reload texture

Forums: reload texture
Sub forum for bug reports

Moderator: juanjgon

Forum rules
Before posting a bug report, please check the following:
1. That the issue has not already been disclosed
2. That the issue is specific to this plugin, and not Octane in general (Try reproducing it in Standalone)
Bugs related to the Octane Engine itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.


All bug reports should include the information below, along with a detailed description of the issue and steps to reproduce it.
A. Operating System, including version (i.e. Win 7, OSX 10.11.2, Ubuntu 14.04, etc.)
B. Graphics Card(s) model (i.e. GTX 580 - 3GB, TITAN, etc.)
C. RAM Capacity (i.e. 6 GB)
D. Nvidia driver version (i.e. 7.50, 7.5.22)
E. OctaneRender Standalone version, if installed (i.e. 2.24.2, 2.23, etc.)
F. OctaneRender plugin version (i.e. v2.25 - 2.21)
G. Host application version, including build number if available (i.e. 3ds Max 2016 Build 18.0)

reload texture

Postby WhyGee » Wed Apr 27, 2016 3:51 pm

WhyGee Wed Apr 27, 2016 3:51 pm
Hi,
I have many objects using a common material with a texture's reload flag enabled. It would seem to reload the texture for every instance of the geometry even though it's the same texture in the same material. Is this normal behavior?
The texture is quite large so the load time is significant for each geometry to reload.

Thanks
Yaniv
WhyGee
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:10 am

Re: reload texture

Postby juanjgon » Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:55 pm

juanjgon Wed Apr 27, 2016 4:55 pm
Weird, if the objects share the same material, the material should be loaded only once, so the texture node should be evaluated only once (and therefore the texture reloaded only once).

Are you sure that Octane is reloading several times the same texture in the same texture node? If you can share a scene with this behavior I could test it here.

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7558
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: reload texture

Postby WhyGee » Thu Apr 28, 2016 7:09 am

WhyGee Thu Apr 28, 2016 7:09 am
I will try to recreate something simple.
WhyGee
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:10 am

Re: reload texture

Postby WhyGee » Thu Apr 28, 2016 7:24 am

WhyGee Thu Apr 28, 2016 7:24 am
attached is a simple scene with 10 objects referencing the same material (at sop level, haven't checked if that is the reason or not). To make the attachment small I've removed the texture but simply plug something high res, i've tested with a 150mb HDR texture just so it will have some noticeable load time. when reload is enabled it stalls on each object for what appears to be the same load time. Without reload, only the first object is slow to load, and then the scene starts rendering quickly.

Thanks
Yaniv
Attachments
reload_texture1.rar
(24.72 KiB) Downloaded 59 times
WhyGee
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:10 am

Re: reload texture

Postby juanjgon » Thu Apr 28, 2016 10:56 am

juanjgon Thu Apr 28, 2016 10:56 am
Sorry, yes, you are right. The material is shared among all the objects (there is only one Octane image texture node for the whole scene), but it is evaluated for each OBJ node at loading time, so as you say if the reload texture option is enabled, the texture is reloaded for each OBJ.

I will try to fix this issue for the next build. Meanwhile I suppose that a workaround can be have two cloned materials, one with the reload texture option enabled and other with it disabled, and use the material with the option enabled only in one object. This should be enough to reload the texture map for all the objects, loading it only once.

Thanks for reporting this issue!
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7558
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: reload texture

Postby WhyGee » Thu Apr 28, 2016 11:45 am

WhyGee Thu Apr 28, 2016 11:45 am
Great thanks alot!

Yaniv
WhyGee
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:10 am

Re: reload texture

Postby WhyGee » Fri May 13, 2016 12:46 pm

WhyGee Fri May 13, 2016 12:46 pm
Hi,
I don't know if you've managed to get around to this issue by the latest release, it appears to still be happening in the last build.

Thanks
WhyGee
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:10 am

Re: reload texture

Postby juanjgon » Fri May 13, 2016 12:55 pm

juanjgon Fri May 13, 2016 12:55 pm
Nope, sorry, not yet. I need to modify some things in the plugin architecture to make it possible, but I hope to have it ready as soon as possible.

Is the workaround using two materials working for you?

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7558
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: reload texture

Postby WhyGee » Fri May 13, 2016 1:24 pm

WhyGee Fri May 13, 2016 1:24 pm
I can work with it, not urgent. Thanks!
WhyGee
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 9:10 am

Return to Bug Reports


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Wed May 27, 2020 3:24 am [ UTC ]