OctaneBench

Forums: OctaneBench
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Re: OctaneBench

Postby abstrax » Wed Mar 11, 2015 11:05 pm

abstrax Wed Mar 11, 2015 11:05 pm
nuno1980 wrote:GTX 980 is faster than my videocard at PMC kernel!?????? But wrong because attention: GTX 980 has non-reference speeds...

Yes, it's faster in PMC. The reference 980 results come from a regular clocked 980, but using a manual fan curve with EVGA Precision to keep the GPU cooler in trade of more noise. I used this fan curve:
fan_curve.png
fan_curve.png (4.35 KiB) Viewed 4774 times
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneBench

Postby nuno1980 » Wed Mar 11, 2015 11:37 pm

nuno1980 Wed Mar 11, 2015 11:37 pm
abstrax wrote:Yes, it's faster in PMC. The reference 980 results come from a regular clocked 980, but using a manual fan curve with EVGA Precision to keep the GPU cooler in trade of more noise.
Ok. Weird because...
--> octane benchmark v1.0 at PMC kernel running OR 2.17 demo:
My GTX 780 Ti Classified - 5.05 MS/s
GTX 980 ("DayDreamer" user) - 3.5~3.6 MS/s
My card is faster than GTX 980. But...

--> New octanebench, My card is a bit slower than GTX 980 - wtf!?
NOTE: I'm sorry for bad english due to mute ;)

[email protected]
16GB [email protected]
ASUS Z97-Pro Gamer
EVGA GF GTX 980 Ti SC+ 2.0 :D
SSD OCZ RD400 0.5TB
HDDs 1TB SATA2 and 3TB SATA3.
LG BD-RE BH16NS40
PSU 1 kW
CRT monitor 17"
nuno1980
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 10:04 pm

Re: OctaneBench

Postby abstrax » Wed Mar 11, 2015 11:58 pm

abstrax Wed Mar 11, 2015 11:58 pm
nuno1980 wrote:
abstrax wrote:Yes, it's faster in PMC. The reference 980 results come from a regular clocked 980, but using a manual fan curve with EVGA Precision to keep the GPU cooler in trade of more noise.
Ok. Weird because...
--> octane benchmark v1.0 at PMC kernel running OR 2.17 demo:
My GTX 780 Ti Classified - 5.05 MS/s
GTX 980 ("DayDreamer" user) - 3.5~3.6 MS/s
My card is faster than GTX 980. But...

--> New octanebench, My card is a bit slower than GTX 980 - wtf!?

I get higher Ms with the old scene (what were your kernel settings?).

Anyway, the old trench scene was never really well suited for benchmarking because it was super simple compared to any normal scene (only one mesh of a few thousand triangles and one material...). Even the benchmark scenes used by OctaneBench are still very simple compared to actual production scenes.

-> With OctaneBench we hope to have things a bit more comparable to real scenes.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneBench

Postby nuno1980 » Thu Mar 12, 2015 12:26 am

nuno1980 Thu Mar 12, 2015 12:26 am
abstrax wrote:I get higher Ms with the old scene (what were your kernel settings?).
Click a node "RenderTarget PMC" as default settings. ;)

Anyway, the old trench scene was never really well suited for benchmarking because it was super simple compared to any normal scene (only one mesh of a few thousand triangles and one material...). Even the benchmark scenes used by OctaneBench are still very simple compared to actual production scenes.

-> With OctaneBench we hope to have things a bit more comparable to real scenes.
Ok. :)
NOTE: I'm sorry for bad english due to mute ;)

[email protected]
16GB [email protected]
ASUS Z97-Pro Gamer
EVGA GF GTX 980 Ti SC+ 2.0 :D
SSD OCZ RD400 0.5TB
HDDs 1TB SATA2 and 3TB SATA3.
LG BD-RE BH16NS40
PSU 1 kW
CRT monitor 17"
nuno1980
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 10:04 pm

Re: OctaneBench

Postby abstrax » Thu Mar 12, 2015 12:39 am

abstrax Thu Mar 12, 2015 12:39 am
nuno1980 wrote:Click a node "RenderTarget PMC" as default settings. ;)

