Use Octane plugin with Houdini apprentice?

Forums: Use Octane plugin with Houdini apprentice?
Sub forum for off topic discussion

Moderator: juanjgon

Use Octane plugin with Houdini apprentice?

Postby lakris » Wed Oct 07, 2015 12:32 pm

lakris Wed Oct 07, 2015 12:32 pm
Im looking at buying a Houdini indie license, but for now im testing the noncommercial version.
Is it possible to use the Octane beta (and finished) plugin with Houdini apprentice?
I know octane but im very new to Houdini.

I have been using the Blender plugin since the beginning, and now i think its time to upgrade, if i Can handle Houdini.

Thx
Lakris
Win 10 - 64 bit, Intel Corei7-7800X CPU @ 3.50GHZ, 32 gb ram, 2x Gigabyte RTX 2060 SUPER 8GB, OctaneRender for Blender - The most recent stable build -
lakris
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 12:27 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Use Octane plugin with Houdini apprentice?

Postby juanjgon » Wed Oct 07, 2015 12:43 pm

juanjgon Wed Oct 07, 2015 12:43 pm
Currently only the full commercial Houdini and Houdini FX licenses support external render plugins. Houdini Apprentice and Houdini Indie don't support external renderers, so the Octane plugin doesn't work with them.

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7721
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Use Octane plugin with Houdini apprentice?

Postby lakris » Wed Oct 07, 2015 1:42 pm

lakris Wed Oct 07, 2015 1:42 pm
Ok, thank you.

Its hard(expensive) to do this, as a hobby :-)
Win 10 - 64 bit, Intel Corei7-7800X CPU @ 3.50GHZ, 32 gb ram, 2x Gigabyte RTX 2060 SUPER 8GB, OctaneRender for Blender - The most recent stable build -
lakris
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 12:27 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: Use Octane plugin with Houdini apprentice?

Postby efxlab » Mon Mar 30, 2020 6:19 pm

efxlab Mon Mar 30, 2020 6:19 pm
Guys, it was changed now, houdini 17+ and 18 support external renderer now, octane should work on it?
efxlab
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu May 31, 2018 5:23 pm

Re: Use Octane plugin with Houdini apprentice?

Postby juanjgon » Mon Mar 30, 2020 6:41 pm

juanjgon Mon Mar 30, 2020 6:41 pm
Are you talking about Houdini Indie? Yes, the plugin works on Houdini Indie for a long time.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7721
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Use Octane plugin with Houdini apprentice?

Postby efxlab » Mon Mar 30, 2020 7:13 pm

efxlab Mon Mar 30, 2020 7:13 pm
cool, I had hot :)
thanks
efxlab
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu May 31, 2018 5:23 pm

Return to Off Topic


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Thu Aug 06, 2020 7:45 am [ UTC ]