flat material

Forums: flat material
Poser (Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

Re: flat material

Postby Andygraph3D » Thu May 23, 2013 11:39 am

Andygraph3D Thu May 23, 2013 11:39 am
I would like to add a texture (a photo), which has already its own true shadows and do not want to edit them with those of octane render
a way would do everything in compositing but I would avoid ...
Andygraph3D
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 268
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 7:25 pm

Re: flat material

Postby face_off » Thu May 23, 2013 11:26 pm

face_off Thu May 23, 2013 11:26 pm
If you want to render an object and overlay it onto a photo background, use the "kernel"->"alphachannel" -> enable. Then render and save the resulting image to PNG. Then load into Photoshop/GIMP and overlay it onto your photo.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13840
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: flat material

Postby bicket » Fri May 24, 2013 6:11 am

bicket Fri May 24, 2013 6:11 am
The only way to have flat material with texture is to use Direct light with Ambient or Sample environment => no shadows but for the whole scene so you have to do some compositing.
PortFolio
4 x TITAN - Win 7 64 - Octane Rocks
User avatar
bicket
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 10:46 am

Re: flat material

Postby roeland » Fri May 31, 2013 12:57 am

roeland Fri May 31, 2013 12:57 am
One thing to keep in mind is that Octane doesn't support screen mapping a texture.

To make an object with a texture which is not affected by any lighting, use a diffuse material with diffuse reflection 0.0, then add an emission node and put your texture into the efficiency/texture slot.

--
Roeland
User avatar
roeland
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1744
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:09 pm

Re: flat material

Postby kavorka » Fri May 31, 2013 12:31 pm

kavorka Fri May 31, 2013 12:31 pm
I would suggest using your 3D package to render without shadows. I do not think that Octane is set up to do this.
Intel quad core i5 @ 4.0 ghz | 8 gigs of Ram | Geforce GTX 470 - 1.25 gigs of Ram
kavorka
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1351
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:40 am
Previous

Return to Poser


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Thu Apr 02, 2020 7:55 pm [ UTC ]