I assume you were using the trench scenes of the 1.20 demo scenes. There I get 4.02 Ms/s with alpha shadows enabled and 4.62 Ms/s with alpha shadows disabled on a GTX 980 in the 2.17 demo.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneBench

Postby nuno1980 » Thu Mar 12, 2015 1:04 am

nuno1980 Thu Mar 12, 2015 1:04 am
abstrax wrote:I assume you were using the trench scenes of the 1.20 demo scenes. There I get 4.02 Ms/s with alpha shadows enabled and 4.62 Ms/s with alpha shadows disabled on a GTX 980 in the 2.17 demo.
Ok, I have scenes demo v1.20.

I got:
alpha shadows enabled 5.05 MS/s
alpha shadows disabled 5.81 MS/s
:)

Has your GTX 980 reference or OC edition? Do you use stock or do overclock for GPU?
NOTE: I'm sorry for bad english due to mute ;)

[email protected]
16GB [email protected]
ASUS Z97-Pro Gamer
EVGA GF GTX 980 Ti SC+ 2.0 :D
SSD OCZ RD400 0.5TB
HDDs 1TB SATA2 and 3TB SATA3.
LG BD-RE BH16NS40
PSU 1 kW
CRT monitor 17"
nuno1980
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 10:04 pm

Re: OctaneBench

Postby abstrax » Thu Mar 12, 2015 1:10 am

abstrax Thu Mar 12, 2015 1:10 am
nuno1980 wrote:Ok, I have scenes demo v1.20.

I got:
alpha shadows enabled 5.05 MS/s
alpha shadows disabled 5.81 MS/s
:)

Has your GTX 980 reference or OC edition? Do you use stock or do overclock for GPU?

It's a reference build from EVGA I think with stock clock. We never overclock here in the office.

All that proves is how useless the old benchmark scene is.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneBench

Postby riggles » Thu Mar 12, 2015 2:15 am

riggles Thu Mar 12, 2015 2:15 am
abstrax wrote:Tim fixed a bunch of issues with the results page. Could you have a look and tell us if that's better now?

Yes it is improved. Getting rid of the pagination helps a lot. And now the "single GPU only" preference persists between filtering modes. Thank you. I'm sure the Titan Z thing will take a bit more time to settle and implement.
riggles
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 493
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:34 pm
Location: CT, USA

Re: OctaneBench

Postby abstrax » Thu Mar 12, 2015 2:36 am

abstrax Thu Mar 12, 2015 2:36 am
riggles wrote:
abstrax wrote:Tim fixed a bunch of issues with the results page. Could you have a look and tell us if that's better now?

Yes it is improved. Getting rid of the pagination helps a lot. And now the "single GPU only" preference persists between filtering modes. Thank you. I'm sure the Titan Z thing will take a bit more time to settle and implement.

Currently, we don't want to change it, because it's always not 100% clear to the user what "1x Titan Z" means. Octane internally deals with GPUs and doesn't care if they are on the same board or not. So, a user who works with Octane and sees "1x Titan Z", will still scratch his/her head and wonder if that means that it's the result of a Titan Z video card or Titan Z GPU.

What we've done is explicitly mentioning multi-GPU video cards in the text above the result list.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneBench

Postby smicha » Thu Mar 12, 2015 7:06 am

smicha Thu Mar 12, 2015 7:06 am
Marcus,

Could you please add for dual gpu cards a simple explanation in the form

4x GeForce GTX TITAN Z (2 cards) 1 result
3x GeForce GTX TITAN Z (1.5 card) 1 result
2x GeForce GTX TITAN Z (1 card) 1 result
1x GeForce GTX TITAN Z (0.5 card) 1 result

This would be very handy.
Win7, Modo 10.1, Octane for Modo and Sketchup, nVidia latest, TITAN+3x780 6GB, 2600K, P8P67WS, 32GB, 1350W
SMH10, EK, Airplex_480, SR1_560, 20xNB_PL2, 2xD5, Aquaero 6XT
build-log http://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=42540
User avatar
smicha
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:13 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland
PreviousNext

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests

Wed Oct 21, 2020 11:16 am [ UTC ]