OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1xb1-17.4 [OBSOLETE]

Forums: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1xb1-17.4 [OBSOLETE]
Sub forum for plugin releases

Moderator: JimStar

OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1xb1-17.4 [OBSOLETE]

Postby JimStar » Wed Dec 18, 2019 11:06 pm

JimStar Wed Dec 18, 2019 11:06 pm
Forum rules:
NOTE: The software in this forum thread is not 100% reliable, this is a development build and is meant for testing by experienced octane users. If you are a new octane user, we recommend to use the current stable release.

!!! THIS IS THE BETA VERSION OF OctaneRender PLUGIN, IT IS RELEASED FOR INITIAL BUG HUNTING ONLY !!!
!!! PLEASE DON'T USE IT FOR PRODUCTION & DON'T SAVE THE SCENES FROM THIS BETA VERSION FOR FUTURE USE AS THERE ARE HIGH CHANCES TO LOSE THEM !!!
!!! SCENES SAVED IN THIS BETA VERSION ARE NOT GUARANTEED TO WORK IN SUBSEQUENT VERSIONS !!!
!!! THE RENDER ENGINE IS YET TO BE STABLE, SOME CRASHES & BUGS ARE EXPECTED FOR THIS TEST VERSION OF THE PLUGIN !!!


Otoy® is proud to announce the availability of a new test version of OctaneRender™ for Maya®: OctaneRender™ 2020.1
The world's fastest and most feature-rich unbiased render engine that integrates completely into Autodesk® Maya®.

Maya® Version Requirements

This release will work with Maya® Versions 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020 64-bit on Windows, Linux and OSX operating systems.


To use this version, you need a GPU of compute model 3.0 or higher. Support for Fermi GPUs (like GTX 4xx and 5xx) has been dropped. Also make sure you use a driver of version 387 or higher and if you are working on Mac OS that have a CUDA driver installed that supports at least CUDA 9.1.


Changelog and the installers for Octane Standalone 2020.1 are here:
OctaneRender Standalone 2020.1 XB1


Changes since versions 17.3:

  • Implemented the support of Maya 2020.
  • Implemented the full support of Maya presets for Octane shaders (including Octane OSL shaders' code).
  • Implemented the support of array-multi-attributes' UI in Attribute Editor for Octane nodes.

KNOWN ISSUES:
  • The Octane SDK 2020.1 XB1 is only released for Windows and Linux. Thus OSX is not supported by this plugin release.
  • "CUDA error 700" and other CUDA errors are expected to happen from time to time: these are the Octane engine's bugs. Should be fixed with later SDK/Standalone versions...
  • Due to some inconsistency on the rendering engine level the builtin-scriptgraph nodes are not going to be present in the plugin. At least at this stage.


=================================
Subscription Enterprise Downloads
=================================

OctaneRender for Maya Enterprise [Windows]

OctaneRender for Maya Enterprise [Linux]


=================================
Subscription Studio Downloads
=================================

OctaneRender for Maya Studio [Windows]

OctaneRender for Maya Studio [Linux]


Some notes regarding the new Autodesk Maya 2020 version:

While implementing the Octane's image-tiles texture for Maya 2020 I've found out that Autodesk has released Maya 2020 with a bug in its "file" texture: if in Attrubute Editor you switch its "UV Tiling Mode" to "Explicit Tiles", add some tiles, and later would try to delete some tile from the list (trash-can button next to it in AE) - Maya throws an error and doesn't delete it.
Octane image-tiles texture does not have this bug.
So if you often use explicit tiles in Maya's "file" texture - you can fix this Autodesk bug by changing one of Maya 2020 scripts (if you decided to do this, you do this on your own risk, I'm not responsible for your possible mistakes):
  • Exit Maya 2020 if it is running.
  • Find the c:\Program Files\Autodesk\Maya2020\scripts\AETemplates\AEfileTemplate.mel script (you may have different Maya 2020 installation directory).
  • Copy this file somewhere to the safe place, to have a backup of it just in case (you can always place it back later to have your Maya bug back).
  • Open the initial file (not a backup-file!) in a text editor.
  • Go to the line 524, which initially contains: symbolButton -edit -command ("AEremoveMultiElement " + $baseAttrName + "; " + $propertyPanelUpdateCmd) textureUvTilingExplicitTrash;
  • Replace this whole 524 line by: symbolButton -edit -command ("python(\"maya.internal.common.ae.multi.removeMultiElement('" + $baseAttrName +"')\"); " + $propertyPanelUpdateCmd) textureUvTilingExplicitTrash;
  • Save the file.
  • Now you can run Maya 2020.
Or you can just report it to Autodesk and wait for a next Maya 2020 update...
Don't do this for any Maya versions other than Maya 2020.
Last edited by JimStar on Mon Jan 06, 2020 1:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3587
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1xb1-17.4 [BETA]

Postby hgarrou » Thu Dec 19, 2019 4:57 am

hgarrou Thu Dec 19, 2019 4:57 am
With each new release, I hope for the inclusion of the script graph nodes. I am very excited about these features. Is there a general idea of how close this portion of the software is to working properly, and thus included in our Maya plugin?

