OctaneRender™ 2019.1.1

Forums: OctaneRender™ 2019.1.1
VIP Information, news and announcements regarding new Octane Render commercial products and releases.

OctaneRender™ 2019.1.1

Postby abstrax » Fri Sep 27, 2019 2:22 am

abstrax Fri Sep 27, 2019 2:22 am
Hi all,

This is a bugfix release of version 2019.1. Beside others it includes a fix of the net render slaves. It got broken when we added support of slave-only licenses. As a consequence, we are now distributing the net render slave in it's own package (see the download section below). Please be aware that slave-only licenses are not available yet.

To find an overview of the features of 2019.1 please go here.

Also make sure that you have a NVIDIA driver of version 419.x or higher.


Changes since OctaneRender 2019.1:

  • Fixed incorrect rendering of net render slaves.
  • Fixed crash when trying to render preview if a material that uses vertex displacement.
  • Fixed the diffuse channel of the metal material node to render black if it's not connected.
  • Fixed render failure in the material preview of shadow catcher materials.
  • Fixed anisotropy not working with values ranged between [-1 .. 0).
  • Fixed render failure when rendering volumes with scattering media.
  • Fixed fall off node not taking bump/normal map into account.
  • Fixed dielectric 1/IOR map not working with dielectric layer.
  • Fixed incorrect rendering of sheen when the diffuse and specular channels are both 0.
  • Fixed incorrect compilation of OSL code in some cases.
  • Fixed legacy volume render not matching between 2018.1. (To enable the legacy mode tick Emulate old volume behavior in the kernel settings)
  • Disabled AI upsampling if the output is a linear (unclamped) HDR image, because it is currently not supported.


Downloads

Downloads for Enterprise subscription users:

OctaneRender Enterprise 2019.1 Standalone for Windows (installer)
OctaneRender Enterprise 2019.1 Standalone for Windows (ZIP archive)
OctaneRender Enterprise 2019.1 Standalone for MacOS
OctaneRender Enterprise 2019.1 Standalone for Linux

OctaneRender Enterprise 2019.1 Slave for Windows (installer)
OctaneRender Enterprise 2019.1 Slave for Windows (ZIP archive)
OctaneRender Enterprise 2019.1 Slave for MacOS (updated on 30/9/2019)
OctaneRender Enterprise 2019.1 Slave for Linux

Downloads for Studio subscription users:

OctaneRender Studio 2019.1 Standalone for Windows (installer)
OctaneRender Studio 2019.1 Standalone for Windows (ZIP archive)
OctaneRender Studio 2019.1 Standalone for MacOS
OctaneRender Studio 2019.1 Standalone for Linux

Demo downloads:

OctaneRender Demo 2019.1 Standalone for Windows (installer)
OctaneRender Demo 2019.1 Standalone for Windows (ZIP archive)
OctaneRender Demo 2019.1 Standalone for MacOS
OctaneRender Demo 2019.1 Standalone for Linux


Happy rendering
Your OTOY NZ team
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5105
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019.1.1 [current 2019.1.x]

Postby funk » Fri Sep 27, 2019 2:51 am

funk Fri Sep 27, 2019 2:51 am
Thanks team
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 13
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019.1.1 [current 2019.1.x]

Postby coilbook » Fri Sep 27, 2019 2:56 am

coilbook Fri Sep 27, 2019 2:56 am
I guess I am late with this bug.

In 2019 and 2018 motion blue does not work with phoenix fd liquids and 3ds max. Octane 4 has liquid motion blur. Please fix it as soon as you can now we cannot render again because of this bug nor we can use octane 4 if the scene was made in 2019 version. Textures are all messed up and we have no converter

Link to the bug topic viewtopic.php?f=81&t=72733

Thank you
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2492
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019.1.1 [current 2019.1.x]

Postby natemac00 » Fri Sep 27, 2019 3:03 am

natemac00 Fri Sep 27, 2019 3:03 am
Where do we get info about the Slave Only license?
______________
Nate Mac - Chicago, IL
Cinema 4D R20.059 | Octane 2019.1RC3
Main: '13 Mac Pro | 10.13.6(17G7024) | 2.7GHz 12-core | 64GB | eGPU Gigabyte Aorus GTX1080
Slaves: 4x 980 Ti | GTX 1070 | GTX 1070Ti | RTX 2070 Super
natemac00
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 3:45 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019.1.1 [current 2019.1.x]

Postby funk » Fri Sep 27, 2019 3:53 am

funk Fri Sep 27, 2019 3:53 am
There seems to be a difference with VDB volume rendering comparing 2018 and 2019. The "emulate old behavior" checkbox doesnt fix it

vdbvoxel_2018_vs_2019.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 13
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019.1.1 [current 2019.1.x]

Postby abstrax » Fri Sep 27, 2019 4:12 am

abstrax Fri Sep 27, 2019 4:12 am
natemac00 wrote:Where do we get info about the Slave Only license?

