OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Production build 2020.1.0.7

Forums: OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Production build 2020.1.0.7
Sub forum for plugin releases

Moderator: juanjgon

OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Production build 2020.1.0.7

Postby juanjgon » Mon Apr 27, 2020 5:01 pm

juanjgon Mon Apr 27, 2020 5:01 pm
Hi,

This is a production release of the OctaneRender™ 2020.1 for LightWave™ plugin version 2020.1.0.7, available for LightWave 11.6, 2015.3, 2018.0, 2019.0/2019.1 and 2020.0 Windows x64 and OSX. This build has been compiled using the Octane 2020.1 core.

To use Octane 2020.1, you need to have a Studio or Enterprise subscription license. We recommend you to update your NVIDIA driver to at least 435.80 for Windows or 435.12 for Linux.

New features
To learn more about the new features and improvements of OctaneRender 2020.1, please check out the 2020.1 release post, but this is a quick list of the main new features that have been added.

  • New option to enable the RTX improvements.
  • Spectron Area and Sphere light types.
  • New Hosek-Wilkie Spectral Sky Model.
  • Improvements to Round Edges artist control.
  • SSS Improvements and Random Walk SSS.
  • Spectral Hair Material.
  • ACES: new workflow and Image Container File Layout
  • Volume Step % and Shadow Step %
  • Volume Sample Position Displacement
  • New Universal Dirt System


Release 2020.1.0.7 Enterprise subscription license
https://render.otoy.com/customerdownloa ... rprise.zip
https://render.otoy.com/customerdownloa ... rprise.zip

Release 2020.1.0.7 Studio subscription license
https://render.otoy.com/customerdownloa ... studio.zip
https://render.otoy.com/customerdownloa ... studio.zip

Release 2020.1.0.7 Demo license
https://render.otoy.com/plugindownloads ... 4_demo.zip
https://render.otoy.com/plugindownloads ... X_demo.zip

Standalone 2020.1 version for the network rendering nodes
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=74586


Release Notes
=============================================
RELEASE 2020.1.0.7
=============================================

* OCTANE 2020.1 FEATURES AND BUGS FIXED:

- Fixed CUDA error on the slave when RTX was enabled and the scene used dirt or accurate rounded edges.
- Fixed CUDA error happening when using AI light in scenes while enabling RTX and mixing RTX and non-RTX geometry.
- Fixed opacity issue with metallic material or with universal material with metallic set to 1.0.
- Fixed issue causing the network daemon to give up starting the slave at start-up on slow machines.
- Fixed application crash importing LiveDB materials that would include material layer input linker nodes.
- Fixed camera target picker for mesh instances handled by RTX.
- Reduced required runtime memory per sample.
- Removed "(experimental)" from RTX flag text in the device settings.



Happy rendering,
Your OTOY Team
Last edited by juanjgon on Thu Jun 18, 2020 9:30 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 8231
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Production build 2020.1.0.7

Postby Lewis » Mon Apr 27, 2020 11:04 pm

Lewis Mon Apr 27, 2020 11:04 pm
Thanks for quick release Juan.

Is this naming in sync with Octane standalone/render slaves 2020.1 FINAL ? (2020.1.7 vs 2020.1?)
--
Lewis
http://www.ram-studio.hr
Skype - lewis3d
ICQ - 7128177

WS Dual Xeon E5-2698v4, 128GB RAM, Win10, 4 * RTX 2080Ti
RS1 i7 9800X, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
RS2 i7 6850K, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
User avatar
Lewis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 967
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:30 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Production build 2020.1.0.7

Postby Carlos3D » Mon Apr 27, 2020 11:06 pm

Carlos3D Mon Apr 27, 2020 11:06 pm
Hello Juanjo.

I hope you are in good health.

I have this little problem with my Octane.

I used the Disolve object option to switch from one object to another and unfortunately when I render this failure happens.

In the render I see this thin black line that is the interception of the two objects.

Is there an option to fix this or is it an Octane bug?

