OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Forums: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]
Smith Micro Software Poser (Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Erick » Sun Mar 18, 2018 2:50 pm

Erick Sun Mar 18, 2018 2:50 pm
face_off wrote:
I think we have this "Normal 0.0" bug back.
The image shows two identical, glossy, spheres.
The left one has the "Normal" node disconnected and for the right one it's set to 0.0. Which then screws up the surface of the sphere.

No biggie, just wanted it to mention anyway.

EDIT: I forgot to mention, this happens when you first plug the Node Type -> "Greyscale color" into the "Normal" channel, and then set it to 0 for the render.
Hi Wim. I think a "zero" normal is 0.5, 0.5, 0.5, so a Normal value of 0, 0, 0 is actually a value normal heading in the -X, -Y, -Z direction. So potentially this is the correct behavior. I'm not sure in what situation the plugin would plug a 0 float texture value into a Normal pin, so I'm unsure how you are getting that. Perhaps the material conversion is not working correctly?

Paul


I have no situation, where I actually do this haha ... The material conversion usually works very nicely for me, no issues there. ... For this particular render, I just loaded a random material from my local DB, so it must have been one from the older days, in which the Normal channel maybe was set to greyscale color at 0.0
Erick
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:40 am

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Thu May 03, 2018 12:32 pm

face_off Thu May 03, 2018 12:32 pm
I have updated the STABLE installers at the top of this thread with:

3.08.0.87
- Compiled with Octane 3.08
- Added a hidden configuration option to suppress the Animation Finished dialog. To activate this option, use the following python code:
octanePlugin = __import__("OctaneRender for Poser")
octanePlugin.Configuration.m_SuppressAnimationEndDialog = True

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12986
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:53 pm

face_off Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:53 pm
I have updated the TEST installers at the top of this thread with:

3.08.2.88
- Compiled with Octane 3.08.2. See https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=68091 for details
- Octane 3.08.2 resolves an issue where Greyscale nodes plugged into Normal pins were rendering incorrectly
- Removed the Cuda Devices list, and replaced with the Octane Standalone Devices panel
- Added support for 4k monitors

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12986
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby wimvdb » Tue Jul 10, 2018 1:00 pm

wimvdb Tue Jul 10, 2018 1:00 pm
Thanks for fixing the 4K UI thing!

Wim
Configuration: Windows 10 64bit Creators Edition, I7 6850K, 128GB, 2 GeForce 1080ti, P11 Pro SR6
wimvdb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:03 pm

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Erick » Tue Jul 10, 2018 4:09 pm

Erick Tue Jul 10, 2018 4:09 pm
Thank you, Paul! :D
Erick
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:40 am

Re: OctaneRender 3 for Poser (Windows/OSX) [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Sat Nov 03, 2018 5:31 am

face_off Sat Nov 03, 2018 5:31 am
I have posted an Octane 4 build of the Poser plugin at https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=45&t=69357&p=349547#p349547.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12986
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Previous

Return to Smith Micro Software Poser


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Sun Feb 17, 2019 3:55 pm [ UTC ]