot. Regarding adding mesh lights, @profbetis, normal lights aren't an issue. It was just lighting with hdri that was the problem. Putting hdri lights in the windows might help... but the light falloff would be all messed up, too severe.
DartFrog
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 8:54 pm

Re: HDRI and Noise

Postby azen » Thu Feb 04, 2016 1:41 am

azen Thu Feb 04, 2016 1:41 am
Hi,

There are a number of possible causes for this issue. First all, what are the specs for your machine? This will help to eliminate possible hardware-related issues.

Otherwise, I would be happy to look over your scene directly and provide you with a working solution. If you are unable to provide the scene for any reason, providing screenshots to look over would also be a great starting point.

Please let me know how you would like to proceed.

Cheers,

Azen
OctaneRender Team
azen
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 640
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2015 11:06 pm

Re: HDRI and Noise

Postby mbetke » Thu Feb 04, 2016 7:32 am

mbetke Thu Feb 04, 2016 7:32 am
My guess is he set wrong Gamma for the HDRI or exposure settings. Some HDR need to be very reduced in those values. Like the Gruthie HDR maps.
Pure3D Visualisierungen - Germany
Sys: Intel X5690, 128GB RAM, 2x Titan RTX, Windows 10 Pro x64, 3ds Max 2019
User avatar
mbetke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1075
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 9:12 am
Location: Germany

Return to Autodesk 3Ds Max


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Thu Sep 19, 2019 11:04 am [ UTC ]