NEW: You asked, we delivered: OTOY releases OctaneRender™ 2 with a dozen new features by community request

Forums: NEW: You asked, we delivered: OTOY releases OctaneRender™ 2 with a dozen new features by community request
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Re: NEW: You asked, we delivered: OTOY releases OctaneRender™ 2 with a dozen new features by community request

Postby aoktar » Thu Jun 12, 2014 5:05 am

aoktar Thu Jun 12, 2014 5:05 am
00Ghz wrote:I didn't say I like it or I didn't like it. Anyhow things would be nicer if people used anything else as justification apart from like/dislike + money.

Anyhow if speed for now is up to 50% down, then when other features get added in guess what will happen? I guess V3 will be released next year with even more stuff.

speed down is not %50. Max is %10-20 in C4D plugin.
Octane For Cinema 4D developer / 3d generalist

3930k / 16gb / 780ti + 1070/1080 / psu 1600w / numerous hw
User avatar
aoktar
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13587
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 8:28 pm
Location: Türkiye

Re: NEW: You asked, we delivered: OTOY releases OctaneRender™ 2 with a dozen new features by community request

Postby whersmy » Thu Jun 12, 2014 5:19 am

whersmy Thu Jun 12, 2014 5:19 am
I still don`t get the slow down. 2x 590`s

benchmark 1.16 - 12.01
benchmark 2.0 demo - 11.89

That`s not even noticable. Only the index seems a bit off on demo v2, but that started after 1.18
mac pro g5| pentium g2030 iGPU| maximus extreme V| 2x gtx590 - 8gb - SSD - win7-x64- 1500W Silverstone|
x201t - gtx580 - egpu ec
Dell G5 - 8GB - dgpu GTX1060 - TB3 egpu @ GTX1060
Octane Render experiments
User avatar
whersmy
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 608
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 7:40 am

Re: NEW: You asked, we delivered: OTOY releases OctaneRender™ 2 with a dozen new features by community request

Postby 00Ghz » Thu Jun 12, 2014 5:27 am

00Ghz Thu Jun 12, 2014 5:27 am
Ok. So there is a lot of debate that could go on here about speed.

So I think the users who reported 50% slow down should provide the file and the same for the users with 15-20 or very small slowdown. Then we can test which is causing it exactly.

Is it geometry? Image Textures? Complex materials? etc.
HDRI Editor for Blender : Your own HDRI Studio at an affordable price.

https://gum.co/HDRIEditor
User avatar
00Ghz
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 6:54 am
Location: Denmark

Re: NEW: You asked, we delivered: OTOY releases OctaneRender™ 2 with a dozen new features by community request

Postby 312112_80 » Thu Jun 12, 2014 5:38 am

312112_80 Thu Jun 12, 2014 5:38 am
00Ghz wrote:I didn't say I like it or I didn't like it. Anyhow things would be nicer if people used anything else as justification apart from like/dislike + money.

Anyhow if speed for now is up to 50% down, then when other features get added in guess what will happen? I guess V3 will be released next year with even more stuff.



Why do you say that the speed under 50% I think it is very exaggerated, but then have your reasons. Might share with us how you came to such conclusion, thanks!
User avatar
312112_80
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 4:18 am
Location: Bogotá Colombia

Re: NEW: You asked, we delivered: OTOY releases OctaneRender™ 2 with a dozen new features by community request

Postby 00Ghz » Thu Jun 12, 2014 5:53 am

00Ghz Thu Jun 12, 2014 5:53 am
Just read this thread and you will see some people reported 50%. :)
HDRI Editor for Blender : Your own HDRI Studio at an affordable price.

https://gum.co/HDRIEditor
User avatar
00Ghz
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 6:54 am
Location: Denmark

Re: NEW: You asked, we delivered: OTOY releases OctaneRender™ 2 with a dozen new features by community request

Postby rund » Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:27 am

rund Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:27 am
A bit off topic, but since it's in my area of interest, has anyone seen this article about Gensler (the largest architectural firm in the US) which is using Octane with Revit?

