OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.04 - 6.17

Forums: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.04 - 6.17
Sub forum for plugin releases
Forum rules
Any bugs related to this plugin should be reported to the Bug Reports sub-forum.
Bugs related to Octane itself should be posted into the Standalone Support sub-forum.

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.04 - 6.17

Postby paride4331 » Wed May 01, 2019 7:12 am

paride4331 Wed May 01, 2019 7:12 am
senorpablo wrote:
paride4331 wrote:
senorpablo wrote:There's a massive bug with Octane lights/emissive geo and shadow catchers. The scene is a daylight with HDRI for lighting, plus another daylight set to visible with a float texture for backplate at dark grey. Shadow catcher plane under objects of interest.

Adding an Octane light to the scene breaks the shadow catcher. The light seems to be casting shadows which are much, much darker than they should be(like 1000x). A little tiny LED size light like you might find on electronics to let you know the power is on, casts massive shadows on objects which are receiving no illumination. The result is that the entire shadow catcher turns dark and becomes clearly visible in the scene.

Octane shadow catcher broken.jpg




Hi senorpablo,
this issue seems to be because of the way shadows are calculated.
The strength of a shadow is calculated from the ratio of obstructed incoming
light to incoming light from all sources. So basically in this
particular case, the strength of the light sources themselves are
cancelled out. The effect could be better if you use a daylight
environment (the shadows are much softer with lower power).
So, there's not much we can do for now, at least nothing on the 3dsmax
To avoid this issue you should use render layers instead of shadow catcher.
Regards
Paride


I am using a daylight environment with texture HDRI. The power is at 2.

I'm rendering dozens of shots and don't have time to use a render layers/compositing workflow.

Between this case, and the one Coilbook has discovered, can Octane really promote itself as "unbiased"?


Hi senorpablo,
precisely because shadow catcher is a trick and DL AO is a plus.
Compositing is the correct unbiased workflow and unbiased engine is PMC or PT.
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2973
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.04 - 6.17

Postby senorpablo » Wed May 01, 2019 9:25 pm

senorpablo Wed May 01, 2019 9:25 pm
paride4331 wrote:Hi senorpablo,
precisely because shadow catcher is a trick and DL AO is a plus.
Compositing is the correct unbiased workflow and unbiased engine is PMC or PT.
Regards
Paride


DL AO is the default for Octane. So by Otoy's own choice, Octane is not unbiased by default.

Everything in rendering is a "trick." Every single aspect of CGI is an approximation or estimation. The shadow catcher is poorly implemented. I'm curious if Mental Ray, Iray, Vray, Redshift or Arnold have the same issue. My hunch is no.
senorpablo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 2:52 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.04 - 6.17

Postby ThaRaven » Thu May 02, 2019 11:04 am

ThaRaven Thu May 02, 2019 11:04 am
Hey,

so there is no RTX Hardware support planned for V4 ?
Win 7 64 | Geforce GTX780 |Dual X5667 Xeon | 40GB | MAX 2016 |
User avatar
ThaRaven
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 1:17 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.04 - 6.17

Postby paride4331 » Thu May 02, 2019 11:53 am

paride4331 Thu May 02, 2019 11:53 am
ThaRaven wrote:Hey,

so there is no RTX Hardware support planned for V4 ?


https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=71351#p362399
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2973
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.04 - 6.17

Postby Elden » Fri May 10, 2019 11:01 am

Elden Fri May 10, 2019 11:01 am
In my setup 3ds Max 2019, win7 X64, a very problematic bug seems to have sneeked into this build. The live viewer has become unreliable and doesn't always update properly. For instance - I just had an object set to non-renderable in the Max properties, and set to movable proxy in the Octane properties. Switching it to renderable in the Max properties - still invisible in the live viewer. Closing the live viewer and opening it again - still no sign if the object in question. The only way is to exit and restart max. I've had other occasions when ojects wouldn't update properly in the live viewer. Needless to say, this hampers the workflow. Anybody else have a similar experience?
Elden
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 10:40 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.04 - 6.17

Postby Elden » Fri May 10, 2019 12:16 pm

Elden Fri May 10, 2019 12:16 pm
And adding to that. If I isolate an object with the live viewer open, and then bring back the whole scene - it still only renders the previously isolated object. Again, the only solution for me when Octane is in that mood - is to restart Max. Crazy...
Elden
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 10:40 pm

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.04 - 6.17

Postby merid888 » Sun May 12, 2019 4:13 pm

merid888 Sun May 12, 2019 4:13 pm
error with the version 6.17. i see the map in the view of 3ds max but i can't see into octanerender viewport
someone can help me ?
thank you octanrender team
Attachments
error version 6.17.jpg
error version 6.17
Last edited by merid888 on Thu May 30, 2019 5:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
W10 x64 Bits, 24 Gb 1866 OC Mghz, P9X79 ws, E5-2670 Xeón, 2.60 Ghz to 3.30 Ghz Overclock, 2 SSD 240 Gb Raid, ThermalTake Water 2, 1 GTX 1080 Ti OC 11 GB ROG STRIX, 1 Power Supply Corsair 750 W.
User avatar
merid888
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 697
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Location: Merida

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.04 - 6.17

Postby paride4331 » Mon May 13, 2019 9:25 am

paride4331 Mon May 13, 2019 9:25 am
Elden wrote:And adding to that. If I isolate an object with the live viewer open, and then bring back the whole scene - it still only renders the previously isolated object. Again, the only solution for me when Octane is in that mood - is to restart Max. Crazy...


Hi Elden,
I tested your issue and sent to developers.
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2973
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.04 - 6.17

Postby paride4331 » Mon May 13, 2019 9:28 am

paride4331 Mon May 13, 2019 9:28 am
merid888 wrote:error with the version 6.17. i see the map im the view of 3ds max but i can't see into octanerender viewport
someone can help me ?
thank you octanrender team


Hi merid888,
it's difficult to say off the top of my head.
could you share that material making a 3dsmax archive?
Regards
Paride
2 x Evga Titan X Hybrid / 3 x Evga RTX 2070 super Hybrid
User avatar
paride4331
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 2973
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 7:19 am

Re: OctaneRender® for 3ds max® v4.04 - 6.17

Postby coilbook » Thu May 16, 2019 1:51 am

coilbook Thu May 16, 2019 1:51 am
Hi Paride,
what does this error mean?
Camera 1 rendered sequence fine this is another camera angle and after rendering frame 1, octane processes frame to and then render fails right before frame two is about to render.
out of core is not unloading properly?

Thanks

UPDATE: restart fixed it but I noticed if a frame one uses almost all of the vram and frame two needs to use out of core because phoenix is added or a larger animated texture, octane crashes with no memory error instead of using CPU ram. Hopefully they can fix it.
Attachments
cuda.jpg
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2609
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Mon Jun 01, 2020 11:31 pm [ UTC ]