Thanks again for all your hard work. Octane is an irreplaceable tool for us at whitetree
hgarrou
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 4:31 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1xb1-17.4 [BETA]

Postby JimStar » Thu Dec 19, 2019 6:42 am

JimStar Thu Dec 19, 2019 6:42 am
hgarrou
You mean this "scripted graph" node?
Screen Shot 2019-12-19 at 19.39.28.png
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3587
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1xb1-17.4 [BETA]

Postby JimStar » Thu Dec 19, 2019 7:14 pm

JimStar Thu Dec 19, 2019 7:14 pm
You can use any scripted nodes already in current versions of Maya plugin, since many versions ago - in Octane ORBX nodes. This has been available for a long time...
1.png

2.png
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3587
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1xb1-17.4 [BETA]

Postby hgarrou » Fri Dec 20, 2019 3:14 am

hgarrou Fri Dec 20, 2019 3:14 am
Don't let me waste your time but it seems I'm confused. Buy script by script graph nodes I meant spectron and vectron and I have assumed that the following text in your known issues has been referring to those since they don't show up yet in the plugin.

Due to some inconsistency on the rendering engine level the builtin-scriptgraph nodes are not going to be present in the plugin. At least at this stage.
hgarrou
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 4:31 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1xb1-17.4 [BETA]

Postby JimStar » Fri Dec 20, 2019 3:43 am

JimStar Fri Dec 20, 2019 3:43 am
Built-in scriptgraph nodes are not present as native Maya nodes for many different technical reasons. But please read my previous post - you can create and use these nodes in Octane ORBX proxy nodes, in current and older versions of plugin.
User avatar
JimStar
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 3587
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:19 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1xb1-17.4 [BETA]

Postby Rikk The Gaijin » Thu Dec 26, 2019 6:08 am

Rikk The Gaijin Thu Dec 26, 2019 6:08 am
Problem with the Opacity mask over a material that uses random walk SSS.
As you can see the shadows projected on the head have the silhouette of the geometry, ignoring the opacity mask.

Screenshot_2.png
Screenshot_3.png
Rikk The Gaijin
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Japan

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1xb1-17.4 [BETA]

Postby BK » Fri Dec 27, 2019 2:51 am

BK Fri Dec 27, 2019 2:51 am
Rikk The Gaijin wrote:Problem with the Opacity mask over a material that uses random walk SSS.
As you can see the shadows projected on the head have the silhouette of the geometry, ignoring the opacity mask.

Screenshot_2.png
Screenshot_3.png



Hi Rikk,

Thank you so much for reporting this issue.
Would you please check if Octane Standalone has the same behaviour while we are trying to replicate in Octane Render for Maya?


Cheers
Kind Regards

bk3d
BK
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 7:54 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1xb1-17.4 [BETA]

Postby Rikk The Gaijin » Fri Dec 27, 2019 7:10 am

Rikk The Gaijin Fri Dec 27, 2019 7:10 am
BK wrote:
Rikk The Gaijin wrote:Problem with the Opacity mask over a material that uses random walk SSS.
As you can see the shadows projected on the head have the silhouette of the geometry, ignoring the opacity mask.

Screenshot_2.png
Screenshot_3.png



Hi Rikk,

Thank you so much for reporting this issue.
Would you please check if Octane Standalone has the same behaviour while we are trying to replicate in Octane Render for Maya?


Cheers


Yes, Standalone have the same problem. Should I report it? Or will you do it?
Rikk The Gaijin
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Japan

Re: OctaneRender for Maya 2020.1xb1-17.4 [BETA]

Postby BK » Mon Dec 30, 2019 4:02 am

BK Mon Dec 30, 2019 4:02 am
Rikk The Gaijin wrote:
BK wrote:
Rikk The Gaijin wrote:Problem with the Opacity mask over a material that uses random walk SSS.
As you can see the shadows projected on the head have the silhouette of the geometry, ignoring the opacity mask.

Screenshot_2.png
Screenshot_3.png



Hi Rikk,

Thank you so much for reporting this issue.
Would you please check if Octane Standalone has the same behaviour while we are trying to replicate in Octane Render for Maya?


Cheers


Yes, Standalone have the same problem. Should I report it? Or will you do it?


Thank you so much, Rikk, for reporting this issue in the SA section. Cheers
Kind Regards

bk3d
BK
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2016 7:54 pm

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sun Oct 25, 2020 5:22 am [ UTC ]