Make Custom LUTs work with ACES OCIO

Forums: Make Custom LUTs work with ACES OCIO
Tutorials for OctaneRender - demonstrations and howto's.

Make Custom LUTs work with ACES OCIO

Postby lanklaf » Tue Jan 05, 2021 2:42 pm

lanklaf Tue Jan 05, 2021 2:42 pm
Camera Imager's "Custom LUT" option is not available in OCIO mode.
To use LUTs, you must convert them to OCIO LOOKs,
which can be selected in the OCIO Camera Imager tab:

Image

How to convert LUTs to Looks:
For ACES config users

1) Drop your LUT files into the luts directory of the OCIO config
2) Add this code to the bottom of the config.ocio file:
Code: Select all
looks:
  - !<Look>
    name: 1st Look name goes here
    process_space: Output - Rec.709
    transform: !<FileTransform> {src: lut_filename_goes_here.cube, interpolation: best}

  - !<Look>
    name: 2nd Look name goes here
    process_space: Output - Rec.709
    transform: !<FileTransform> {src: lut_filename_goes_here.cube, interpolation: best}

  - !<Look>
    name: 3rd Look name goes here
    process_space: Output - Rec.709
    transform: !<FileTransform> {src: lut_filename_goes_here.cube, interpolation: best}

Info:
- You can use almost any LUT file: .cube, .3dl, etc.
- The "process_space" should be the space your LUTs are for"
  • For regular Rec.709 LUTs, "process_space" is "Output - Rec.709"
  • For ARRI LUTs, "process_space" is "Input - ARRI - V3 LogC (EI200) - Wide Gamut"
  • etc.

You can also put your LUTs in a different folder.
I created a separate folder and named it "looks".
But if you do this, you will need to change this config.ocio line:
Code: Select all
search_path: luts

to this:
Code: Select all
search_path: "luts:looks"

Thanks @karu for sharing this information.
Last edited by lanklaf on Thu Jan 28, 2021 10:59 pm, edited 8 times in total.
System:
i7 8700K / RTX 2020 / 16GB RAM
User avatar
lanklaf
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2017 4:22 pm

Re: Custom LUTs in OCIO / ACES workflow

Postby james_conkle » Tue Jan 05, 2021 10:50 pm

james_conkle Tue Jan 05, 2021 10:50 pm
Wow this is great!! Thanks for posting how to do this. Being able to get the same look in the live viewer and Resolve, without being “baked in”, is a total game changer. Before replicating the same look with the camera imager wasn’t always accurate.
Octane C4D Plugin 2021.1 / C4D R25.015
UNIT 0: 2080ti / 6700K / 64GB / 500w
UNIT 1: 2x 3090 / 3970x / 128GB ECC / 1600w
UNIT 2: 5500M / 9980HK / 32GB / 95w
RNDR Artist Calculator
User avatar
james_conkle
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2019 10:28 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Return to Tutorials


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

Fri Apr 19, 2024 6:31 am [ UTC ]