C4D: Crashing in LV, stuck at- "Octane: Updating Data"

Forums: C4D: Crashing in LV, stuck at- "Octane: Updating Data"
A forum for discussion, development and support, including subforums for discussion for various plugins for octane render and 3d the relevant animation packages

C4D: Crashing in LV, stuck at- "Octane: Updating Data"

Postby FAZ » Thu Oct 15, 2015 7:30 pm

FAZ Thu Oct 15, 2015 7:30 pm
LiveViewer crashes 50-60% of the time whenever I click the green octane logo to send geo to octane renderer. Also happens a lot right after I render an animation locally through the picture viewer. For example: I'd render in pic viewer for final output, render finishes just fine, then go back to click green octane icon in LV then BAM.... stuck on "Octane: Updating Date". I'd leave it there for over 15 minutes sometimes but it never recovers. I'd have to end process and restart. My scene file is relativity small.

Anyone else ever have this problem?

@Akotar: This happens to the same file that I sent you today but this happens a lot with any other project I've loaded. And, I don't know if I am just crazy, but I feel this started happening ever since I opened the "Zero Day" project file that Beeple kindly shared with us. I never had any kind of crash like that since before the 1st time this "Updating Data" lockup problem started occurring.

Thanks for your time. :)
www.alexdimella.com IG @alexdimella
FAZ
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 5:56 pm
Location: Miami, FL

Re: C4D: Crashing in LV, stuck at- "Octane: Updating Data"

Postby aoktar » Thu Oct 15, 2015 7:35 pm

aoktar Thu Oct 15, 2015 7:35 pm
Question: Why do you create a topic while we are looking your problem?
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12193
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: C4D: Crashing in LV, stuck at- "Octane: Updating Data"

Postby FAZ » Thu Oct 15, 2015 7:52 pm

FAZ Thu Oct 15, 2015 7:52 pm
aoktar wrote:Question: Why do you create a topic while we are looking your problem?


Because this is a separate problem, has nothing to do with the other.
This is about not being able to update geometry to Live Viewer, it crashes at "Updating data" (see pic). The post you are referring to is about an incorrect alignment of a cloner in an animation.

All the way to the bottom left of this pic. It stays stuck at "Octane: Updating Data" indefinitely.
Image
www.alexdimella.com IG @alexdimella
FAZ
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 5:56 pm
Location: Miami, FL

Re: C4D: Crashing in LV, stuck at- "Octane: Updating Data"

Postby aoktar » Thu Oct 15, 2015 8:26 pm

aoktar Thu Oct 15, 2015 8:26 pm
Ok. These screens don't say anythings. I need more info about your scene. Also you should check Console and Octane Log Windows when somethings is wrong. Do you see any errors?
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12193
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: C4D: Crashing in LV, stuck at- "Octane: Updating Data"

Postby FAZ » Thu Oct 15, 2015 9:23 pm

FAZ Thu Oct 15, 2015 9:23 pm
aoktar wrote:Ok. These screens don't say anythings. I need more info about your scene. Also you should check Console and Octane Log Windows when somethings is wrong. Do you see any errors?


[b] Console?

I think I've identified the problem to something very specific. I tried going down my render settings starting with defaults one by one. No crashing until I arrived at my Glare Power settings that caused the crashes for me. Every time I put the value to minimum, I'll then press the send scene button and BAM. It freezes. I tried it over and over and always crashes at "Glare Power: 0.0001". See pic. Hope this helps.

Image
www.alexdimella.com IG @alexdimella
FAZ
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 5:56 pm
Location: Miami, FL

Re: C4D: Crashing in LV, stuck at- "Octane: Updating Data"

Postby aoktar » Fri Oct 16, 2015 10:47 pm

aoktar Fri Oct 16, 2015 10:47 pm
I think that's same issue. You should modify your scene.
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=50721
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12193
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Return to Plugin Discussion/Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Tue Jul 23, 2019 1:26 am [ UTC ]