Night time artifacts

Forums: Night time artifacts
3D Studio Max Plugin (Export Script Plugins developed by [gk] and KilaD; Integrated Plugin developed by Karba)
Forum rules
Please post only in English in this subforum. For alternate language discussion please go here viewforum.php?f=18

Re: Night time artifacts

Postby coilbook » Wed Sep 16, 2020 1:47 am

coilbook Wed Sep 16, 2020 1:47 am
ANOTHER UPDATE:
Can you please send this info to devs for them to eval?
So we have a scene with
1. Light posts (300 samples)
2. Gas station lights (300)
3. Two trucks headlights (200)
4. Semi-truck decorative lights (100)

5. City Traffic (500) In the image you can see one little ( truck circled with yellow) but there are a lot more cars behind the camera or far away.
It seems that when lots of instances(city cars ) with lights are added light posts, gas station lights start developing black dots and noise. It's like city traffic sucks out all the samples from other lights.
Even if city cars are not in the camera view they still suck out all the samples from other lights. Do we need to increase samples count if we have lots of instanced meshes with lights?

Setting all lights in the scene is not an options - everything is too noisy. What is the solution then? How do I know how many samples each light needs? It's a nightmare to balance so many lights.
Can they develop an automated sampling system?

Should buildings with lights be set as stationary?
Thanks
Attachments
noise balance.jpg
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: Night time artifacts

Postby whersmy » Wed Sep 16, 2020 9:33 am

whersmy Wed Sep 16, 2020 9:33 am
coilbook wrote:
paride4331 wrote:Hi coilbook,
could you try to reduce specular, bump or normal map (road material)
Any emitters inside other objects?
viewtopic.php?f=27&t=60648&p=310376#p310376
Regards
Paride



Hi Paride,
I tried it doesn't work much. Do you know by any chance why there are pure black pixels like in the iamge above or the one I attached? is it missing data? It was rendering for 50,000 samples

UPDATE:
I noticed it happens a lot when two or more lights shine at the same point (surface)

Thanks


Those pixels happen when Adaptive sampling kicks in to quickly I believe. I have set it now to about 64, the option Min adaptive sampling.
mac pro g5| pentium g2030 iGPU| maximus extreme V| 2x gtx590 - 8gb - SSD - win7-x64- 1500W Silverstone|
x201t - gtx580 - egpu ec
Dell G5 - 8GB - dgpu GTX1060 - TB3 egpu @ GTX1060
Octane Render experiments
User avatar
whersmy
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 7:40 am

Re: Night time artifacts

Postby coilbook » Wed Sep 16, 2020 2:11 pm

coilbook Wed Sep 16, 2020 2:11 pm
Thank you!
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: Night time artifacts

Postby tcheng00 » Wed Sep 16, 2020 3:39 pm

tcheng00 Wed Sep 16, 2020 3:39 pm
I could take a look at the scene. Can you share this scene?
tcheng00
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2019 8:33 pm
Location: USA

Re: Night time artifacts

Postby coilbook » Sun Sep 20, 2020 4:06 am

coilbook Sun Sep 20, 2020 4:06 am
tcheng00 wrote:I could take a look at the scene. Can you share this scene?

Thank you for your help! I 'll try to compile the scene it's pretty big. Here is the example. The lightning is a mesh with 100000 samples and when it's on light posts don't shine on the ground anymore. Their samples are set at 200. The lightning was set at 10k to reduce the noise. I am not sure what's the best solution here I hope otoy can fix it where one light won't steal all sample from another. They need to create a system where light is still there for other light sources with less samples
Attachments
samples.jpg
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm
Previous

Return to Autodesk 3Ds Max


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Sun Sep 27, 2020 5:02 pm [ UTC ]