Motion blur does not work with fluids

Forums: Motion blur does not work with fluids
Sub forum for bug reports
Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

Motion blur does not work with fluids

Postby J.C » Wed Oct 24, 2018 10:19 am

J.C Wed Oct 24, 2018 10:19 am
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPUs: 4xRTX 2080, 2xGTX 980 Ti.
System – Windows 10, Octane 4-2020, Blender Plugin 17.x-21.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: Motion blur does not work with fluids

Postby J.C » Tue Dec 11, 2018 10:07 am

J.C Tue Dec 11, 2018 10:07 am
Hello devs, any word on this? Cycles can do motion blur with Blender fluids while Octane can't.
CPU – i7 8700k 4.8Ghz + 64GB RAM, GPUs: 4xRTX 2080, 2xGTX 980 Ti.
System – Windows 10, Octane 4-2020, Blender Plugin 17.x-21.x
My Behance portfolio, Blender plugin FB support group
J.C
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: Thu May 13, 2010 6:35 pm
Location: Wrocław

Re: Motion blur does not work with fluids

Postby DrawFun » Tue Jan 22, 2019 7:48 am

DrawFun Tue Jan 22, 2019 7:48 am
Hi J.C,

For now, It is a limitation that Octane only supports resharpable mesh with the same vertex number all the time. But for most fluid, the vertex number is varying from time to time.

I am investigating some workarounds(e.g. by involving the velocity) to see whether it is possible to manage it.

Cheers,
DrawFun
DrawFun
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:02 am

Re: Motion blur does not work with fluids

Postby linograndiotoy » Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:43 am

linograndiotoy Fri Feb 01, 2019 8:43 am
FLIPFluids team solved this issue using morphs to store motion vector data (Octane motion blur works correctly with FLIPFluids).

My suspect is that for standard fluids Blender is storing the motion vector information somehow, which is not accessible to Octane.

Maybe converting that motion vector info to morphs would help.
linograndiotoy
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 481
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2018 7:10 pm

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Fri May 29, 2020 2:47 pm [ UTC ]