OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Forums: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby zoppo » Thu May 02, 2019 2:51 pm

zoppo Thu May 02, 2019 2:51 pm
bepeg4d wrote:... and also use c4doctane on one machine, since C4D is not included in the All Access annual maintenance bundle.


Err - what? ALL ACCESS but no access to the C4D plugin?

I have 4 Standalone licenses and 1 C4D plugin license, all V4.
So if I upgrade now I to "OctaneRender® Enterprise All-Access Annual Extension" I lose my C4D license for v2018 and v2019?

How is that supposed to work?
C4D 20 MSA | Win10
User avatar
zoppo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 10:37 am
Location: München

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby keviny » Thu May 02, 2019 6:00 pm

keviny Thu May 02, 2019 6:00 pm
zoppo wrote:
bepeg4d wrote:... and also use c4doctane on one machine, since C4D is not included in the All Access annual maintenance bundle.


Err - what? ALL ACCESS but no access to the C4D plugin?

I have 4 Standalone licenses and 1 C4D plugin license, all V4.
So if I upgrade now I to "OctaneRender® Enterprise All-Access Annual Extension" I lose my C4D license for v2018 and v2019?

How is that supposed to work?


C4D isn't included in all-access but if C4D is your primary plugin that you own a license for (which you do) then you're covered. You won't lose your C4D plugin license, that's for sure.
keviny
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 2:01 am

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby Goldorak » Thu May 02, 2019 6:04 pm

Goldorak Thu May 02, 2019 6:04 pm
zoppo wrote:
Err - what? ALL ACCESS but no access to the C4D plugin?

I have 4 Standalone licenses and 1 C4D plugin license, all V4.
So if I upgrade now I to "OctaneRender® Enterprise All-Access Annual Extension" I lose my C4D license for v2018 and v2019?

How is that supposed to work?


Since you already own C4D, you are fully covered for the 2018/2019 releases for C4D with your annual Enterprise maintenance. You don't need to get C4D via an extra AA plug-in bundle. Furthermore, when we add the optional perpetual licence sidegrade for the final 2019 release (still being worked on but expected to be about 350 euros for AA Ent.users), you would also get C4D Octane 2019 plug-in covered perpetually since you bought it outright to begin with.
User avatar
Goldorak
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1917
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:09 pm

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby MyRho » Sat May 04, 2019 10:26 am

MyRho Sat May 04, 2019 10:26 am
So now I'm a little bit confused now.
I'm using a regular license for Octane standalone, a plugin-license for DAZ-studio, Poser and´Archicad (which I don't use at all)
If I want to use octane 2018 standalone and DAZ I have to pay extra for those? What will it cost?
I don't like to pay per month or per year for a software so is it possible just to upgrade to octane 2018 and use my licenses?
Will there be support for the versions I'm using at the moment? How long will there be updates and patches?
Intel Core i7 3960X, X79A-GD65 (8D) (MS-7760), 32 GB DDR3-SDRAM G.Skill,
MSI nVidia GeForce GTX 770 4GB TwinFrozr, Windows 8.1 Pro 64-Bit.

Nihil sum sine sole.
User avatar
MyRho
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 6:49 am
Location: Hamburg

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby bepeg4d » Mon May 06, 2019 6:08 am

bepeg4d Mon May 06, 2019 6:08 am
Hi MyRho,
you only need to purchase one All Access annual maintenance bundle for one year (199$), or two years (399$) for Standalone and one plugin of your choice.
In this way you will be able to:
  • - access to multiple DCC plugins from OctaneRender Studio including Maya, AutoCAD, Revit, Houdini, Blender, 3ds Max, DAZ, Poser, ArchiCAD, Modo, After Effects, Nuke, Unity, and soon, Unreal Engine. (only C4D is not included)
  • - have a secondary render slave node for Network rendering, , plus access to the ORC cloud rendering service.
  • - get continuous access to all future updates and new features beyond OctaneRender 4, including NVLink (available in Octane 2018.1 - XB1) and full Vulkan-RTX hardware acceleration on Turing GPUs coming in Octane 2019.

ciao Beppe
User avatar
bepeg4d
Octane Guru
Octane Guru
 
Posts: 6510
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:02 am
Location: Italy

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby funk » Mon May 06, 2019 9:10 am

funk Mon May 06, 2019 9:10 am
Why isn't C4D included?

The shop page states:
"Provides 'all you can eat' access to complete set of OctaneRender Studio DCC plugins "
https://home.otoy.com/render/octane-render/purchase/

Since you have to pick a "main" dcc for the license, what happens if you picked c4d? Would you still get access to all other plugins?

And if you dont know about this and pick another plugin instead, would you be penalized and miss out on c4d, even though all combos are the same price?

This is confusing.

c4d_all_access_confusion.jpg
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 12
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby FrankPooleFloating » Mon May 06, 2019 1:20 pm

FrankPooleFloating Mon May 06, 2019 1:20 pm
Should be:

Almost All You Can Eat...

or

All You Can Eat*...
Win10Pro || GA-X99-SOC-Champion || i7 5820k w/ H60 || 32GB DDR4 || 3x EVGA 980Ti Hybrid || EVGA Supernova G2 1300W || Tt Core X9 || Blender Plug || LightWave Plug
User avatar
FrankPooleFloating
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1650
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 3:48 pm

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby MyRho » Mon May 06, 2019 9:20 pm

MyRho Mon May 06, 2019 9:20 pm
bepeg4d wrote:Hi MyRho,
you only need to purchase one All Access annual maintenance bundle for one year (199$), or two years (399$) for Standalone and one plugin of your choice.
ciao Beppe


Sorry. I think that's not ok for me so maybe it's better to leave octane and get some other renderer.
I don't want to buy a software for one or two years.
And you didn't tell anything about the support and patches for the ones who don't want to buy a new software.
WILL there be updates? (at the moment I'm on octane 4.04 standalone, same for DAZ-plugin)

Mathias
Intel Core i7 3960X, X79A-GD65 (8D) (MS-7760), 32 GB DDR3-SDRAM G.Skill,
MSI nVidia GeForce GTX 770 4GB TwinFrozr, Windows 8.1 Pro 64-Bit.

Nihil sum sine sole.
User avatar
MyRho
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 6:49 am
Location: Hamburg

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby Joss » Mon May 06, 2019 10:45 pm

Joss Mon May 06, 2019 10:45 pm
You know, I'm going to insert my 2 cents as well:
This account joined these forums almost 10 years ago.
I own standalone and maya/houdini plug-ins.
I've upgraded twice in that time, and honestly, the product was never delivered.
Half-alpha, half-beta full of glitches is not a software.

Taking into account dev team basically ignoring any requests about changelogs,
about download area, about general design of plug-ins and stuff like that,
and it's still in the state of beta, I'd stay away from it for couple of years at least.
Pity it's ended up with cutting off all the clients who paid for years of development this way.
Cheers.

PS: It's more and more reminding me the story of Maxwell, Fryrender, etc.
Freelance CG TD, developer.
User avatar
Joss
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 12:15 pm

Re: OctaneRender 4 / All Access - Update FAQ

Postby Daluz » Fri May 17, 2019 8:08 pm

Daluz Fri May 17, 2019 8:08 pm
And what does the "Use of the software is available only while online, connected via the internet to the OctaneRender licensing server" means?
I have to be online during all the renders?
Daluz
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 10:15 pm
PreviousNext

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sat Jul 20, 2019 9:21 am [ UTC ]