OctaneVR subscription + C4D plug-in

Forums: OctaneVR subscription + C4D plug-in
A public forum for discussing and asking questions about OctaneVR.

OctaneVR subscription + C4D plug-in

Postby 360precision » Sat May 02, 2015 8:30 pm

360precision Sat May 02, 2015 8:30 pm
Hi Guys,

I'm a Maxwell render user trying to move across to OctaneVR. I have OctaneVR set-up and activated but I get the following error message:

Image

Is it possible to use the above combination ?

Matt Rogers
360Precision.com
User avatar
360precision
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 8:55 am

Re: OctaneVR subscription + C4D plug-in

Postby therealjustlike » Sat May 02, 2015 8:50 pm

therealjustlike Sat May 02, 2015 8:50 pm
This thread might help you:
viewtopic.php?f=98&t=46108

I think if you update your standalone license you will notice that
it has the same features as OctaneVR, then it should play nice with your C4D plugin install.
No need for OctaneVR.
i7-4770k, 16gb, gtx770
User avatar
therealjustlike
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 4:30 am
Location: oakland, ca

Re: OctaneVR subscription + C4D plug-in

Postby 360precision » Sat May 02, 2015 8:57 pm

360precision Sat May 02, 2015 8:57 pm
therealjustlike wrote:This thread might help you:
viewtopic.php?f=98&t=46108

I think if you update your standalone license you will notice that
it has the same features as OctaneVR, then it should play nice with your C4D plugin install.
No need for OctaneVR.


But I thought the point of OctaneVR subscription was to allow us to use Octane Render free for three months. As I don't have Blender or Poser I just purchased the C4D plug-in. If you have to use either of these plug-ins I see no point in the free three months.

Matt
User avatar
360precision
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 8:55 am

Re: OctaneVR subscription + C4D plug-in

Postby face_off » Sat May 02, 2015 10:15 pm

face_off Sat May 02, 2015 10:15 pm
But I thought the point of OctaneVR subscription was to allow us to use Octane Render free for three months. As I don't have Blender or Poser I just purchased the C4D plug-in. If you have to use either of these plug-ins I see no point in the free three months.
The non-VR plugins require a non-VR Octane Standalone license. So you will need to purchase an Octane Standalone license to use the C4D plugin. Only the Blender (3 month trial) and Poser (3 month trial) VR plugins work with an Octane VR (3 month trial) license.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14228
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneVR subscription + C4D plug-in

Postby 360precision » Sun May 03, 2015 5:58 am

360precision Sun May 03, 2015 5:58 am
SO basically if you're on OS X you're limited to Poser, what a genius idea that is :(

OK, so I've gone from thinking I can get into this for free to now having spent £400, nice little earner for Otoy :)

I have no issue with spending the money and supporting companies doing awesome work BUT I've been waiting for quite a while for OctaneVR. When there's been no need to.

Matt
User avatar
360precision
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 8:55 am

Re: OctaneVR subscription + C4D plug-in

Postby face_off » Sun May 03, 2015 1:48 pm

face_off Sun May 03, 2015 1:48 pm
SO basically if you're on OS X you're limited to Poser, what a genius idea that is :(
Windows and OSX users both have exactly the same options for no-cost plugins (for 3 months) for Octane VR.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14228
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneVR subscription + C4D plug-in

Postby 360precision » Sun May 03, 2015 2:41 pm

360precision Sun May 03, 2015 2:41 pm
face_off wrote:
SO basically if you're on OS X you're limited to Poser, what a genius idea that is :(
Windows and OSX users both have exactly the same options for no-cost plugins (for 3 months) for Octane VR.

Paul


No they don't, there's NO download for the Blender plug-in for OS X. How is that the same ? Feels like a bait and switch to me.

Matt
User avatar
360precision
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 8:55 am

Re: OctaneVR subscription + C4D plug-in

Postby face_off » Sun May 03, 2015 3:23 pm

face_off Sun May 03, 2015 3:23 pm
Looks like it's been omitted. May I suggest requesting the Blender OSX version from FooZe.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14228
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Return to OctaneVR Questions & Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Thu Oct 22, 2020 9:45 pm [ UTC ]