OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Forums: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]
Poser (Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Sun Jun 11, 2017 4:18 am

face_off Sun Jun 11, 2017 4:18 am
I have updated the installers at the top of this thread with:

3.6.2.82
- Compiled with Octane 3.06.2

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14090
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Erick » Sun Jun 11, 2017 11:54 am

Erick Sun Jun 11, 2017 11:54 am
Thanksss for the update, Paul :D
Erick
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:40 am

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Erick » Sun Jun 11, 2017 2:45 pm

Erick Sun Jun 11, 2017 2:45 pm
Taken from the 1st page, is this correct?

Release Notes

3.6.2.82 (11-Jun-2017)
- Compiled with Octane 3.06.2

3.6.5.81 (23-Apr-2017)
Erick
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:40 am

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Sun Jun 11, 2017 11:17 pm

face_off Sun Jun 11, 2017 11:17 pm
Taken from the 1st page, is this correct?
Yes - there was some quirks with the Octane release numbering which meant I needed to backtrack on the third digit of the release number.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14090
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Erick » Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:48 pm

Erick Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:48 pm
face_off wrote:
Taken from the 1st page, is this correct?
Yes - there was some quirks with the Octane release numbering which meant I needed to backtrack on the third digit of the release number.

Paul

Ah, thanks for the explanation. It had me confused a bit =)
Erick
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:40 am

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Tigersan » Tue Jul 25, 2017 5:57 pm

Tigersan Tue Jul 25, 2017 5:57 pm
I have been looking for a list of new features Octane 3 introduces compared to Octane 2.4.
I can't seem to find to find any info before i upgrade to Octane 3. Are there any links to such
information?

Thank you...
Home Rig:
Windows 10 Pro 64
Intel i7 980 6core HT
24GB RAM
Nvidia TITAN Xp 12GB VRAM

Laptop:
Windows 10 Pro 64
Intel i7 4710HQ
16GB RAM
Nvidia GTX 870m 3GB VRAM
User avatar
Tigersan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 12:54 am

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Wed Jul 26, 2017 12:20 am

face_off Wed Jul 26, 2017 12:20 am
Octane 3 was released over 12 months ago - so all the posts detailing the changes are now buried under newer posts. But if you go through the posts at https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=24 you can see the release notes of each release of Octane.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14090
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Tigersan » Sat Jul 29, 2017 6:41 pm

Tigersan Sat Jul 29, 2017 6:41 pm
face_off wrote:Octane 3 was released over 12 months ago - so all the posts detailing the changes are now buried under newer posts. But if you go through the posts at https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=24 you can see the release notes of each release of Octane.

Paul


Ok found it... Thanks... Do you know if they fixed clipping see-through holes issue of displaced object? For example
If i have my character hair clipping her cheek or forehead a little, there are holes in that exact spot showing inside of
the mesh, and if there's a light behind the transmission color (red for SSS) shows through.

I know i can flatten the foot on the underside and make sure it doesnt clip. But that takes ages to do, and i prefer to
just lower the whole body a little to imitate soft skin flattening against the stone floor but i cant do that without getting
those red holes... :/
Attachments
Clipping.jpg
Clipping.jpg (34.99 KiB) Viewed 3246 times
Home Rig:
Windows 10 Pro 64
Intel i7 980 6core HT
24GB RAM
Nvidia TITAN Xp 12GB VRAM

Laptop:
Windows 10 Pro 64
Intel i7 4710HQ
16GB RAM
Nvidia GTX 870m 3GB VRAM
User avatar
Tigersan
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 12:54 am

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Sat Jul 29, 2017 10:59 pm

face_off Sat Jul 29, 2017 10:59 pm
Ok found it... Thanks... Do you know if they fixed clipping see-through holes issue of displaced object? For example
If i have my character hair clipping her cheek or forehead a little, there are holes in that exact spot showing inside of
the mesh, and if there's a light behind the transmission color (red for SSS) shows through.
I'm sorry - I was unaware this issue even existed. So not sure if it is fixed in the latest Octane 3 build or not (or even if Otoy were aware of the problem).

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14090
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:26 am

face_off Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:26 am
Following is a pre-release of the Octane 3.07 build of the plugin. There are a lot of internal changes to the plugin, so it would be great if users could try this version pls. If no issues are reported in the next few days, I will make it final, and add Subscription and OSX builds.

3.7.0.83
- Compiled with Octane 3.07 TEST 3. See https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=33&t=62636 for details.

https://render.otoy.com/customerdownloads/plugins/63/35/b4/c4/OctaneRender_for_Poser_3_7_0_83_Win64.exe

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14090
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
PreviousNext

Return to Poser


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Wed Aug 05, 2020 11:09 pm [ UTC ]