OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06

Forums: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06
VIP Information, news and announcements regarding new Octane Render commercial products and releases.

OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06

Postby abstrax » Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:04 pm

abstrax Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:04 pm
Hi all,

This is the stable release of version 3.06, which brings a lot of new features. You can find more information about the main new features in this thread.

Yesterday we accidentally released an incorrect build of 3.06, which we had to remove again. If you already downloaded that version (3060004), please delete it and download the version below (3060005) again, which fixes 2 more problems. If you've got further questions about this please contact me via PM.

The next step is the release of OctaneBench based on 3.06 in the next 1-2 weeks.


Changes since version 3.06 TEST 4:

  • Overhauled the shortcut manager of the Standalone. You can assign now shortcuts to all available commands.
  • "Expected exposure" of the adaptive sampling settings can now be set to 0, which disables the tweaking of the noise estimate, as described in the new features thread. This is also default now.
  • Fixed random CUDA crashes in scenes with high densities of overlapping instances.
  • Fixed the motion vector pass, which didn't do the viewport transformation correctly for perspective cameras. The values of the motion vector pass are now the motion vector in pixels and not the motion vector relative to the screen width. This allows you to use the output directly in Fusion, without having to guess the scale. You still have to set the vector blur scale to 2 for some reason, but with a scale factor of 2 you now always get (approximately) the same amount of motion in Fusion as you would get with rendered motion blur.
  • Fixed DOF in the thin-lens camera with distortion.
  • Fixed DOF in the cube map and cylindrical panoramic camera.
  • Fixed orientation of camera rays with high distortion in places where they deviate more than 180° from the camera axis.
  • Fixed auto-focus in stereo cameras (the left eye is always used for auto-focus picking).
  • Fixed incorrect material assignment if the geometry ends up being 1 simple mesh, but the scene graph consists of multiple instances/meshes.
  • Reverted default texture of the second input texture of the multiply texture to a float texture. This allows you to set a higher multiplication factor than 1.
    [*[ Fixed the triplanar map texture node which turns black when you change its inputs and it is connected via a linker node.
  • Fixed a couple of authentication issues.
  • Fixed crashes in some corner cases when UI components are refreshed due to related node system changes.
  • Fixed issue that the time slider disappears when you have a scene with a negative time interval start and switch to "Frames".
  • Fixed missing render update, when the start and end time of the animation settings changed.
  • Fixed incorrect behaviour which didn't allow users to re-enter their credentials if the SSO authentication expired.
  • Changed defaults of the cosine mix texture to match the regular mix texture.
  • Disallowed possibility to create node connection loops by grouping nodes.
  • Added prefix "layer" to the render layer side-effects passes pins.
  • Lua: The Lua scripting component is brought to the foreground after a Lua script finished.


Downloads for users with a regular license

regular version for Windows (installer)
regular version for Windows (ZIP archive)
regular version for Mac OS X (DMG image)
regular version for Linux (ZIP archive)


Downloads for users with a subscription license

subscription version for Windows (installer)
subscription version for Windows (ZIP archive)
subscription version for Mac OS X (DMG image)
subscription version for Linux (ZIP archive)


Demo version downloads

demo version for Windows (installer)
demo version for Windows (ZIP archive)
demo version for Mac OS X (DMG image)
demo version for Linux (ZIP archive)


Photoshop workflow plugin download

A new version of the Photoshop plugin (1.0.5) has been made available, containing the following changes:

  • Added support for noise layer added in v3.06.
  • Added support for Photoshop 2017.

You can download and install the plugin either via the Adobe Exchange platform (the latest version still needs to be approved by Adobe, so it may take some time to show up) or you can download it from the link below and manually install it.

