Announcing OctaneRender Cloud Edition

Forums: Announcing OctaneRender Cloud Edition
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Re: Announcing Octane Render Cloud Edition

Postby gristle » Tue Mar 26, 2013 8:03 pm

gristle Tue Mar 26, 2013 8:03 pm
As jmfowler touched on with the IES issue, will this service support 3rd party plugins, ie deformation plugins for Lightwave?

I've had issues with Rebus as well. I'm sure a fully automated render farm works well (when it is working well :)) but ended up using Farm render as they have someone looking after your renders.

Regarding some of the flat reactions to this service, the demo was a bit odd.... talking it up about the PI tiger then go on to demo hard surfaced transformers. Chalk and cheese.
Windows 7 64, 12 gig ram, Intel 920, 2 X 780, 1 X 980ti, 1 X 660.
http://ajdesignstudio.co.nz/
gristle
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:42 am
Location: Wellington

Re: Announcing Octane Render Cloud Edition

Postby mainframefx » Wed Mar 27, 2013 3:58 pm

mainframefx Wed Mar 27, 2013 3:58 pm
I'm pretty sure we will end up sending geometries and textures + shader settings to the renderfarm. So it should depend on the program and plugins used.
Also keep in mind that there is compression, an obj compressed with LZMA2 with an dictionary of 265MB gives you a file thats about 92-96% smaller. So the on the fly compression would speed up upload by more than 90%. Even a low end connection would be able to make use of this service.
[email protected],8GHz | 64GB RAM | 2x GTX 560 Ti 448 | Windows 7 x64 SP1
[email protected],2GHz | 32GB RAM | 1x GTX 560 Ti 448 | Windows 7 x64 SP1
[email protected],4GHz | 16GB RAM | 1x GTX 560 Ti 448| 1x Quadro 2000D | Windows 7 x64 SP1
User avatar
mainframefx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 1:52 pm

Re: NEW : Announcing Octane Render Cloud Edition

Postby AndreaMannori » Thu Mar 28, 2013 9:55 am

AndreaMannori Thu Mar 28, 2013 9:55 am
That's a cool new.
Let me understand if I must buy the product "Octane cloud edition" or it's a free plugin that let us to connect and pay-per-render. Maybe, there will be a new dedicated section integrated into the new release of Octane..!?
Thank you in advance!
Andrea Mannori

win 8.1 x64; nvidia 770M driver 340.52; octane standalone 2 + c4doctane 2.
AndreaMannori
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 8:25 am
Location: Bergamo

Re: NEW : Announcing Octane Render Cloud Edition

Postby mainframefx » Thu Mar 28, 2013 3:57 pm

mainframefx Thu Mar 28, 2013 3:57 pm
If its not already planned. I'd like to request a subscription plan for daily usage. Even with just one GPU it would be quite expensive with 1$ per GPU to use 8h per day.
[email protected],8GHz | 64GB RAM | 2x GTX 560 Ti 448 | Windows 7 x64 SP1
[email protected],2GHz | 32GB RAM | 1x GTX 560 Ti 448 | Windows 7 x64 SP1
[email protected],4GHz | 16GB RAM | 1x GTX 560 Ti 448| 1x Quadro 2000D | Windows 7 x64 SP1
User avatar
mainframefx
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 1:52 pm

Re: Announcing Octane Render Cloud Edition

Postby rappet » Fri Mar 29, 2013 5:55 pm

rappet Fri Mar 29, 2013 5:55 pm
Refracty wrote:
pixelrush wrote:@refracty
I read yesterday on the web that there is a Tesla k300? coming with 12 gb vram. Not sure Geforce will ever have that much but if there is a computational farm with these Teslas then they might welcome a bit of extra business to fill their idle time from Octane users via the Cloud Edition.


12GB VRam would be wonderful. A dual Titan with 2*6GB would be a nice thing, too.


