Refractive Software® announces OctaneRender® for 3ds max®

Forums: Refractive Software® announces OctaneRender® for 3ds max®
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Re: Refractive Software® announces OctaneRender® for 3ds max®

Postby radiance » Wed Jan 04, 2012 10:15 pm

radiance Wed Jan 04, 2012 10:15 pm
seujose wrote:Hello, everyone. Render to texture is available in this plugin?
Thanks


Hi,

No, baking/rendering to textures currently not supported.

Octane is a physically based/unbiased engine.
Baking to textures (eg lightmapping) only involves baking diffuse onto a UV map texture.

Octane and any other unbiased renderer are not designed for this purpose so you should investigate a good lightmapper software instead, or use the internal max one. it makes no difference in quality between max/octane as it's just diffuse reflection that's baked (non-directional)

Octane's philosophy is to render unbiased frames with no precomputed or baked items fast, so the artist does'nt need to waste time on baking and such things prior to rendering to save precious time :)

Unbiased engines in animation pipelines work differently and can make the life of the artist a lot easier if used correctly.
many new smaller and medium sided animation companies are starting to use unbiased engines for animations and are developing new workflows, which make the artist's time 3-4x less to get the same or even better looking result.
Octane then adds to this as it makes unbiased animation rendering possible by using the speed of a GPU instead :)

Yours,
Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Refractive Software® announces OctaneRender® for 3ds max®

Postby afzznana » Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:30 pm

afzznana Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:30 pm
Faizol wrote:
afzznana wrote:Hello Radiance,

If I buy this one(1) license OctaneRender® for 3ds max® and I wanna to install two(2) computer besides my home & my work at office. Means firstly I work at my office an will continue my work at home (after i shutdown computer @office) is it acceptable?

Thanks.


Hi, I'm a registered user and I'll try to answer this for you. You can always deactivate your office license and activate your home license after your office hour (and vice versa during your office hours), so your home computer(s) must be connected to the net to do that.

Hope that helps.
afzznana
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2011 11:26 pm

Re: Refractive Software® announces OctaneRender® for 3ds max®

Postby Sergei » Thu Jan 12, 2012 5:44 pm

Sergei Thu Jan 12, 2012 5:44 pm
Hello!
I want to render on 2 or 3 computers. What license do i need for 3d max and standalone Octane?
Can i use one octane license for 3d max 2011 and 2012 version?
Last edited by Sergei on Thu Jan 12, 2012 6:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Sergei
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 1:04 pm

Re: Refractive Software® announces OctaneRender® for 3ds max®

Postby viper_0711 » Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:26 pm

viper_0711 Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:26 pm
given the max plugin looks so promising
Maya plugin once done, you will kick the whole industry!
im a maya user and i can't wait to see maya plugin released, hopefully within next 1-2 month? early beta trials are welcome!
really promising product
viper_0711
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 4:24 pm

Re: Refractive Software® announces OctaneRender® for 3ds max®

Postby t_3 » Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:42 pm

t_3 Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:42 pm
Sergei wrote:Hello!
I want to render on 2 or 3 computers. What license do i need for 3d max and standalone Octane?
Can i use one octane license for 3d max 2011 and 2012 version?

hi...

if you want to render on 2 or 3 computers simultaneous, you need 2 or 3 licenses. in order to use the max plugin, you always need the standalone license too, so you will need 2 or 3 combo packs (standalone + max plugin) for 2 or 3 computers (given, that you want to use your max projects on all computers).

the max plugin supports max 2010, 2011 and 2012 and the license is not bound to a specific version, so you may use whatever max version you have - the version selector in the online shop is only meant to gather statistics about the versions people use...
The obvious is that which is never seen until someone expresses it simply

1x i7 2600K @5.0 (Asrock Z77), 16GB, 2x Asus GTX Titan 6GB @1200/3100/6200
2x i7 2600K @4.5 (P8Z68 -V P), 12GB, 1x EVGA GTX 580 3GB @0900/2200/4400
User avatar
t_3
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 5:37 pm

Re: Refractive Software® announces OctaneRender® for 3ds max®

Postby Sergei » Fri Jan 13, 2012 4:35 am

Sergei Fri Jan 13, 2012 4:35 am
t_3 many thanks.
t_3 what power supply do you use for double video cards?
Whether to work on one computer are two different video cards?
Sergei
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 1:04 pm

Re: Refractive Software® announces OctaneRender® for 3ds max®

Postby t_3 » Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:33 pm

t_3 Fri Jan 13, 2012 12:33 pm
Sergei wrote:t_3 many thanks.
t_3 what power supply do you use for double video cards?
Whether to work on one computer are two different video cards?

i use an enermax revolution85+ with 1020 watts. having oc'ed the 580s (and also the cpu), and want to work while having octane rendering in the background i wanted to be on the save side. haven't got any problems so far.

if you meant if it is ok to mix different cards in one computer, that should be no problem if all the cards support the same (preferably latest) cuda version - true for at least all gtx 4xx and gtx 5xx cards...
The obvious is that which is never seen until someone expresses it simply

1x i7 2600K @5.0 (Asrock Z77), 16GB, 2x Asus GTX Titan 6GB @1200/3100/6200
2x i7 2600K @4.5 (P8Z68 -V P), 12GB, 1x EVGA GTX 580 3GB @0900/2200/4400
User avatar
t_3
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 5:37 pm

Re: Refractive Software® announces OctaneRender® for 3ds max®

Postby Sergei » Sat Jan 14, 2012 2:44 am

Sergei Sat Jan 14, 2012 2:44 am
Hello
I bought a license for octane stand alone and 3dmax plugin. But I have not received letters.
I see OctaneLive Username and password, but were can i download files?
Sure whether the computer whith octane render should be connected to the Internet?
Sergei
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 1:04 pm

Re: Refractive Software® announces OctaneRender® for 3ds max®

Postby t_3 » Sat Jan 14, 2012 7:28 am

t_3 Sat Jan 14, 2012 7:28 am
Sergei wrote:Hello
I bought a license for octane stand alone and 3dmax plugin. But I have not received letters.
I see OctaneLive Username and password, but were can i download files?
Sure whether the computer whith octane render should be connected to the Internet?

hi - nice to have you on board :)

please read through this topic, i think it covered most possible misses through the process:
viewtopic.php?f=25&t=10050&p=70223

if you're still lost, just tell me, and i'll see what i can do...
The obvious is that which is never seen until someone expresses it simply

1x i7 2600K @5.0 (Asrock Z77), 16GB, 2x Asus GTX Titan 6GB @1200/3100/6200
2x i7 2600K @4.5 (P8Z68 -V P), 12GB, 1x EVGA GTX 580 3GB @0900/2200/4400
User avatar
t_3
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 5:37 pm

Re: Refractive Software® announces OctaneRender® for 3ds max®

Postby cgp » Sat Feb 04, 2012 3:29 am

cgp Sat Feb 04, 2012 3:29 am
I purchased a bundle of 3ds max plugin and octane standalone license a few hours ago.
Please let me know when I can download it.
cgp
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 11:40 pm
PreviousNext

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

Tue Jul 07, 2020 8:36 am [ UTC ]