OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.02.1

Forums: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.02.1
VIP Information, news and announcements regarding new Octane Render commercial products and releases.

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.02.1 [current 4.xx]

Postby haze » Thu Feb 21, 2019 10:32 pm

haze Thu Feb 21, 2019 10:32 pm
tomsvfx wrote:Seems like this starts to happen if Light Sampling Rate is more than 1.


Would you mind sending an example orbx to make sure I'm looking at exactly the same thing?
User avatar
haze
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 8:57 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.02.1 [current 4.xx]

Postby funk » Sun Feb 24, 2019 2:35 pm

funk Sun Feb 24, 2019 2:35 pm
I've found an issue with the color correction node.

I needed to color correct a HDR image being used in my environment, but as soon as I connect the color correction node, the color of my lighting changes, even though nothing has been set in the color correction node.

I'm using this free HDR (4k version) https://hdrihaven.com/hdri/?h=cayley_interior

The problem is even more obvious with this one https://hdrihaven.com/hdri/?h=circus_maximus_2 . The lighting becomes much darker. It looks like the sun gets clamped

color_correction_bug.png


I have attached a sample orbx.
1. Start the render and notice how dark the lighting on the sphere looks
2. Find the texture environment, and plug the RGB image into it directly, instead of the color correction node. The lighting now looks correct
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 13
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 797
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.02.1 [current 4.xx]

Postby funk » Mon Feb 25, 2019 5:43 am

funk Mon Feb 25, 2019 5:43 am
I attached a sample orbx to my previous post
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 13
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 797
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.02.1 [current 4.xx]

Postby vijay_thirukonda » Mon Feb 25, 2019 8:20 pm

vijay_thirukonda Mon Feb 25, 2019 8:20 pm
funk wrote:I'm running into an issue with a scene, where the denoiser is creating dark pixels but only in the top/left 8 pixels of the image

I have reduced the scene and attached it here

denoiser_dark_top_left_few_pixels.PNG


Thank for the report. we are looking into this, will be fixed in one of the upcoming releases. Thanks
vijay_thirukonda
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:42 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.02.1 [current 4.xx]

Postby haze » Mon Feb 25, 2019 11:18 pm

haze Mon Feb 25, 2019 11:18 pm
funk wrote:I attached a sample orbx to my previous post


You are right, this color correction applies gamma correction which itself is basically clamping to 1.

I hacked together a "color correction" OSL texture without gamma for you to use as a quick fix until we find a better way (hopefully this helps):

Code: Select all
#include <octane-osl.h>
shader HDRColorCorrection(
    color Input = color(0,0,0),
    int Invert = 0 [[ string widget = "boolean" ]],
    float Brightness = 1 [[ float min = 0 ]],
    float Hue = 0 [[ float min = 0, float max = 2 ]],
    float Saturation = 1 [[ float min = 0, float max = 1 ]],
    output color value = 0)
{
    color value1 = Invert ? 1 - Input : Input;
    value1 *= Brightness;
    value1 = _hueshift(value1, 2 * Hue);
    value  = mix(luminance(value1), value1, Saturation);
}
User avatar
haze
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 8:57 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.02.1 [current 4.xx]

Postby funk » Tue Feb 26, 2019 5:19 am

funk Tue Feb 26, 2019 5:19 am
Thanks for looking at my reports guys :)

Haze, I was already looking into using OSL, but thanks a lot for the code!
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 13
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 797
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.02.1 [current 4.xx]

Postby milanm » Tue Feb 26, 2019 9:43 am

milanm Tue Feb 26, 2019 9:43 am
haze wrote:
Code: Select all
#include <octane-osl.h>


1. Gamma, as one of the two most basic tone mapping operators, should not be responsible for clipping HDR values. Negative values, maybe, HDR, no.

For example:
Code: Select all
shader Gamma(color Color=1, float Gamma=1, output color c = 0)
{ c = pow( max(Color,0), Gamma); }


2. Contrast is the problem. Options: ditch the contrast or change the way it works (apply it in log space around 0.18 linear)
See this: http://filmicworlds.com/blog/minimal-color-grading-tools/

3. octane-osl.h Is a lot fucking easier to remember than octane-oslintrin.h.

Regards
Milan
Colorist / VFX artist / Motion Designer
macOS - Windows 7 - Cinema 4D R19.068 - GTX1070TI - GTX780
milanm
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 7:23 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.02.1 [current 4.xx]

Postby haze » Tue Feb 26, 2019 8:16 pm

haze Tue Feb 26, 2019 8:16 pm
Thanks for your comments, and you are right. It was easier for me to remove both gamma and contrast since they were done in the same intrinsic function _gammaContrast.
User avatar
haze
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 802
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 8:57 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.02.1 [current 4.xx]

Postby funk » Tue Mar 05, 2019 1:30 pm

funk Tue Mar 05, 2019 1:30 pm
I've run into an issue where disabling an object's camera/shadow visibility still renders something in the viewport

I have attached a sample orbx with a small part of the tree models I'm using

visible_cam_shad_bug.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 13
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 797
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 4.02.1 [current 4.xx]

Postby oscartung » Thu Mar 07, 2019 9:52 am

oscartung Thu Mar 07, 2019 9:52 am
not sure if it's a bug or not, but I get jagged edged using displacement in conjunction with OSL script to bake a displacement texture. Orbx attached
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
oscartung
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed May 21, 2014 5:33 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Commercial Product News & Releases (Download here)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Fri Dec 06, 2019 8:57 pm [ UTC ]