Octane Render Standalone and Plugin fail after awhile

Forums: Octane Render Standalone and Plugin fail after awhile
VIP Information, news and announcements regarding new Octane Render commercial products and releases.

Octane Render Standalone and Plugin fail after awhile

Postby Straticus77 » Thu Jun 22, 2017 8:32 pm

Straticus77 Thu Jun 22, 2017 8:32 pm
Hi,
I'm having a pretty frustrating issue where after a few minutes of working in the standalone program (also the 3DS Max plugin), I get red text at the bottom of the viewport saying "2 GPU's (All Failed)." This makes it so I have to save the scene and restart Octane Standalone or quit and restart 3DS Max. Really frustrating. I have a GTX Titan X and a GTX 780 Ti and I'm running v3.06.4 of the standalone (this issue happens with older versions too) and v3.06.4 - 4.36 of the 3DS Max plugin (but this issue happens with older versions too). I realize that I am limited by the 780 Ti's 3GB VRAM limit but this happens even with a simple plane and cube scene where I haven't even hit half a GB used yet. My power supply is a 1000 Watt Platinum certified one so there is no issue of not enough power, and my Nvidia Driver version is 384.76 (latest for both cards). I really hope I can actually use these two different GPU's because I didn't want my old 780 Ti to gather dust in a closet and I read that multiple GPU's can be used with octane even if they're different models. If I turn off either card and only run one at a time though, no issue happens so I'm stuck. Any help would be greatly appreciated to get this issue resolved so I don't have to worry about my scene failing randomly.

Thank you!
Last edited by Straticus77 on Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Windows 7 Pro x64
Cooler Master HAF X Case
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming G1 WIFI-BK Motherboard
Intel i7 4790k @ 4.00 GHz
32GB G.Skill Trident X RAM
1x EVGA GTX Titan X SC
1x EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC w/ ACX 2.0
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000w P2 80+ PLATINUM Power Supply
Straticus77
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 5:47 am

Re: Octane Render Standalone and Plugin fail after awhile

Postby Straticus77 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 10:21 pm

Straticus77 Tue Jun 27, 2017 10:21 pm
Anyone able to help out? Problem is still occurring.
Windows 7 Pro x64
Cooler Master HAF X Case
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming G1 WIFI-BK Motherboard
Intel i7 4790k @ 4.00 GHz
32GB G.Skill Trident X RAM
1x EVGA GTX Titan X SC
1x EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC w/ ACX 2.0
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000w P2 80+ PLATINUM Power Supply
Straticus77
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 5:47 am

Re: Octane Render Standalone and Plugin fail after awhile

Postby paride4331 » Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:45 am

paride4331 Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:45 am
Hi Straticus77,
I do not know exactly why you're in trouble, but my advice is to use Gtx 780Ti for OS, monitor/s and 3ds Max viewport.
With Titan X Vram entirely dedicated to Octane, you could take advantage of parallel samples at best.
Regards
Paride
Win 7 / i7 5930 - 32gb / 1 x quadro K620 / 2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2683
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: Octane Render Standalone and Plugin fail after awhile

Postby Straticus77 » Sat Jul 01, 2017 8:59 pm

Straticus77 Sat Jul 01, 2017 8:59 pm
paride4331 wrote:Hi Straticus77,
I do not know exactly why you're in trouble, but my advice is to use Gtx 780Ti for OS, monitor/s and 3ds Max viewport.
With Titan X Vram entirely dedicated to Octane, you could take advantage of parallel samples at best.
Regards
Paride

Hi Paride,
That unfortunately does not solve the issue as Octane still freezes and fails with CUDA error 719.
Windows 7 Pro x64
Cooler Master HAF X Case
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming G1 WIFI-BK Motherboard
Intel i7 4790k @ 4.00 GHz
32GB G.Skill Trident X RAM
1x EVGA GTX Titan X SC
1x EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC w/ ACX 2.0
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000w P2 80+ PLATINUM Power Supply
Straticus77
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 5:47 am

Re: Octane Render Standalone and Plugin fail after awhile

Postby coilbook » Tue Jul 04, 2017 5:24 pm

coilbook Tue Jul 04, 2017 5:24 pm
Too hot is the most common problem. I would get hybrid cards if you ever change them.
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2489
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: Octane Render Standalone and Plugin fail after awhile

