OctaneRender for Softimage Initial Overview

Forums: OctaneRender for Softimage Initial Overview
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Re: OctaneRender for Softimage Initial Overview

Postby face » Fri Feb 08, 2013 4:50 pm

face Fri Feb 08, 2013 4:50 pm
PeterCGS wrote:Looks like textures are working! :lol:

Not perfect...
I want to have an initial system where all materials/shaders of all visible meshes will created. Which is working now.
A second system should update the materials/shaders if hidden meshes are unhidden or some material/shaders are animated.
The same as in the preview, when you tweak the materials/shaders.

And that´s the problem on which im working now...

face
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: OctaneRender for Softimage Initial Overview

Postby face » Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:53 pm

face Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:53 pm
Here a quick animation of the scene, 500 frames, 32 samples, direct lightning.
Time from frame to next frame, around 10sec...

Many thanks again for PeterCGS to share the scene.

face

Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: OctaneRender for Softimage Initial Overview

Postby RayTracey » Sun Feb 10, 2013 9:07 pm

RayTracey Sun Feb 10, 2013 9:07 pm
Nice, the plug-in seems to be shaping up well :D
RayTracey
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 377
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender for Softimage Initial Overview

Postby wireframex » Mon Feb 11, 2013 8:08 pm

wireframex Mon Feb 11, 2013 8:08 pm
It's a little bit grainy but could you tell me the render time for each frame ?

I'm sure it's very fast ;)
Main Computer:
Ryzen 2990WX / 64Go Ram / 1 GTX 1070 8Gb (Display) + 2 GTX 1080 8GB
OS: Windows 10 x64 - NVidia Driver 431.60 - Octane Plugin Build 2019.1.0.1
Licensed: Softimage 2012 SP1 / Lightwave 2019.1.4 / modo 13.1
wireframex
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:36 pm
Location: Near Paris, France

Re: OctaneRender for Softimage Initial Overview

Postby face » Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:33 pm

face Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:33 pm
Around 10 seconds from frame to frame.
It was only a test with 32 samples cause some meshes have animated visibility.
I would know, if the meshes whiche are set to invisible are cleared and the new visible meshes and materials/shaders are created and set correct.

face
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: OctaneRender for Softimage Initial Overview

Postby PeterCGS » Mon Feb 11, 2013 10:08 pm

PeterCGS Mon Feb 11, 2013 10:08 pm
Just for comparison.. With the Soft2Octane exporter, it took me 36 seconds per frame just to export it out, and import/load textures in Octane :) Then I havent even started rendering!
Win7, i7 980 Hexacore, 24GB RAM, 3xEVGA SC 670 GTX 4GB
PeterCGS
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 2:36 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Softimage Initial Overview

Postby wireframex » Tue Feb 12, 2013 6:24 pm

wireframex Tue Feb 12, 2013 6:24 pm
face wrote:Around 10 seconds from frame to frame.
It was only a test with 32 samples cause some meshes have animated visibility.
I would know, if the meshes whiche are set to invisible are cleared and the new visible meshes and materials/shaders are created and set correct.

face


Wow can't wait to use it :)
Main Computer:
Ryzen 2990WX / 64Go Ram / 1 GTX 1070 8Gb (Display) + 2 GTX 1080 8GB
OS: Windows 10 x64 - NVidia Driver 431.60 - Octane Plugin Build 2019.1.0.1
Licensed: Softimage 2012 SP1 / Lightwave 2019.1.4 / modo 13.1
wireframex
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 4:36 pm
Location: Near Paris, France

Re: OctaneRender for Softimage Initial Overview

Postby face » Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:00 am

face Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:00 am
Have added a subpixel sampling for the preview window.
This should make the setup process for single GPU devices on critical scenes much better...

face

Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: OctaneRender for Softimage Initial Overview

Postby PeterCGS » Mon Feb 18, 2013 7:14 pm

PeterCGS Mon Feb 18, 2013 7:14 pm
Excellent! Will speedup the process of setting up lights by quite a bit :)
Win7, i7 980 Hexacore, 24GB RAM, 3xEVGA SC 670 GTX 4GB
PeterCGS
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 2:36 pm

Re: OctaneRender for Softimage Initial Overview

Postby face » Tue Feb 26, 2013 7:18 pm

face Tue Feb 26, 2013 7:18 pm
So guys,
now i have a 14day break from my work, time enough to complete the texture environment.

face
Win10 Pro, Driver 378.78, Softimage 2015SP2 & Octane 3.05 RC1,
64GB Ram, i7-6950X, GTX1080TI 11GB
http://vimeo.com/user2509578
User avatar
face
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 2:10 pm
Location: Germany
PreviousNext

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Fri Dec 13, 2019 2:34 am [ UTC ]