OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC3 - 11.01 TEST

Forums: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC3 - 11.01 TEST
Sub forum for plugin releases
Forum rules
Any bugs related to this plugin should be reported to the Bug Reports sub-forum.
Bugs related to Octane itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC3 - 11.01 TEST

Postby coilbook » Thu Dec 24, 2020 3:39 am

coilbook Thu Dec 24, 2020 3:39 am
neonZorglub wrote:
samsue wrote:neonZorglub, what is your position at Otoy?

Hi samsue,
I'm the developer responsible for the 3dsmax plugin.
So I implement the various versions of the Octane Render SDK features for 3dsMax.
Cheers

Hi neonZorglub,
can you please tell me if you are adding a support for phoenix wetmaps textures or not? That way we need to know if we have to use vray. Thanks
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2694
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC3 - 11.01 TEST

Postby samsue » Sun Dec 27, 2020 7:53 pm

samsue Sun Dec 27, 2020 7:53 pm
neonZorglub wrote:
samsue wrote:neonZorglub, what is your position at Otoy?

Hi samsue,
I'm the developer responsible for the 3dsmax plugin.
So I implement the various versions of the Octane Render SDK features for 3dsMax.
Cheers


I have some serious questions and concerns;

I have seen Octane improving in several aspects, but I don't understand your perspective. Using octane is getting more confusing every day, you don't give basic support to things like multi texture, curvature, my god, there are no curves in several maps that should have like Noise etc... there is much more, which are basic, that I could lay down.

But I think the most urgent thing is to rethink the organization of the renderer, it's ... complicated.


I don't have the time to make a proper review ... but someone should do

UVs Set
Why is it limited to 3?
samsue
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 10:04 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC3 - 11.01 TEST

Postby javierluisbravo » Mon Dec 28, 2020 2:27 pm

javierluisbravo Mon Dec 28, 2020 2:27 pm
thanks for your effort..

in this version I can't even see the right side options in render settings as i have a 4k monitor.. all is out of the window.
I think there are upscaling UI issues.

Would be great if in RC5 you can put the OCIO roolout in the octane live viewer as cinema4d have.. Would be great.

going back to older version.

Thanks!
javierluisbravo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2016 6:10 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC3 - 11.01 TEST

Postby neonZorglub » Tue Dec 29, 2020 9:36 pm

neonZorglub Tue Dec 29, 2020 9:36 pm
HHbomb wrote:no gift for Xmas ?

Santa prepared RC5, but had to go back to North pole to get RC6 ;)
viewtopic.php?f=80&t=76636
neonZorglub
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 411
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 10:08 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC3 - 11.01 TEST

Postby neonZorglub » Tue Dec 29, 2020 9:42 pm

neonZorglub Tue Dec 29, 2020 9:42 pm
coilbook wrote:Hi neonZorglub,
can you please tell me if you are adding a support for phoenix wetmaps textures or not? That way we need to know if we have to use vray. Thanks

Hi coilbook,
I'm still planing to add support for phoenix wetmaps textures, but I can't say when it will be ready..
It's not a simple feature, so I hope to have some time for it once 2020.2 is stable.
Thanks
neonZorglub
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 411
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 10:08 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC3 - 11.01 TEST

Postby neonZorglub » Tue Dec 29, 2020 11:23 pm

neonZorglub Tue Dec 29, 2020 11:23 pm
samsue wrote:
neonZorglub wrote:
samsue wrote:neonZorglub, what is your position at Otoy?

Hi samsue,
I'm the developer responsible for the 3dsmax plugin.
So I implement the various versions of the Octane Render SDK features for 3dsMax.
Cheers


I have some serious questions and concerns;

I have seen Octane improving in several aspects, but I don't understand your perspective. Using octane is getting more confusing every day, you don't give basic support to things like multi texture, curvature, my god, there are no curves in several maps that should have like Noise etc... there is much more, which are basic, that I could lay down.

But I think the most urgent thing is to rethink the organization of the renderer, it's ... complicated.


I don't have the time to make a proper review ... but someone should do

UVs Set
Why is it limited to 3?


Hi samsue,
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry if Octane can seems confusing to use..
From what understand, most of complication and missing features you mentioned are related to the Octane render engine.
You might find explanations, work around, or post related questions in the Octane render forum directly.
For curve in maps, for example, I guess something like an OSL shader with a Gradient texture could achieve similar effect.

On the 3dsmax implementation side, that I'm working on, I known there are several confusing settings, old and sometimes unnecessary options, etc. This will be progressively cleaned up and improved..
For missing map features, I can try to provide some extra default textures using several sub textures that would behave like what you expect. I would need more detail and samples for that..
Note that the 'on the fly' texture conversion system provide this kind of construction for several standard map.
There are several improvements that I'll add, now possible with the new Octane textures, like the composite and channel operations..

Thanks
neonZorglub
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 411
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 10:08 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v2020.2 RC3 - 11.01 TEST

Postby neonZorglub » Tue Dec 29, 2020 11:26 pm

neonZorglub Tue Dec 29, 2020 11:26 pm
javierluisbravo wrote:thanks for your effort..

in this version I can't even see the right side options in render settings as i have a 4k monitor.. all is out of the window.
I think there are upscaling UI issues.

Would be great if in RC5 you can put the OCIO roolout in the octane live viewer as cinema4d have.. Would be great.

going back to older version.

Thanks!


Hi javierluisbravo,
Thanks for reporting the scaling UI issue.
This is now fixed in the RC6 release.
I'll see how to add those OCIO settings in the octane viewport.
Thanks
neonZorglub
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 411
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 10:08 pm
Previous

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Fri Mar 05, 2021 7:56 pm [ UTC ]