Phantom Architecture [1.2.0] Sky array export now available!

Forums: Phantom Architecture [1.2.0] Sky array export now available!
Generic forum to discuss Octane Render, post ideas and suggest improvements.
Forum rules
Please add your OS and Hardware Configuration in your signature, it makes it easier for us to help you analyze problems. Example: Win 7 64 | Geforce GTX680 | i7 3770 | 16GB

Phantom Architecture [1.2.0] Sky array export now available!

Postby Phantom107 » Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:28 pm

Phantom107 Wed Apr 13, 2016 11:28 pm
Image


Greetings everyone,

In this topic I'd like to discuss the development of a new software package I have started on today: Phantom Architecture.
As someone who does archviz, I know there are still a lot of hiccups in workflow that could be sped up in incredible ways with intelligent software, fully geared towards archviz. And this is what this program is going to be all about! Custom designed tools for improving the archviz workflow and production in OctaneRender.

I will not reveal what I have planned just yet. First I want to get more into development and try various things. I will post in here when there is something noteworthy to show off. :)

Best,

Guus


Website is up!

> Visit the Phantom Architecture website!
Last edited by Phantom107 on Wed Feb 22, 2017 11:47 pm, edited 9 times in total.
User avatar
Phantom107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Architecture [concept fase]

Postby Seekerfinder » Thu Apr 14, 2016 4:26 am

Seekerfinder Thu Apr 14, 2016 4:26 am
I'm in...
Win 8(64) | P9X79-E WS | i7-3930K | 32GB | GTX Titan & GTX 780Ti | SketchUP | Revit | Beta tester for Revit & Sketchup plugins for Octane
User avatar
Seekerfinder
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1583
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Phantom Architecture [concept fase]

Postby Chriz » Thu Apr 14, 2016 7:13 am

Chriz Thu Apr 14, 2016 7:13 am
I am curious.
http://www.C9W.de - Win10 - Dual E5 2620v3 - 1 GTX 980 Ti / 1 GTX 1080 / 2 GTX 780 - 32 RAM - C4D MSA - C4D Plugin version: current - Standalone: current
User avatar
Chriz
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 1:53 pm
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Phantom Architecture [concept fase]

Postby v-cube » Thu Apr 14, 2016 10:53 am

v-cube Thu Apr 14, 2016 10:53 am
interesting... any hint what it will be?
4 machines, each with 1 X1070 GTX and 1 X1080 Gtx cards core i7, 32 GB RAM http://www.v-cube.de
User avatar
v-cube
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 390
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:02 am
Location: Aachen, Germany

Re: Phantom Architecture [concept phase]

Postby Phantom107 » Thu May 19, 2016 1:21 am

Phantom107 Thu May 19, 2016 1:21 am
Hey guys,

So development of Phantom Architecture is going full steam right now. I've been busy implementing a bunch of the systems I designed for Phantom Scatter that will power the inner workings of this new beast. For Phantom Scatter users it will feel familiar right away:

Image


More updates will follow soon!
User avatar
Phantom107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Architecture [concept phase]

Postby Phantom107 » Fri May 20, 2016 12:00 am

Phantom107 Fri May 20, 2016 12:00 am
Displacement problem analysis

Alright guys so the first problem I'm going to try and tackle in Phantom Architecture is that when modeling architecture, your models are going to have a lot of big flat faces that you will want displacement on, but modeling it 'properly' will seriously hurt workflow because it takes a lot of time and to fix the issues around corners you will need to tessellate the model which makes editing the model later on very difficult and time consuming.

So I've been doing a bit of research and I've broken it down. In the following pic on the left you will see an open cube, no tessellation or anything done on it, just what you would make in an architecture model (I use SketchUp for my building modeling). On the right side you will see the same open cube, but tessellated:

Image

Now when you go ahead and apply displacement to this little scene, you will see that there will be a bunch of gaps in your displacement:

Image

This happens because the displacement follows the normals of your triangles. When these normals are smoothed, you will see that the displacement goes nicely along the edges:

Image

But there still is a problem! If you look at the open cube at the left, you will see that the lighting messes up here (daylight environment). That means that simply smoothing out the model will create clearly visible lighting problems. If you look at the open cube on the right side, you will see that all is good.

So what we need in order to fix this issue is an algorithm that can automatically look at your model, tessellate faces up to a certain threshold, and then smooth them out. Then your source model is not hurt and exactly the way you like it. But the processed OBJ by Phantom Architecture will then look really good in Octane!

I am working on the algorithm to do this with great ease. ;) :D
User avatar
Phantom107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Phantom Architecture [concept phase]

Postby prehabitat » Fri May 20, 2016 2:28 am

prehabitat Fri May 20, 2016 2:28 am
You are a legend! looking forward to the finished product!
Win10/3770/16gb/K600(display)/GTX780(Octane)/GTX590/372.70
Octane 3.x: GH Lands VARQ Rhino5 -Rhino.io- C4D R16 / Revit17
prehabitat
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 495
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 10:30 am
Location: Victoria, Australia

Re: Phantom Architecture [concept phase]

Postby petitsuisse974 » Fri May 20, 2016 3:10 am

petitsuisse974 Fri May 20, 2016 3:10 am
Great, it'll be top as usual
petitsuisse974
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 3:38 pm

Re: Phantom Architecture [concept phase]

Postby ErdemX » Fri May 20, 2016 9:14 am

ErdemX Fri May 20, 2016 9:14 am
Great work. Definitely needed..
User avatar
ErdemX
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 12:03 am
Location: Turkey

Re: Phantom Architecture [concept] Displacement fix revealed!

Postby Phantom107 » Mon May 23, 2016 9:14 pm

Phantom107 Mon May 23, 2016 9:14 pm
Here's a Phantom Architecture development pic, I'm working on the UI for the displacement fix. It's going to be very straightforward: just import an *.OBJ, then use a tool to select what you need fixed. Just pinpoint a triangle and then all the triangles that carry that same material will be selected. You can then export it into a new *.OBJ (algorithm not finished yet). Through the load setup/save setup functions you can deal with your current setup so you don't need to re-select the materials you need fixed every time.

Image
User avatar
Phantom107
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 679
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:31 am
Location: The Netherlands
Next

Return to General Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

Tue May 21, 2019 5:55 am [ UTC ]