Octane Render at siggraph 2010

Forums: Octane Render at siggraph 2010
Read about News and Updates regarding Octane Render in this forum.
Forum rules
For new users: this forum is moderated. Your first post will appear only after it has been reviewed by a moderator, so it will not show up immediately.
This is necessary to avoid this forum being flooded by spam.

Re: Octane Render at siggraph 2010

Postby JackMcRip » Thu Jul 29, 2010 8:47 pm

JackMcRip Thu Jul 29, 2010 8:47 pm
Please tell us about it.
What the people thinking about octane ?
Many people interesting for ?

Some news for us ?
C4D + ZBrush User
Use AMD Phenom 9850, GeForce 8600 256MB, 8GB
JackMcRip
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 1:33 pm

Re: Octane Render at siggraph 2010

Postby havensole » Fri Jul 30, 2010 12:01 am

havensole Fri Jul 30, 2010 12:01 am
Well Siggraph is now officially over and here is how it went. I spent almost 5 hours talking without break the first morning. There is a lot of intrest in Octane from almost every aspect of the cg society. We had many visitors from big animation and sfx studios asking about possible integration with their software, what the status of octane was, and when 2.3 would be released. A few unamed render companies came by and left fearful and in awe. I made a lot of great contacts for growing octane and putting into real life production with big budgets. Other great and happy things happened.
There were a few worried about the new online segment, but no one was out right concerned by this move that I can remember off hand.
I am now sitting at a good hotel/bar that Ton from blender introduced me to, drinking a much needed beer and relaxing my overused, and now non working, voice while I wait for the LA traffic to die down before heading home. Let me know if anyone has specific questions about everything.
System 1: EVGA gtx470 1280Mb and MSI gtx470 1280 in Cubix Xpander for Octane, AMD 945, 4Gb Ram
All systems are at stock speeds and settings.
havensole
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 9:31 pm
Location: Rialto, CA USA

Re: Octane Render at siggraph 2010

Postby foxid » Fri Jul 30, 2010 6:50 am

foxid Fri Jul 30, 2010 6:50 am
Can u post some fotos or films from Siggraph with Octane? Its very interesting to look at how it was.
q6600 gtx275 4gbRAM Win 7x86
User avatar
foxid
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2010 7:07 pm

Re: Octane Render at siggraph 2010

Postby JackMcRip » Fri Jul 30, 2010 6:50 am

JackMcRip Fri Jul 30, 2010 6:50 am
I am happy about this.

Sounds good for the future of octane. 8-)
And better for the future of you ;)
C4D + ZBrush User
Use AMD Phenom 9850, GeForce 8600 256MB, 8GB
JackMcRip
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 1:33 pm

Re: Octane Render at siggraph 2010

Postby radiance » Fri Jul 30, 2010 9:17 am

radiance Fri Jul 30, 2010 9:17 am
we'll be posting some photos of siggraph when it's over ;)

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Octane Render at siggraph 2010

Postby Eggar » Fri Jul 30, 2010 7:09 pm

Eggar Fri Jul 30, 2010 7:09 pm
Hey,
Did Brian James, of (RHino) McNeel get a chance to come over and rap with you? He was just on the next aisle directly across from you (near the wall) literally only a few steps away. I was asking him about if any progress was being made about getting some integration going with the (probable) Rhino/Octane Plugin. I'm not personally as needy of this since the object handover from Rhino to Octane doesn't bring about much trouble, but would be interested if a seamless app would be in the works.

Can't wait for emitter materials to go active. Would it help, processing wise, if 'like' objects be joined prior to export (to OCtane) to be assigned the emitter material? Would Octane percieve this more as 'one' object emitting rather than many emitters added to a scene. And is there any plans for dimmer controls (sliders) that could be assigned to groupings of emitters or even this unifying process explained above?

Thank You
MSI NF980-G65 AM3 NVIDIA nForce 980a AMD Motherboard
2x BFG GeForce GTX 260 OC MAXCORE 896MB GDDR3
OCZ 60GB Solid State Drive
8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
KINGWIN Mach 1 ABT-1000MA1S 1000W Power Supply
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower
All Running on XP64
Eggar
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:40 pm

Re: Octane Render at siggraph 2010

Postby radiance » Fri Jul 30, 2010 7:14 pm

radiance Fri Jul 30, 2010 7:14 pm
Hey,

Everything you say will be possible. There are a *lot* of new things in 2.3 and you can do everything you say via nodes.

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Octane Render at siggraph 2010

Postby radiance » Fri Jul 30, 2010 7:15 pm

radiance Fri Jul 30, 2010 7:15 pm
As i myself did'nt go to siggraph, we'll have to hear from our on-site colleagues.
We're going to make a post soon with lots of photos and information about the booth/event when the guys have finished.

Radiance
Win 7 x64 & ubuntu | 2x GTX480 | Quad 2.66GHz | 8GB
User avatar
radiance
 
Posts: 7633
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 2:33 pm

Re: Octane Render at siggraph 2010

Postby havensole » Fri Jul 30, 2010 7:21 pm

havensole Fri Jul 30, 2010 7:21 pm
Hi Eggar, I think we talked at Siggraph. If not then there was someone with the exact same question. Radiance can answer this in more precise terms but essentially when you export your scene everything is a single mesh. The lights you setup in your 3d app will have a material on them acting as the actual emitter. If all your lamps use the same material then when you dim the emitter material's emit value you dim the light for all lights using that particular material. Basically this is your grouping. Having different material groups would achieve what you're asking I believe. Whether this will greatly impact the render times in unknown at the moment as we are all waiting to play with it in depth. This is of course with my understanding of how the mesh emitter will working the new version. Things could change/have changed.

A Rhino rep did come by and we chatted for awhile. His big question, and it was the same with a few other people, was about the shading language that is used by Octane and the status of the plugin was. I didn't have all the answers, but enough to say that the plugin would come.
System 1: EVGA gtx470 1280Mb and MSI gtx470 1280 in Cubix Xpander for Octane, AMD 945, 4Gb Ram
All systems are at stock speeds and settings.
havensole
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 9:31 pm
Location: Rialto, CA USA

Re: Octane Render at siggraph 2010

Postby Eggar » Fri Jul 30, 2010 7:34 pm

Eggar Fri Jul 30, 2010 7:34 pm
Just had to hear it again to wrap my brain around it.
I'm sure these emitters are RT adjustable just like all the rest of the cool apps are in Octane, Right? Dimmer Funtions?

The guys on the other side of the hall at (splutterfish) Brazil (I forgot what the parent company is now) kind of scoffed off the CUDA abilities of not tying up the CPU to allow for other work that could be done while the rendering was resolving and was saying that OPENCL was the way to go - but his eyes did widen when I asked him about the CPU tie-up, and said that 'this is what CUDA developers would like you to believe. He seemed to be full of Crok!

what's your view of how Cuda pitted against OPENCL hold up?
MSI NF980-G65 AM3 NVIDIA nForce 980a AMD Motherboard
2x BFG GeForce GTX 260 OC MAXCORE 896MB GDDR3
OCZ 60GB Solid State Drive
8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
KINGWIN Mach 1 ABT-1000MA1S 1000W Power Supply
Cooler Master HAF 932 Full Tower
All Running on XP64
Eggar
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 6:40 pm
PreviousNext

Return to News & Announcements


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

Tue Jul 07, 2020 8:30 am [ UTC ]