Octane Render Pre2.3 v4 (win/lin/mac) commercial released

Forums: Octane Render Pre2.3 v4 (win/lin/mac) commercial released
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Re: Octane Render Pre2.3 v4 (win/lin/mac) commercial released

Postby radiance » Sun Sep 19, 2010 9:22 pm

radiance Sun Sep 19, 2010 9:22 pm
filipe74 wrote:Hi people,
sorry for being picky about it but let me know if I got it right:

Buying the 1.0 license on offer via the the form will entitle me to get the link for the latest, let's say Pre2.3 v4, straight
in my mailbox, right?

Having seen the gallery made me "go for it". Besides, I have a 9800GT on my E8400, both kind of "forgoten", and tried the demos in benchmark mode. Well, that was awesome. Definitely not on par with the latest 400+ core beasts but a major step from a lame 8500GT :>.

I can only guess how the lucky of you must feel like when playing with SLI systems... :\

"Long live!"


yes ;)

and also the soon to come 2.3 v5 with rough glass, MUCH more speed and some other new toys ;)

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Octane Render Pre2.3 v4 (win/lin/mac) commercial released

Postby colorcurvature » Mon Sep 20, 2010 7:26 am

colorcurvature Mon Sep 20, 2010 7:26 am
i wanted to buy also, but i have this technical internet problem..
if the pc loses internet connection, for how long does octane continue to operate? is there any documentation yet on this internet thing one could read before buying?
colorcurvature
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 11:17 am

Re: Octane Render Pre2.3 v4 (win/lin/mac) commercial released

Postby Elvissuperstar007 » Mon Sep 20, 2010 6:04 pm

Elvissuperstar007 Mon Sep 20, 2010 6:04 pm
buy and do not think, do feel sorry for 99 euro, it has paid off in 15 minutes
win 7 /64x C2Quad 6600 2.4/ Nvidia 9800 GX2 1gb 512 bit + Asus 480 GTX/ DDR2 8Gb / NVIDIA 460 GTX 2GB/2x NVIDIA 580 GTX 3GB
Page octane render " В Контакте " http://vkontakte.ru/club17913093
User avatar
Elvissuperstar007
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2350
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 8:20 am
Location: Ukraine/Russia

Re: Octane Render Pre2.3 v4 (win/lin/mac) commercial released

Postby mib2berlin » Mon Sep 20, 2010 6:27 pm

mib2berlin Mon Sep 20, 2010 6:27 pm
@colorcurvature, you need internet connection to activate your license and if you like to use the online database for materials and textures.
If you loose the connection during a render process, nothing happens.

I break my internet connection during working with octane and had no problems.

Cheers mib
Opensuse Leap 42.3/64 i5-3570K 16 GB
GTX 760 4 GB Driver: 430.31
Octane 3.08 Blender Octane
mib2berlin
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1194
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 7:18 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Octane Render Pre2.3 v4 (win/lin/mac) commercial released

Postby colorcurvature » Tue Sep 21, 2010 9:20 am

colorcurvature Tue Sep 21, 2010 9:20 am
i understood that internet is permanently needed, not only for activation.
would love to read about the details. how long will it operate if it cannot call home, which ip/port must be opened in the outgoing firewall, can it go through a proxy, which protocol does it need, is it ok if the proxy has a load balancer with different ips involved ... :-)
colorcurvature
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 11:17 am

Re: Octane Render Pre2.3 v4 (win/lin/mac) commercial released

Postby Nostromo » Tue Sep 21, 2010 1:04 pm

Nostromo Tue Sep 21, 2010 1:04 pm
in rough lines. you need the connection to be able to start rendering, get material from the liveDB and unlock the machine if you want to use octane on another one.

It's https based (port 443) but it won't support proxy (for security reasons)

Regards.
User avatar
Nostromo
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 5:13 pm
Location: Brussels

Re: Octane Render Pre2.3 v4 (win/lin/mac) commercial released

Postby filipe74 » Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:36 am

filipe74 Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:36 am
radiance wrote:
filipe74 wrote:Hi people,
sorry for being picky about it but let me know if I got it right:

Buying the 1.0 license on offer via the the form will entitle me to get the link for the latest, let's say Pre2.3 v4, straight
in my mailbox, right?

Having seen the gallery made me "go for it". Besides, I have a 9800GT on my E8400, both kind of "forgoten", and tried the demos in benchmark mode. Well, that was awesome. Definitely not on par with the latest 400+ core beasts but a major step from a lame 8500GT :>.

I can only guess how the lucky of you must feel like when playing with SLI systems... :\

"Long live!"


yes ;)

and also the soon to come 2.3 v5 with rough glass, MUCH more speed and some other new toys ;)

Radiance


Looks like you got yourselves a brand new customer ;)

Transaction ID: 3PC46352G4502923N Placed on Sep 22, 2010
Item Options Quantity Amount
Octane Render v1.0 Beta License 1 €99.00
Subtotal: €99.00 EUR
Total Amount: €99.00 EUR

Waiting for my license... :> :> :>
filipe74
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 1:22 pm

Re: Octane Render Pre2.3 v4 (win/lin/mac) commercial released

Postby radiance » Thu Sep 23, 2010 9:06 am

radiance Thu Sep 23, 2010 9:06 am
Hey,

Sorry but we're flooded with media/press at this time, so sorry for any inconviences with orderings, but we're processing them as as fast as we can.

Yours,
Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Octane Render Pre2.3 v4 (win/lin/mac) commercial released

Postby pamana » Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:45 am

pamana Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:45 am
mib2berlin wrote:@colorcurvature, you need internet connection to activate your license and if you like to use the online database for materials and textures.
If you loose the connection during a render process, nothing happens.

I break my internet connection during working with octane and had no problems.

Cheers mib


Quick, yet noobish, Query for laptop users: If I connect via internet and octane running, then put Laptop to sleep and then open (with client watching over shoulder in another part of town with no connection), will it still operate?

Regards
Pamana
Win 7 | Ubuntu | x64 | Quadro FX 5800 | 16 GB
User avatar
pamana
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 11:48 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: Octane Render Pre2.3 v4 (win/lin/mac) commercial released

Postby radiance » Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:09 am

radiance Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:09 am
pamana wrote:
mib2berlin wrote:@colorcurvature, you need internet connection to activate your license and if you like to use the online database for materials and textures.
If you loose the connection during a render process, nothing happens.

I break my internet connection during working with octane and had no problems.

Cheers mib


Quick, yet noobish, Query for laptop users: If I connect via internet and octane running, then put Laptop to sleep and then open (with client watching over shoulder in another part of town with no connection), will it still operate?

Regards
Pamana


Yes, but some functionality won't be available (modifying preferences and using livedb content)

Yours,
Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm
PreviousNext

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

Tue Jul 07, 2020 8:44 am [ UTC ]