SLI

Forums: SLI
Poser (Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

SLI

Postby samhal » Fri Sep 13, 2013 5:33 pm

samhal Fri Sep 13, 2013 5:33 pm
I currently am running with two GeForce GTX 670 SuperClocked 4096MB GDDR5 Graphics Cards in SLI. I've set the primary card for Medium render priority to give me GUI functionality.

In the on-line manual I read this: If you are running a GTX 690, or multiple graphics cards, it is important to disable SLI in the Nvidia control panel.

Why is it important to disable SLI?

Thanks,
Sam
i7 6800K (6 core), 24 GB, GTX 1080 8gb, Titan X 12gb
samhal
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:15 pm
Location: Austin

Re: SLI

Postby badmilk69 » Fri Sep 13, 2013 8:29 pm

badmilk69 Fri Sep 13, 2013 8:29 pm
Im using same setup (670 4gb SLI), is more or less the same performance with sli turned on/off, just keep SLI off for Octane and On for gaming.
i7 2600, 16 GB RAM, 2x Evga 670 SC 4gb, dual boot win7/osxML, 2 SSDs, 3 HDs.
badmilk69
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 4:24 am

Re: SLI

Postby samhal » Fri Sep 13, 2013 8:46 pm

samhal Fri Sep 13, 2013 8:46 pm
Yep, ran some Octane tests with SLI on and off and the difference wasn't worth mentioning...so good advice, off for Octane and on for games!

Thanks!
i7 6800K (6 core), 24 GB, GTX 1080 8gb, Titan X 12gb
samhal
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:15 pm
Location: Austin

Re: SLI

Postby Pandarr » Sat Sep 14, 2013 3:25 am

Pandarr Sat Sep 14, 2013 3:25 am
You can read about SLI and multiple GPUs in the Octane FAQ.
Pandarr
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 9:40 pm

Re: SLI

Postby face_off » Sat Sep 14, 2013 11:21 am

face_off Sat Sep 14, 2013 11:21 am
There have been a few users who have had issues where one card renders slowly or the PC crashes with SLI Enabled. The recommended setting is Disabled.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14003
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: SLI

Postby samhal » Sat Sep 14, 2013 12:02 pm

samhal Sat Sep 14, 2013 12:02 pm
Thanks Paul (everybody)! SLI disabled! ...except for my games of course! :D
i7 6800K (6 core), 24 GB, GTX 1080 8gb, Titan X 12gb
samhal
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:15 pm
Location: Austin

Return to Poser


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

Fri May 29, 2020 10:48 am [ UTC ]