Hyper-speed rendering: How Gensler turns BIM models into beauty shots in seconds

Seven seconds. That is all it took for Gensler’s Mark Bassett to generate a geometrically accurate, photorealistic rendering from one of the firm’s Revit models. The colors popped. The lighting and shading were spot on. The materials, finishes, fixtures, and furnishings were precisely represented. There was no need for touch-ups using Photoshop, or tweaks in 3ds Max. Just a few clicks of the mouse and voilà!—a professional-level 3D rendering appeared on Bassett’s monitor.


That's just fantastic and a testament to the power and production proofness of Octane!
Last edited by rund on Thu Jun 12, 2014 7:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
rund
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 1:45 am

Re: NEW: You asked, we delivered: OTOY releases OctaneRender™ 2 with a dozen new features by community request

Postby jbsfender » Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:54 am

jbsfender Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:54 am
Great article! Even if there is a tiny slow down (Which I have not noticed) it's still way faster than all CPU renderers!
jbsfender
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed May 30, 2012 9:59 pm

Re: new features by community request

Postby MattRM » Thu Jun 12, 2014 9:51 am

MattRM Thu Jun 12, 2014 9:51 am
aLeXXtoR wrote:
MattRM wrote:Just a little question, I tried export curves for fur without success, Are you tried the fur for octane 2.0 from blender plugins ?

No, I didn't try hair yet, but soon I will.

alien wrote:But people invest time in a product as well & have to keep up with time / technology.
If that is the case V2 is slower then V1.5 then price should be decreased not increased.
THE WHOLE POINT OF OCTANCE RENDER WAS SPEED.

Man, truly they owe you nothing — it was our choice (yours, mine, all others) to invest our time and money to this product. We're not stockholders, OTOY investors etc. We're just buying it as is (and hope that it will get better — and it gets for me). Or we not. That simple. Peace. :)


Hi aLexxtoR,

I tried convert hair to polygon after to curves and export with alembic exporter from octane, not worked... snifff... Just need to wait the alembic update for blender that convert hair to curves for Octane 2.0. FOR DEV, like JimStar :D Convert directly hair to curves or use the Cycles base, for 2500 hairs (smooth curves based on spline hair), one hour to have curves generated :lol: .

Matt
MattRM
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:06 pm
Location: Luxembourg

Re: NEW: You asked, we delivered: OTOY releases OctaneRender™ 2 with a dozen new features by community request

Postby gordonrobb » Thu Jun 12, 2014 10:19 am

gordonrobb Thu Jun 12, 2014 10:19 am
I did some investigatino of my own, and it's by now means as simple as V2 is slower.

Tried these at 1000 samples. First one DL second PT

The following scene was quite a bit faster

d9.png


1:10 instead of 1:30 - a saving of 20 seconds. (which I make 22% faster.)

But this one (lots of polys and textures) was slower, but did seem to look better quicker.

Bellflower.png


It was 1:18, instead of 1:05 - a cost of 13 seconds - not a lot (but I do make 20% slower). Neither of these were optimised (in terms of samples) to get to what I consider acceptable, I just picked 1000 samples. My view is V2 would need less samples to look good, but I haven't tested that extensively.
Windows 8 Pro | i7 3770 OC | 32 GB Ram | Single Titan (plus Black Edition on Order) | Octane Lightwave |
gordonrobb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1245
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:08 am

Re: NEW: You asked, we delivered: OTOY releases OctaneRender™ 2 with a dozen new features by community request

Postby mclaird » Thu Jun 12, 2014 12:46 pm

mclaird Thu Jun 12, 2014 12:46 pm
Just bought my upgrade, but didnt saw the maya plugin on the upgrade window, where can I check if I got any voucher related to the free plugin upgrade in my account menu?
mclaird
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 1:49 pm
Location: Mexico
PreviousNext

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Marzipan and 6 guests

Fri Sep 25, 2020 11:25 am [ UTC ]