Installing Octane for Houdini Inidie 16.5.439

Forums: Installing Octane for Houdini Inidie 16.5.439
Houdini Integrated Plugin

Moderator: juanjgon

Installing Octane for Houdini Inidie 16.5.439

Postby TStudio » Fri Oct 26, 2018 1:06 pm

TStudio Fri Oct 26, 2018 1:06 pm
Hi Juanjo.
It is been a while since I have used octane for Houdni, but now I need to make some new stuff.
Can you tell me which versions of octane and houdni shoud I use for best results?

Or which octane plugin will work best with my houdni indie 16.5.439. I use Octane standalone 3.08.3
User avatar
TStudio
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:52 am

Re: Installing Octane for Houdini Inidie 16.5.439

Postby blobbybarack » Fri Oct 26, 2018 7:37 pm

blobbybarack Fri Oct 26, 2018 7:37 pm
If you want something stable, should be the best choice.
https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=102&t=69225
blobbybarack
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:11 pm
Location: Paris

Re: Installing Octane for Houdini Inidie 16.5.571

Postby TStudio » Sun Oct 28, 2018 1:01 pm

TStudio Sun Oct 28, 2018 1:01 pm
Thank you very mych for info.
User avatar
TStudio
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:52 am

Re: Installing Octane for Houdini Inidie 16.5.439

Postby TStudio » Sun Oct 28, 2018 1:06 pm

TStudio Sun Oct 28, 2018 1:06 pm
Hi Juanjo
Still no luck with instaling Octane for houdni.
I have downloaded Houdini indie (16.5.571) build + Octane redner plugin ( Octane_3.08.5.0_Houdini_16.5.571_vr_Win64 ) and I have installed latest Octane Standalone 3.08.5.


I have modified houdni env file like so:

HOUDINI_DSO_ERROR = 2
PATH = "D:\Octane_3.08.5.0_Houdini_16.5.571_vr_Win64\bin;$PATH"
HOUDINI_PATH = "D:\Octane_3.08.5.0_Houdini_16.5.571_vr_Win64;&"


but .... houdini doesn`t see octane... What I`m doing wrong?
User avatar
TStudio
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:52 am

Re: Installing Octane for Houdini Inidie 16.5.439

Postby juanjgon » Mon Oct 29, 2018 10:59 am

juanjgon Mon Oct 29, 2018 10:59 am
Hi,

So you can't even see the top Octane menu bar, or add the Octane shelf, right? Weird, the HOUDINI_PATH variable seems right to me, but to be sure, can you please attach your houdini.env file to test it here?

Are you sure that you are editing the right houdini.env file? Be aware that each Houdini main version (for example H16.5) has its own $HOME folder with the file inside, and also be aware that each user has a copy of this folder, so perhaps you are editing the houdini.env file of another user.

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7358
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Installing Octane for Houdini Inidie 16.5.439

Postby TStudio » Mon Oct 29, 2018 11:28 am

TStudio Mon Oct 29, 2018 11:28 am
Hi juanjgon.

I can see octane render controls now :-) I turn on computer this moring... and Voila - Octane is vible in Houdni :-) !!
I don`t know what was that ... but I guess it took to much time to just load this .env variable. :-)
User avatar
TStudio
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:52 am

Re: Installing Octane for Houdini Inidie 16.5.439

Postby TStudio » Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:04 pm

TStudio Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:04 pm
On more thing…. How can I activate octane ?
I got this message…. I`m using standalone, modo plugin, C4D plugin with no problem. I have Standalone licence and 3 plugins.
licencing.jpg
User avatar
TStudio
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:52 am

Re: Installing Octane for Houdini Inidie 16.5.439

Postby juanjgon » Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:13 pm

juanjgon Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:13 pm
Hmm, if you have regular commercial licenses you should not install the plugin version for the subscription licenses.

In your case, the "Octane_3.08.5.0_Houdini_16.5.571_vr_Win64" plugin is for subscription licenses. For a regular license, you must use the "Octane_3.08.5.0_Houdini_16.5.571_Win64" plugin.
https://render.otoy.com/customerdownloa ... _Win64.zip

Thanks,
-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 7358
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Installing Octane for Houdini Inidie 16.5.439

Postby TStudio » Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:32 pm

TStudio Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:32 pm
Oooo I see thank you very much!
User avatar
TStudio
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:52 am

Re: Installing Octane for Houdini Inidie 16.5.439

Postby TStudio » Tue Oct 30, 2018 10:21 am

TStudio Tue Oct 30, 2018 10:21 am
Hi Juanjo.
My problems are not over yet.... I have changed octane to right version... and now it is gone fro my my Houdni Shelf and menu. I guess that has something to do with reading .env file by Hoduni. Maybe you know how to force it to read .env file?
User avatar
TStudio
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 11:52 am
Next

Return to Houdini


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Thu Apr 02, 2020 7:17 pm [ UTC ]