Windows and Mac OS X
Photoshop extension (v1.0.5) (ZXP archive)


Happy rendering,
Your OTOY NZ Team
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5102
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06 [current 3.xx]

Postby FrankPooleFloating » Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:20 pm

FrankPooleFloating Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:20 pm
Thanx M!
Win10Pro || GA-X99-SOC-Champion || i7 5820k w/ H60 || 32GB DDR4 || 3x EVGA RTX 2070 Super Hybrid || EVGA Supernova G2 1300W || Tt Core X9 || Blender Plug || LightWave Plug|| Blender E-Cycles
User avatar
FrankPooleFloating
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1658
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 3:48 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06 [current 3.xx]

Postby funk » Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:30 pm

funk Thu Apr 13, 2017 10:30 pm
Thank you :)
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 13
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06 [current 3.xx]

Postby Zay » Fri Apr 14, 2017 3:38 pm

Zay Fri Apr 14, 2017 3:38 pm
Worked ok yesterday. Now I'm getting errors on my master and slave PC.

Message: "Invalid Client Request, please contact [email protected] for further assistance. (21)

-- 2017-04-14 15:35:37 UTC --"
Link: <none>
Timestamp: 1492184137
Code: 20301
HTTP Status: 400
Win 7 64bit | 3.4GHz I7 | 64GB ram | 2x GTX 1080Ti - driver 431.36| Modo/ZBrush/Poser
Zay
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 2:53 am

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06 [current 3.xx]

Postby Zay » Fri Apr 14, 2017 3:51 pm

Zay Fri Apr 14, 2017 3:51 pm
Reverted back to 3.06 test 4 and validation works again.
Win 7 64bit | 3.4GHz I7 | 64GB ram | 2x GTX 1080Ti - driver 431.36| Modo/ZBrush/Poser
Zay
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 2:53 am

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06 [current 3.xx]

Postby juanjgon » Fri Apr 14, 2017 5:42 pm

juanjgon Fri Apr 14, 2017 5:42 pm
Zay wrote:Reverted back to 3.06 test 4 and validation works again.

Download the 3.06 version again. It has been updated just today, so this issue should be fixed now.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7037
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06 [current 3.xx]

Postby Zay » Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:49 pm

Zay Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:49 pm
juanjgon wrote:Download the 3.06 version again. It has been updated just today, so this issue should be fixed now.


Yep, that did the trick. Thanks.
Win 7 64bit | 3.4GHz I7 | 64GB ram | 2x GTX 1080Ti - driver 431.36| Modo/ZBrush/Poser
Zay
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 2:53 am

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06 [current 3.xx]

Postby funk » Sun Apr 16, 2017 2:04 am

funk Sun Apr 16, 2017 2:04 am
Can you guys clarify something?

abstrax wrote:[*] Reverted default texture of the second input texture of the multiply texture to a float texture. This allows you to set a higher multiplication factor than 1.


Is there a reason why only multiply > scale (which is a greyscale color), can go over 1.0? I think we need to allow this for all greyscale color values (eg add, subtract etc)

It doesnt make sense to limit these nodes. If I can use an add to get 1.0+1.0 = 2.0, why limit the inputs?

EDIT: I just tested the comparison node and it also allows values over 1.0, so this seems inconsistent. Maybe you guys just missed fixing add and subtract texture nodes?

EDIT 2: Even the mix texture (and mix material) > amount allows values over 1.0 (it doesn't even make sense to allow it here)
All this is a bit of a mess :) You need to go through all nodes and make sure values are only capped where it makes sense, or at least be consistent and have no cap on any greyscale values
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 13
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 788
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06 [current 3.xx]

Postby c4d » Sun Apr 16, 2017 4:03 pm

c4d Sun Apr 16, 2017 4:03 pm
please, pretty please, add autosave exr feature
c4d
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2015 2:12 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ Standalone 3.06 [current 3.xx]

Postby rrbarb » Mon Apr 17, 2017 2:28 pm

rrbarb Mon Apr 17, 2017 2:28 pm
To be clear on this please,
What was Expected Exposure, is now Adaptive Strength -?-

./rrb
rrbarb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:40 am
Next

Return to Commercial Product News & Releases (Download here)


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Thu Nov 14, 2019 11:58 pm [ UTC ]