OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1xb3-17.7 [OBSOLETE]

Forums: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1xb3-17.7 [OBSOLETE]
Sub forum for plugin releases

Moderator: JimStar

OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1xb3-17.7 [OBSOLETE]

Postby JimStar » Thu Feb 13, 2020 12:48 am

JimStar Thu Feb 13, 2020 12:48 am
Forum rules:
NOTE: The software in this forum thread is not 100% reliable, this is a development build and is meant for testing by experienced octane users. If you are a new octane user, we recommend to use the current stable release.

!!! THIS IS THE BETA VERSION OF OctaneRender PLUGIN, IT IS RELEASED FOR INITIAL BUG HUNTING ONLY !!!
!!! PLEASE DON'T USE IT FOR PRODUCTION & DON'T SAVE THE SCENES FROM THIS BETA VERSION FOR FUTURE USE AS THERE ARE HIGH CHANCES TO LOSE THEM !!!
!!! SCENES SAVED IN THIS BETA VERSION ARE NOT GUARANTEED TO WORK IN SUBSEQUENT VERSIONS !!!
!!! THE RENDER ENGINE IS YET TO BE STABLE, SOME CRASHES & BUGS ARE EXPECTED FOR THIS TEST VERSION OF THE PLUGIN !!!


Otoy® is proud to announce the availability of a new test version of OctaneRender™ for Maya®: OctaneRender™ 2020.1
The world's fastest and most feature-rich unbiased render engine that integrates completely into Autodesk® Maya®.

Maya® Version Requirements

This release will work with Maya® Versions 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020 64-bit on Windows, Linux and OSX operating systems.


To use this version, you need a GPU of compute model 3.0 or higher. Support for Fermi GPUs (like GTX 4xx and 5xx) has been dropped. Also make sure you use a driver of version 387 or higher and if you are working on Mac OS that have a CUDA driver installed that supports at least CUDA 9.1.


Changelog and the installers for Octane Standalone 2020.1 are here:
OctaneRender Standalone 2020.1 XB3


Changes since versions 17.6:

  • Implemented the edges' and vertices' crease support for Maya's mesh objects when using Octane's OpenSubD mode.

KNOWN ISSUES:
  • "CUDA error 700" and other CUDA errors are expected to happen from time to time: these are the Octane engine's bugs. Should be fixed with later SDK/Standalone versions...
  • Due to some inconsistency on the rendering engine level the builtin-scriptgraph nodes are not going to be present in the plugin. At least at this stage.


=================================
Subscription Enterprise Downloads
=================================

OctaneRender for Maya Enterprise [Windows]

OctaneRender for Maya Enterprise [Linux]

OctaneRender for Maya Enterprise [MacOS]


=================================
Subscription Studio Downloads
=================================

OctaneRender for Maya Studio [Windows]

OctaneRender for Maya Studio [Linux]

OctaneRender for Maya Studio [MacOS]
Last edited by JimStar on Wed Feb 19, 2020 11:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3587
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1xb3-17.7 [BETA]

Postby hgarrou » Fri Feb 14, 2020 2:50 am

hgarrou Fri Feb 14, 2020 2:50 am
This is a terrific update. I'd been secretly wanting crease support. Thanks!!
hgarrou
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 4:31 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1xb3-17.7 [BETA]

Postby p3taotoy » Fri Feb 14, 2020 5:08 pm

p3taotoy Fri Feb 14, 2020 5:08 pm
Trying to load the plugin in Maya 2020

// Error: file: /Applications/Autodesk/maya2020/Maya.app/Contents/scripts/others/pluginWin.mel line 317: dlopen(/Applications/Autodesk/maya2020/Maya.app/Contents/MacOS/plug-ins/OctanePlugin.bundle, 1): Library not loaded: @executable_path/libIMFbase.dylib Referenced from: /Applications/Autodesk/maya2020/Maya.app/Contents/MacOS/plug-ins/OctanePlugin.bundle Reason: image not found (OctanePlugin)

ANy ideas?

