Batch render

Forums: Batch render
Houdini Integrated Plugin

Moderator: juanjgon

Batch render

Postby tschwenke » Fri Jan 04, 2019 10:04 am

tschwenke Fri Jan 04, 2019 10:04 am
Hi,
When I render with "Render to disk," the plugin loads in the whole scene every time. Every frame, it loads the whole mesh and sends it to my render slaves; that takes a lot of time, even if it's only camera movement (of 100kB), it sends the whole scene (like 100MB). I tried these "octane update" buttons, but without any effect. Is there any mystical button I can use (like those D,M,I buttons)?
Best wishes,
Thomas
http://www.thomas-schwenke.me
Carrara 8.5 Pro || Houdini 16.5 || Win7 || i7 + 1 x GTX980 || i5 + 2 x GTX 980Ti || i5 + 2 x GTX 980 || Pentium + 2 x GTX 780Ti + 2 x GTX 970
User avatar
tschwenke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:35 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Batch render

Postby juanjgon » Fri Jan 04, 2019 10:59 am

juanjgon Fri Jan 04, 2019 10:59 am
What update options do you have enabled? If you are rendering a sequence with an animated camera only, you should disable all the "update" options that are not needed in your case.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Attachments
2019_01_04-11_58_18.jpg
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 6882
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Batch render

Postby tschwenke » Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:21 pm

tschwenke Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:21 pm
Hi,
I tried those checkboxes, but they have no effect. It doesn't matter if I check or uncheck them, it's the same... :(
Is there any other button I have to activate?
Rendering mode is set to "Update scene" and Multithread extraction is "Disabled."
Best wishes,
Thomas
http://www.thomas-schwenke.me
Carrara 8.5 Pro || Houdini 16.5 || Win7 || i7 + 1 x GTX980 || i5 + 2 x GTX 980Ti || i5 + 2 x GTX 980 || Pentium + 2 x GTX 780Ti + 2 x GTX 970
User avatar
tschwenke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:35 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Batch render

Postby juanjgon » Fri Jan 04, 2019 5:23 pm

juanjgon Fri Jan 04, 2019 5:23 pm
Hmm, but are you talking about the scene extraction time/local GPU update, or the scene updating in network render nodes? At least in the local machine, the scene updating in "update scene" mode with all the update options disabled should be really fast, like the IPR ...

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 6882
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Batch render

Postby tschwenke » Fri Jan 04, 2019 6:06 pm

tschwenke Fri Jan 04, 2019 6:06 pm
Hi,

No, neither the local update nor the network render is faster. Is it working on your machine?

As I suppose you didn't touch the network render, both should go hand in hand: if you reload the whole scene locally, the slaves will update the whole scene (automatically). If only the camera is updated on the local computer, the slaves will only update the camera. That's at least my assumption...

Best wishes,
Thomas
http://www.thomas-schwenke.me
Carrara 8.5 Pro || Houdini 16.5 || Win7 || i7 + 1 x GTX980 || i5 + 2 x GTX 980Ti || i5 + 2 x GTX 980 || Pentium + 2 x GTX 780Ti + 2 x GTX 970
User avatar
tschwenke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:35 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Batch render

Postby juanjgon » Wed Jan 09, 2019 3:20 pm

juanjgon Wed Jan 09, 2019 3:20 pm
I'm investigating an issue updating the scene while rendering to disk that can be related to your reported rendering slowdown. I hope to know more details soon ...

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 6882
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Batch render

Postby tschwenke » Thu Jan 10, 2019 9:23 am

tschwenke Thu Jan 10, 2019 9:23 am
Hi,

Great to hear that. Thanks alot!

Best wishes,
Thomas
http://www.thomas-schwenke.me
Carrara 8.5 Pro || Houdini 16.5 || Win7 || i7 + 1 x GTX980 || i5 + 2 x GTX 980Ti || i5 + 2 x GTX 980 || Pentium + 2 x GTX 780Ti + 2 x GTX 970
User avatar
tschwenke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:35 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Batch render

Postby juanjgon » Thu Jan 10, 2019 10:42 pm

juanjgon Thu Jan 10, 2019 10:42 pm
The slowdown problems updating the scene while rendering sequences in update scene mode should be fixed in the next 2018.1 build.

Thanks for reporting this issue!
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 6882
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Batch render

Postby tschwenke » Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:08 pm

tschwenke Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:08 pm
Great. Thanks!
http://www.thomas-schwenke.me
Carrara 8.5 Pro || Houdini 16.5 || Win7 || i7 + 1 x GTX980 || i5 + 2 x GTX 980Ti || i5 + 2 x GTX 980 || Pentium + 2 x GTX 780Ti + 2 x GTX 970
User avatar
tschwenke
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 317
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:35 pm
Location: Germany

Return to Houdini


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Thu Sep 19, 2019 4:10 am [ UTC ]