Video links and animation scene:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/g5qnlj8mr ... g.mp4/file
http://www.mediafire.com/file/voy3ohfr3 ... R.rar/file

Tx: Carlos Caldeira
User avatar
Carlos3D
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 5:45 pm

Re: OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Production build 2020.1.0.7

Postby Lewis » Mon Apr 27, 2020 11:13 pm

Lewis Mon Apr 27, 2020 11:13 pm
Hi Carlos,

Try dissolve value of 0.0001 instead 0.
I know it sounds silly but that fixed some of my problems in past with octane enveloped Lights, Value of 0 did not work but 0.0001 was OK (Juan suggested that)
--
Lewis
http://www.ram-studio.hr
Skype - lewis3d
ICQ - 7128177

WS Dual Xeon E5-2698v4, 128GB RAM, Win10, 4 * RTX 2080Ti
RS1 i7 9800X, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
RS2 i7 6850K, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
User avatar
Lewis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 967
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:30 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Production build 2020.1.0.7

Postby Carlos3D » Tue Apr 28, 2020 12:06 am

Carlos3D Tue Apr 28, 2020 12:06 am
Lewis wrote:Hi Carlos,

Try dissolve value of 0.0001 instead 0.
I know it sounds silly but that fixed some of my problems in past with octane enveloped Lights, Value of 0 did not work but 0.0001 was OK (Juan suggested that)



Tx Lewis

I finished the test right now but unfortunately the problem continues even using 0.0001!

Rgds.

Carlos Caldeira
User avatar
Carlos3D
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 5:45 pm

Re: OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Production build 2020.1.0.7

Postby juanjgon » Tue Apr 28, 2020 8:09 am

juanjgon Tue Apr 28, 2020 8:09 am
Carlos3D wrote:
I finished the test right now but unfortunately the problem continues even using 0.0001!


Do you have the same object duplicated exactly in the same position? This is going to be a problem for sure because even a full dissolved object is still taken into the account by the raytracer, and the overlapped geometry is prone to have artifacts due to precision issues. You need to try to displace a little one of the objects, perhaps 0.001 units or less, while at the same time you need to adjust the kernel ray epsilon to try to remove the artifacts.

Hope it helps,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 8231
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Production build 2020.1.0.7

Postby pixelsmack » Tue Apr 28, 2020 8:46 am

pixelsmack Tue Apr 28, 2020 8:46 am
Is this, now, the OctaneX version that Otoy was talking about last year? Does the macOS version use METAL?

Ah, I assume not.
https://techgage.com/news/otoy-to-relea ... -octane-x/
pixelsmack
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 6:31 pm

Re: OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Production build 2020.1.0.7

Postby juanjgon » Tue Apr 28, 2020 8:48 am

juanjgon Tue Apr 28, 2020 8:48 am
pixelsmack wrote:Is this, now, the OctaneX version that Otoy was talking about last year? Does the macOS version use METAL?

Nope, not yet. This is the conventional CUDA version. OctaneX is in beta stage:
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=74511

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 8231
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Production build 2020.1.0.7

Postby pixelsmack » Tue Apr 28, 2020 8:51 am

pixelsmack Tue Apr 28, 2020 8:51 am
Ok cool. Thank you for the information!
pixelsmack
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 6:31 pm

Re: OctaneRender 2020.1 LightWave Production build 2020.1.0.7

Postby Carlos3D » Tue Apr 28, 2020 12:02 pm

Carlos3D Tue Apr 28, 2020 12:02 pm
juanjgon wrote:
Carlos3D wrote:
I finished the test right now but unfortunately the problem continues even using 0.0001!


Do you have the same object duplicated exactly in the same position? This is going to be a problem for sure because even a full dissolved object is still taken into the account by the raytracer, and the overlapped geometry is prone to have artifacts due to precision issues. You need to try to displace a little one of the objects, perhaps 0.001 units or less, while at the same time you need to adjust the kernel ray epsilon to try to remove the artifacts.

Hope it helps,
-Juanjo



Thank you so much for your help Juanjo

Rgds.

Carlos Caldeira
User avatar
Carlos3D
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 5:45 pm
Next

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Fri May 14, 2021 6:50 am [ UTC ]