Postby FrankPooleFloating » Wed Jul 05, 2017 11:58 am

FrankPooleFloating Wed Jul 05, 2017 11:58 am
Yo Straticus77, tell us what brand/model of case you have, and exactly how many case fans do you have and where. And while you are doing that, stick your specs in your signature.
Win10Pro || GA-X99-SOC-Champion || i7 5820k w/ H60 || 32GB DDR4 || 3x EVGA RTX 2070 Super Hybrid || EVGA Supernova G2 1300W || Tt Core X9 || Blender Plug || LightWave Plug|| Blender E-Cycles
User avatar
FrankPooleFloating
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1658
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 3:48 pm

Re: Octane Render Standalone and Plugin fail after awhile

Postby Straticus77 » Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:28 pm

Straticus77 Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:28 pm
FrankPooleFloating wrote:Yo Straticus77, tell us what brand/model of case you have, and exactly how many case fans do you have and where. And while you are doing that, stick your specs in your signature.

I have a Cooler Master HAF X case with 4 case fans (1 on the side panel, 1 on the front panel, 1 on the top of the case and 1 at the back) plus the case has lots of grille panels so there is constant airflow through the case. I also went ahead and updated my signature.
Last edited by Straticus77 on Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Windows 7 Pro x64
Cooler Master HAF X Case
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming G1 WIFI-BK Motherboard
Intel i7 4790k @ 4.00 GHz
32GB G.Skill Trident X RAM
1x EVGA GTX Titan X SC
1x EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC w/ ACX 2.0
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000w P2 80+ PLATINUM Power Supply
Straticus77
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 5:47 am

Re: Octane Render Standalone and Plugin fail after awhile

Postby coilbook » Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:34 pm

coilbook Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:34 pm
Straticus77 wrote:
FrankPooleFloating wrote:Yo Straticus77, tell us what brand/model of case you have, and exactly how many case fans do you have and where. And while you are doing that, stick your specs in your signature.

I have a Cooler Master HAF X case with 4 case fans (1 on the side panel, 1 on the front panel, 1 on the top of the case and one at the back) plus the case has lots of grille panels so there is constant airflow through the case. I also went ahead and updated my signature.



its more like your actual GPU chips or VRAM are overheating during long rendering times and not other PC parts
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2489
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: Octane Render Standalone and Plugin fail after awhile

Postby Straticus77 » Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:37 pm

Straticus77 Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:37 pm
coilbook wrote:
Straticus77 wrote:
FrankPooleFloating wrote:Yo Straticus77, tell us what brand/model of case you have, and exactly how many case fans do you have and where. And while you are doing that, stick your specs in your signature.

I have a Cooler Master HAF X case with 4 case fans (1 on the side panel, 1 on the front panel, 1 on the top of the case and one at the back) plus the case has lots of grille panels so there is constant airflow through the case. I also went ahead and updated my signature.



its more like your actual GPU chips or VRAM are overheating during long rendering times and not other PC parts

Yea that's what I'm thinking too but how? Under max load (100%) both cards never go above 65C according to GPU-Z. I also run a custom fan curve on them using MSI Afterburner but I do not overclock anything.
Windows 7 Pro x64
Cooler Master HAF X Case
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming G1 WIFI-BK Motherboard
Intel i7 4790k @ 4.00 GHz
32GB G.Skill Trident X RAM
1x EVGA GTX Titan X SC
1x EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC w/ ACX 2.0
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000w P2 80+ PLATINUM Power Supply
Straticus77
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 5:47 am

Re: Octane Render Standalone and Plugin fail after awhile

Postby coilbook » Wed Jul 05, 2017 9:05 pm

coilbook Wed Jul 05, 2017 9:05 pm
i had same problem with 780TIs even above 60 for some scenes they would fail especially scenes with a lot of mesh or alpha shadows like leaves etc. Since switching to hybrids all problems are gone. Not sure why may be some GPU chips start malfunctioning once temps get a bit too high. I think liquid cooled or hybrids is about the only way to go unless you have titans which are built to run 24/7 at full load. try to decrease power target and temp target in evga precision to around 60- 70% That usually helped me back then with not that much loss in rendering speed


it might be your 780ti is doing it. I would render with one card at a time and see which one is faulty.

Hopefully it helps
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2489
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm
Next

Return to Commercial Product News & Releases (Download here)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Thu Nov 14, 2019 11:53 pm [ UTC ]