On the shop page, when it becomes available, which is not the case yet.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5105
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019.1.1 [current 2019.1.x]

Postby Zay » Fri Sep 27, 2019 7:27 am

Zay Fri Sep 27, 2019 7:27 am
AI up-sampling still fails on win7 for me. It will render to the end and then all GPUs fail.

Started logging on 27.09.19 09:19:25

OctaneRender Enterprise 2019.1.1 (6000101)

Up-sampling error: CUDA_ERROR_ILLEGAL_ADDRESS: an illegal memory access was encountered

CUDA error 700 on device 1: an illegal memory access was encountered
-> failed to copy pitched memory from device
CUDA error 700 on device 0: an illegal memory access was encountered
-> failed to clear linear 2D device memory
CUDA error 700 on device 0: an illegal memory access was encountered
-> failed to load symbol data to the device(const11)
device 0: failed to upload imager params
CUDA error 700 on device 0: an illegal memory access was encountered
-> failed to deallocate device memory
CUDA error 700 on device 0: an illegal memory access was encountered
-> could not get memory info
CUDA error 700 on device 0: an illegal memory access was encountered
-> failed to deallocate device memory
CUDA error 700 on device 0: an illegal memory access was encountered
-> could not get memory info
CUDA error 700 on device 0: an illegal memory access was encountered
-> failed to deallocate device memory
CUDA error 700 on device 0: an illegal memory access was encountered
-> could not get memory info
CUDA error 700 on device 0: an illegal memory access was encountered
-> failed to deallocate device memory
CUDA error 700 on device 0: an illegal memory access was encountered
-> could not get memory info
CUDA error 700 on device 0: an illegal memory access was encountered
-> failed to deallocate device memory
CUDA error 700 on device 0: an illegal memory access was encountered
-> could not get memory info
CUDA error 700 on device 0: an illegal memory access was encountered
-> failed to deallocate device memory
CUDA error 700 on device 0: an illegal memory access was encountered
-> could not get memory info
Win 7 64bit | 3.4GHz I7 | 64GB ram | 2x GTX 1080Ti - driver 431.36| Modo/ZBrush/Poser
Zay
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 2:53 am

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019.1.1 [current 2019.1.x]

Postby KeeWe » Fri Sep 27, 2019 8:09 am

KeeWe Fri Sep 27, 2019 8:09 am
Is this Bug finally beeing adressed?

viewtopic.php?f=30&t=71311
6850k // 32 GB // 1080, 1080 Ti, 2080 Ti // Win 10 // C4D 19.068
User avatar
KeeWe
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2013 11:32 am

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019.1.1 [current 2019.1.x]

Postby abstrax » Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:02 am

abstrax Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:02 am
KeeWe wrote:Is this Bug finally beeing adressed?

viewtopic.php?f=30&t=71311

No it has not unfortunately. Will see what we can do.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5105
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ 2019.1.1 [current 2019.1.x]

Postby abstrax » Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:14 am

abstrax Fri Sep 27, 2019 9:14 am
Zay wrote:AI up-sampling still fails on win7 for me. It will render to the end and then all GPUs fail.

Started logging on 27.09.19 09:19:25

OctaneRender Enterprise 2019.1.1 (6000101)

Up-sampling error: CUDA_ERROR_ILLEGAL_ADDRESS: an illegal memory access was encountered

CUDA error 700 on device 1: an illegal memory access was encountered
-> failed to copy pitched memory from device

Well, that's embarassing. I can confirm that it seems to happen in all cases. We will fix it as soon as possible. Sorry about that.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5105
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Next

Return to Commercial Product News & Releases (Download here)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sun Nov 17, 2019 11:57 am [ UTC ]