How long will it take for the dual titan 2*6gB to be released :?:
I am eager to buy a titan now, but I rather wait for 4 months or so before buying a titan at all
and build a new machine for 4 dual titans :twisted:
... ofcourse the right job has to come to make investment possible and needed :P
Greetz,

Triple 2080ti & Quad 1080ti
[color=#8000BF]ArchiCAD22, ofcourse Octane & OR-ArchiCAD plugin (love it), C4D R18 (still no time 2 learn), Corel Draw

http://www.tapperworks.com
http://www.facebook.com/pages/TAPPERWORKS/287809851341126
http://www.youtube.com/user/Tapperworks/videos
User avatar
rappet
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1962
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:57 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: NEW : Announcing Octane Render Cloud Edition

Postby Refracty » Fri Mar 29, 2013 6:57 pm

Refracty Fri Mar 29, 2013 6:57 pm
I think something like a dual Titan will come in view months because of the current transistor size, but I don't think a dual Titan will have 2 x 6 GB.
I would expect it to have 2 x 3GB or 2 x 4GB maximum ...

3D Animation, Motion Design & CGI Köln
www.lichtblickstudio.com
User avatar
Refracty
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1583
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:42 pm
Location: 3D-Visualisierung Köln

Re: NEW : Announcing Octane Render Cloud Edition

Postby pixelrush » Fri Mar 29, 2013 8:20 pm

pixelrush Fri Mar 29, 2013 8:20 pm
I am not so sure you will see a dual Titan because the present card draws 250w. I think the upper limit for a single card is 300W (about what the GTX690 uses) including the power drawn through the mobo and extra connectors. Might be wrong but I think that's going to be the case ;)
i7-3820 @4.3Ghz | 24gb | Win7pro-64
GTS 250 display + 2 x GTX 780 cuda| driver 331.65
Octane v1.55
User avatar
pixelrush
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1618
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 7:11 pm
Location: Nelson, New Zealand

Re: NEW : Announcing Octane Render Cloud Edition

Postby prabhatM » Sat Mar 30, 2013 4:22 am

prabhatM Sat Mar 30, 2013 4:22 am
Octane Cloud Rendering is simply beautiful.
One small question. What do I need on my desktop to avail this service ?

Do I need huge bandwidth, like a 8MBPS DSL internet connection or something ? Can I use my regular desktop with no special GPU ? Do I need a special Plugin in my 3D software to avail this service?
prabhatM
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 6:04 pm

Re: NEW : Announcing Octane Render Cloud Edition

Postby pxlntwrk » Sun Mar 31, 2013 2:08 pm

pxlntwrk Sun Mar 31, 2013 2:08 pm
Do you have plans for releasing the Otoy cloud solution as a product in the future, letting people/companies setting up their own GPU clusters?
. :?: :?:
:::::::::::::::::
pxlntwrk.net
User avatar
pxlntwrk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 334
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 2:21 pm
Location: France

Re: NEW : Announcing Octane Render Cloud Edition

Postby emihich » Sun Apr 07, 2013 12:46 am

emihich Sun Apr 07, 2013 12:46 am
renderfarmsrl wrote:That's a cool new.
Let me understand if I must buy the product "Octane cloud edition" or it's a free plugin that let us to connect and pay-per-render. Maybe, there will be a new dedicated section integrated into the new release of Octane..!?
Thank you in advance!


I have the exact same doubt , because the Video shows a product , like a classical Hardware GPU Renderfarm,
When the Host says the price, many in the audience,had heart attacks ,I am sure despite the silence.
Myself , I was disapointed, and expecting a Service , that I could access both from my Octane Standalone or 3dsMax plugin.
but all they talk , in this forum, is How good is to have this service available, and maybe this symposium
for the Cloud Render release of Octane didn't have the average Octane user ,as target.
User avatar
emihich
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:42 pm
PreviousNext

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sun Dec 15, 2019 7:27 pm [ UTC ]