OctaneRender™ Standalone 2.12.1

A forum where development builds are posted for testing by the community.
Forum rules
NOTE: The software in this forum is not %100 reliable, they are development builds and are meant for testing by experienced octane users. If you are a new octane user, we recommend to use the current stable release from the 'Commercial Product News & Releases' forum.
Post Reply
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Posts: 10289
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

abstrax wrote:Just a heads up: We released another small bug-fix build which should fix the issues reported for version 2.12.

Apologies for the noise.
thanks for the update, no more error message when starting the first time on osx ;)
virtualzapp
Licensed Customer
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 8:44 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

abstrax wrote:Just a heads up: We released another small bug-fix build which should fix the issues reported for version 2.12.

Apologies for the noise.

Hi,

On Mac no more issue at launch, that's great!
Thank you


Cheers
Regis
VFX compositor / CG generalist

Mac Pro 12C 2.93GHz, 64gb ram, 1xGTX Titan X, 4xGTX Titans in Cubix
ratata
Licensed Customer
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 1:28 am
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contact:

Since there was a fix for pmc kernel and now it works on maxwell 2, is there any other info regarding the speed hit of new cards?
If not, it would be nice if you opened a sticky official thread under 1 forum (like "Video Cards / GPUs and Drivers") and locked, so we can subscribe on that and wait for this info, not bothering checking many threads all over the forums if there is a reply regarding this...

Thank you.
http://www.twitter.com/sandidolsak

6850k|64gb|4 x GTX980ti
BroAugustine
Licensed Customer
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 4:39 pm

Octane still crashes on some scripts when you close the script.
I've narrowed down at least one problem when defining callbacks for tabs, i.e. once you've assigned code for a tab callback, the condition for crashing will occur in Octane versions after 2.06.

Open the Lua editor and paste the following code to it. Run the script and click on each tab a couple of times to verify that the callback is executed. Then close the script...Octane will crash at this point.

Code: Select all

-- Tab callback test
-- This script works in 2.06.
-- In 2.11 thru 2.12.1, everything works
-- until you close the window, then Octane crashes.

label_1 = octane.gui.create
{ 
    type   = octane.gui.componentType.LABEL, 
    text   = "This is label 1",
    width  = 100,
    height = 24
}

label_2 = octane.gui.create
{ 
    type   = octane.gui.componentType.LABEL, 
    text   = "This is label 2",
    width  = 100,
    height = 24
}

group_1 = octane.gui.create 
{
    type     = octane.gui.componentType.GROUP,
    rows     = 1,
    cols     = 1,
    children = { label_1 },
    text     = "",
    border   = true,
}

group_2 = octane.gui.create 
{
    type     = octane.gui.componentType.GROUP,
    rows     = 1,
    cols     = 1,
    children = { label_2 },
    text     = "",
    border   = true,
}

captions = {'Tab 1', 'Tab 2' }
groups = { group_1, group_2 }

tabs = octane.gui.create
{ 
    type     = octane.gui.componentType.TABS,
    header   = captions,
    children = groups
}

window = octane.gui.create
{
    type     = octane.gui.componentType.WINDOW,
    width    = 200,
    height   = 200,
    children = { tabs },
    text     = string.format("Tab callback test")
}

-- Here's the tab callback 
tabs.callback = function(event)
    print("Event    : ", event)
    print("Current tab: ", tabs.currentTab)
    print("")
end

window:showWindow()
Win 7 64 | I7-2600K 3.7 GHz | GTX 460, GTX 760 / Driver 347.09 | Cuda 7.0.18
FoolooF
Licensed Customer
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 8:08 pm

Thanks for the update.
It works fine for me now.
User avatar
aLeXXtoR
Licensed Customer
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:38 pm
Location: Russia, St. Ptetersburg
Contact:

BroAugustine wrote:Octane still crashes on some scripts when you close the script.
I confirm. Since 2.10 Octane crashes on Script window closing if script creates Tabs. I thought that there was my code error (been trying to catch it), but it seems like API issue.
Win 10 Pro 64bit | GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER 8Gb | AMD Ryzen 7 3700X | 32GB RAM
WebSite
Showreel
User avatar
stratified
OctaneRender Team
Posts: 945
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 6:32 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

manalokos wrote:We us the batch render ignores the check boxes and renders all nodes.
Will be fixed in the next release. Here's already an updated version of the script:
batch-rendering.lua
(18.43 KiB) Downloaded 233 times
cheers,
Thomas
User avatar
stratified
OctaneRender Team
Posts: 945
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2012 6:32 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

BroAugustine wrote:Octane still crashes on some scripts when you close the script.
I've narrowed down at least one problem when defining callbacks for tabs, i.e. once you've assigned code for a tab callback, the condition for crashing will occur in Octane versions after 2.06.

Open the Lua editor and paste the following code to it. Run the script and click on each tab a couple of times to verify that the callback is executed. Then close the script...Octane will crash at this point.

Code: Select all

-- Tab callback test
-- This script works in 2.06.
-- In 2.11 thru 2.12.1, everything works
-- until you close the window, then Octane crashes.

label_1 = octane.gui.create
{ 
    type   = octane.gui.componentType.LABEL, 
    text   = "This is label 1",
    width  = 100,
    height = 24
}

label_2 = octane.gui.create
{ 
    type   = octane.gui.componentType.LABEL, 
    text   = "This is label 2",
    width  = 100,
    height = 24
}

group_1 = octane.gui.create 
{
    type     = octane.gui.componentType.GROUP,
    rows     = 1,
    cols     = 1,
    children = { label_1 },
    text     = "",
    border   = true,
}

group_2 = octane.gui.create 
{
    type     = octane.gui.componentType.GROUP,
    rows     = 1,
    cols     = 1,
    children = { label_2 },
    text     = "",
    border   = true,
}

captions = {'Tab 1', 'Tab 2' }
groups = { group_1, group_2 }

tabs = octane.gui.create
{ 
    type     = octane.gui.componentType.TABS,
    header   = captions,
    children = groups
}

window = octane.gui.create
{
    type     = octane.gui.componentType.WINDOW,
    width    = 200,
    height   = 200,
    children = { tabs },
    text     = string.format("Tab callback test")
}

-- Here's the tab callback 
tabs.callback = function(event)
    print("Event    : ", event)
    print("Current tab: ", tabs.currentTab)
    print("")
end

window:showWindow()
Thanks for the script, that makes our life a lot easier! This problem will be fixed in the next release.

cheers,
Thomas
zivko
Licensed Customer
Posts: 75
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 10:41 am

stratified wrote:
manalokos wrote:We us the batch render ignores the check boxes and renders all nodes.
Will be fixed in the next release. Here's already an updated version of the script:
batch-rendering.lua
cheers,
Thomas
is it possible to add batch render script to save render passes too, not just main view? if it can be done already, pls explain me the process as only main view is saved when i use batch. thx
desktop - win7 64bit, i5-4690, 12gb ddr3, 970gtx 4gb, 460gtx 2gb
laptop - win7 64bit, i7-2630qm, 10gb ddr3, 550m 2gb
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Posts: 3031
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

I cannot find 3ds max 2.12 anywhere. Thanks.
Post Reply

Return to “Development Build Releases”