THanks
p3taotoy
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 1:06 am
Location: Washinghton, USA and Waikanae, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1xb3-17.7 [BETA]

Postby p3taotoy » Fri Feb 14, 2020 5:34 pm

p3taotoy Fri Feb 14, 2020 5:34 pm
If this helps
with auto load selected in the plugin manager for Octane

The script editor gives this error on launching maya after a fresh plugin instal

file -f -new;
// untitled //
commandPort -securityWarning -name commandportDefault;
onSetCurrentLayout "Maya Classic";
// Error: file: /Applications/Autodesk/maya2020/Maya.app/Contents/scripts/startup/autoLoadPlugin.mel line 35: Unable to dynamically load : /Applications/Autodesk/maya2020/Maya.app/Contents/MacOS/plug-ins/OctanePlugin.bundle
dlopen(/Applications/Autodesk/maya2020/Maya.app/Contents/MacOS/plug-ins/OctanePlugin.bundle, 1): Library not loaded: @executable_path/libIMFbase.dylib
Referenced from: /Applications/Autodesk/maya2020/Maya.app/Contents/MacOS/plug-ins/OctanePlugin.bundle
Reason: image not found //
// Error: file: /Applications/Autodesk/maya2020/Maya.app/Contents/scripts/startup/autoLoadPlugin.mel line 35: dlopen(/Applications/Autodesk/maya2020/Maya.app/Contents/MacOS/plug-ins/OctanePlugin.bundle, 1): Library not loaded: @executable_path/libIMFbase.dylib
Referenced from: /Applications/Autodesk/maya2020/Maya.app/Contents/MacOS/plug-ins/OctanePlugin.bundle
Reason: image not found (OctanePlugin) //
p3taotoy
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 1:06 am
Location: Washinghton, USA and Waikanae, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1xb3-17.7 [BETA]

Postby JimStar » Sat Feb 15, 2020 4:50 am

JimStar Sat Feb 15, 2020 4:50 am
p3taotoy
Can't check it right now from home - Saturday here...
But are you sure your Maya 2020 installation is not corrupted and has the /Applications/Autodesk/maya2020/Maya.app/Contents/MacOS/libIMFbase.dylib file in it?
Looks like this library file (required by Octane) is not loaded by Maya for some reason...
Screen Shot 2020-02-15 at 17.40.10.png
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3587
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1xb3-17.7 [BETA]

Postby p3taotoy » Sat Feb 15, 2020 3:08 pm

p3taotoy Sat Feb 15, 2020 3:08 pm
Thanks for replying on your Saturday mate.

Yeah you are correct... not there.

I'll try a reinstall and see what I get aye.

Appreciated.

Peter
p3taotoy
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 1:06 am
Location: Washinghton, USA and Waikanae, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1xb3-17.7 [BETA]

Postby p3taotoy » Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:39 pm

p3taotoy Sat Feb 15, 2020 8:39 pm
Well that is a mystery... complete clean uninstall of ALL autodesk products.
Freshly downloaded Mac osx 2020 ( I am not aware of any upgrades yet are you?)

Same errors and that file you mention is not there.... I know it might be weird but can you zip yours and I'll put it in there to see what that does.... I realize yours may already be specific to your machine etc but I am wondering if a fresh install of the Maya Otoy plugin will overwrite the appropriate lines etc.

Just an idea cause I have no clue why this would be specific to my Mac Powerbook 15" 2017

High Sierra 10.13.6
Says my Nvidia driver is up to date: 387.10.10.10.40.105 last check 02/15/2020

This is a long shot... do you think an Nvidia card needs to be loaded and running during the install process? The file does not seem to be nvidia related... and come to think of it I did a fresh install with two 1080s hooked up and rendering fine in the standalone.

Welcome any ideas come work week.

Thanks
Peter
p3taotoy
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 1:06 am
Location: Washinghton, USA and Waikanae, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1xb3-17.7 [BETA]

Postby JimStar » Sun Feb 16, 2020 1:52 am

JimStar Sun Feb 16, 2020 1:52 am
I don't have Maya 2020 and its SDK at home, but I have a suspicion that Autodesk might have excluded this library from Maya 2020 builds, spreading its functionality between other libs... I'll check it on Monday. If this is the case - I'll release a fix for OSX soon, getting rid of this issue... You can use Maya 2019 on OSX before this happens (I think Tuesday or Wednesday) - 'cause I would like to include another nice thing into the next beta release, which I'm working on right now...
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3587
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1xb3-17.7 [BETA]

Postby p3taotoy » Sun Feb 16, 2020 3:06 am

p3taotoy Sun Feb 16, 2020 3:06 am
Thanks mate.
Appreciate the fix when you get to it.

Peter
p3taotoy
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 1:06 am
Location: Washinghton, USA and Waikanae, New Zealand

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Sun Oct 25, 2020 5:40 am [ UTC ]