Phantom Architecture [1.2.0] Sky array export now available!

Forums: Phantom Architecture [1.2.0] Sky array export now available!
Generic forum to discuss Octane Render, post ideas and suggest improvements.
Forum rules
Please add your OS and Hardware Configuration in your signature, it makes it easier for us to help you analyze problems. Example: Win 7 64 | Geforce GTX680 | i7 3770 | 16GB

Re: Phantom Architecture [1.1.0] Displacement fix for archviz!

Postby Phantom107 » Sat Feb 18, 2017 3:12 pm

Phantom107 Sat Feb 18, 2017 3:12 pm
That's actually a good idea, I will think about it. I am working on new updates and new Phantom tools entirely so don't have time for that right now but if it becomes viable I will bring that to Phantom Architecture. ;)
User avatar
Phantom107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Architecture [1.2.0] Displacement fix for archviz!

Postby Phantom107 » Wed Feb 22, 2017 11:44 pm

Phantom107 Wed Feb 22, 2017 11:44 pm
Phantom Architecture 1.2.0 is now available!

Visit the website here: http://architecture.phantomtechnology.nl/

Image

» Added new MODE: SUN VECTOR.

» SUN VECTOR: added function SKY TEXTURE T.X. This allows you to enter the sky T.X transform you are using in Octane.

» SUN VECTOR: added function SKY TEXTURE T.Y. This allows you to enter the sky T.Y transform you are using in Octane.

» SUN VECTOR: added function RESET T.X and T.Y.

» SUN VECTOR: added function RESET SUN POSITION.

» SUN VECTOR: added function RESET IMAGE GAMMA.

» SUN VECTOR: added function RESET VIEW.

» SUN VECTOR: added function EXPORT OCT FLOAT. This export will put XML node data onto your clipboard for usage in Octane Render standalone. It will contain a float value node that plugs into the sun direction of your daylight environment. Simply press CTRL+V in Octane Render standalone after export.

» SUN VECTOR: added function SKY ARRAY ITERATIONS. Defines the amount of sky array output nodes for function EXPORT OCT SKY ARRAY.

» SUN VECTOR: added function EXPORT OCT SKY ARRAY. This export will put XML node data onto your clipboard for usage in Octane Render standalone. It will contain a setup with an array of sun angles and the sky texture rotated along accordingly. The function will you to browse to the HDR sky resource you wish to use as the sky texture so it can be embedded in the export. Simply press CTRL+V in Octane Render standalone after export.

» UV-SCALE CORRECT: Fixed graphical issue when using function RESET SOURCE.

» In UV-SCALE CORRECT and SUN VECTOR modes, the software will display a warning in the modules bar about image importing; Tip: if image import fails, use GIMP to save the image with 'progressive' disabled.
User avatar
Phantom107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Architecture [1.2.0] Sky array export now available!

Postby Rik » Tue Aug 01, 2017 10:04 am

Rik Tue Aug 01, 2017 10:04 am
Hi

Just wondering if there's a way to use your displacement algorithm (and all the other tools you make) with octane in 3dsmax?

From what I Can see, it looks like your programs only work with Octane standalone which we never touch.

Rik
Rik
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 8:57 pm

Re: Phantom Architecture [1.2.0] Sky array export now available!

Postby Phantom107 » Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:46 am

Phantom107 Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:46 am
It exports an OBJ for Standalone, so if you can import that back into 3DSMax then it should work. But I'm not sure how well that works as far as workflow is concerned. You can appyl for a free demo and simply test it out
User avatar
Phantom107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Architecture [1.2.0] Sky array export now available!

Postby Rik » Tue Aug 01, 2017 12:19 pm

Rik Tue Aug 01, 2017 12:19 pm
Thanks, will do

RIk
Rik
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 8:57 pm

Re: Phantom Architecture [1.2.0] Sky array export now available!

Postby Rik » Wed Aug 02, 2017 6:36 am

Rik Wed Aug 02, 2017 6:36 am
Thanks, have installed the 7 day evaluation Phantom Architecture but am struggling with the new interface.

Searched the manual for zoom, pan and navigate but they aren't in there.
I worked out that dragging right mouse button rotates the camera but can't do anything else.

I found the import OBJ 'button' but when I import my test obj I can't see anything.

I can see your tutorial_disp_fix obj but can't do anything with it. There are no maps on it.

What am I doing wrong and how do I navigate?

Is there a quick tutorial video anywhere to get people started.

I've attached the OBJ and relevant maps for the displacement I was going to try and fix.
Attachments
walltes2t.obj
(5.49 KiB) Downloaded 76 times
Weinerberger olde alton yellow.png
brick disp test02.jpg
Rik
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 8:57 pm

Re: Phantom Architecture [1.2.0] Sky array export now available!

Postby Phantom107 » Wed Aug 02, 2017 7:41 am

Phantom107 Wed Aug 02, 2017 7:41 am
The maps are actually irrelevant, it's all about how Octane works the mesh, if that works correctly, any kind of displacement map will work.

You can press WASD to moe around and QE to change height. Hold SHIFT to move faster. Use that to navigate to the mesh and then pinpoint the materials you need fixed. I will look at it if you can't get it to work!
User avatar
Phantom107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Architecture [1.2.0] Sky array export now available!

Postby Rik » Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:26 am

Rik Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:26 am
OK, thanks. I can now move around but have no idea what to do next.

Managed to select some faces but then what?
Rik
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 8:57 pm

Re: Phantom Architecture [1.2.0] Sky array export now available!

Postby Phantom107 » Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:31 am

Phantom107 Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:31 am
Now you can hit the EXPORT OBJ function in the IMPORT / EXPORT panel. It will use the exporting options set in the SETUP panel.
User avatar
Phantom107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Architecture [1.2.0] Sky array export now available!

Postby Rik » Wed Aug 02, 2017 9:37 am

Rik Wed Aug 02, 2017 9:37 am
OK, some progress.

Import/export menu
import obj
browse obj
find an obj to import

Main menu
mode
displacement fix

surfaces menu
select add/remove surfaces
may need to 'walk' round the other side to select the front of the faces

Import/export menu
export obj
confirm export

in max...
import the obj
redo all the materials

boom.

This is working with your test obj but anything I export from max as obj does not import into PA. Even just a box.

What am I doing wrong?
Rik
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 8:57 pm
PreviousNext

Return to General Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

Fri May 29, 2020 12:56 pm [ UTC ]