OctaneRender 2019 for DAZ Studio [OBSOLETE]

Forums: OctaneRender 2019 for DAZ Studio [OBSOLETE]
DAZ Studio (Export Script Plugin developed by Tugpsx; Integrated Plugin maintained by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

Re: OctaneRender 2019 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby rajib » Sat Dec 28, 2019 6:53 am

rajib Sat Dec 28, 2019 6:53 am
Hi Paul,

Please fix the OOC memory render engine failure issue. Like others have reported, any time OOC memory gets used, it results in a render engine failure. Always similar error and always as soon as a scene that needs OOC memory starts to render.

14:27:23.038: Failed to allocate page-locked memory
14:27:23.053: No device pointer for out-of-core memory 00000063A5F28060
14:27:23.054: No device pointer for out-of-core memory 0000006475D45060
14:27:23.054: No device pointer for out-of-core memory 0000006289509060
14:27:23.055: Render engine failure occured! (WARNING)
14:27:26.055: Render engine failure occured! (WARNING)
14:27:29.057: Render engine failure occured! (WARNING)
14:27:32.236: 3 render engine failures within a minute - giving up! (CRITICAL)

Should be easy for you to recreate by loading multiple characters with Resolution and SubD set to the highest settings. Keep loading until the VRAM becomes full and it needs OOC memory. You will immediately get a render failure. If you save that scene and open it again (after closing and restarting Daz), you will get render failure once the scene starts to render.

May I know how much VRAM you have in your GPU ? Maybe based on that I can create a test scene for you that will use more VRAM than what you have to trigger the usage of the OOC memory. 100% of my older scenes that are heavy enough to start using OOC memory fail to render under this version of the plugin.

Regards,
Rajib
Windows 10 Pro|Intel i9-9980XE|128GB RAM|4xTitan RTX|Houdini 18|Daz Studio Pro 4.12|Octane 2020.1|Plugins : DAZ 2020.1.0.55, Houdini 2019.1.5|NVIDIA 442.19 Studio Standard
Gallery : https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=70965
User avatar
rajib
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:57 am

Re: OctaneRender 2019 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Mon Dec 30, 2019 4:45 am

face_off Mon Dec 30, 2019 4:45 am
rajib wrote:Hi Paul,

Please fix the OOC memory render engine failure issue. Like others have reported, any time OOC memory gets used, it results in a render engine failure. Always similar error and always as soon as a scene that needs OOC memory starts to render.

14:27:23.038: Failed to allocate page-locked memory
14:27:23.053: No device pointer for out-of-core memory 00000063A5F28060
14:27:23.054: No device pointer for out-of-core memory 0000006475D45060
14:27:23.054: No device pointer for out-of-core memory 0000006289509060
14:27:23.055: Render engine failure occured! (WARNING)
14:27:26.055: Render engine failure occured! (WARNING)
14:27:29.057: Render engine failure occured! (WARNING)
14:27:32.236: 3 render engine failures within a minute - giving up! (CRITICAL)

Should be easy for you to recreate by loading multiple characters with Resolution and SubD set to the highest settings. Keep loading until the VRAM becomes full and it needs OOC memory. You will immediately get a render failure. If you save that scene and open it again (after closing and restarting Daz), you will get render failure once the scene starts to render.

May I know how much VRAM you have in your GPU ? Maybe based on that I can create a test scene for you that will use more VRAM than what you have to trigger the usage of the OOC memory. 100% of my older scenes that are heavy enough to start using OOC memory fail to render under this version of the plugin.

Regards,
Rajib
There is nothing I can do on this issue other than to report it to OTOY (which I have done). I suggest exporting your scene to ORBX and recreating the issue in Octane Standalone and then reporting it on the Octane Standalone 2019 thread.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14269
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2019 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby rajib » Mon Dec 30, 2019 5:24 pm

rajib Mon Dec 30, 2019 5:24 pm
face_off wrote:There is nothing I can do on this issue other than to report it to OTOY (which I have done). I suggest exporting your scene to ORBX and recreating the issue in Octane Standalone and then reporting it on the Octane Standalone 2019 thread.

Paul


Thanks for reporting it Paul. I haven't checked yet whether the scene can be exported as rendering needs to start to export the scene and it gives engine failure even before anything gets rendered to the Octane Viewport. Only thing on the Octane Viewport is the HDRI environment sky. I remember you had said without the render starting, the Octane scene export will not export anything. This is like the chicken and egg issue. If I remember it incorrectly, do correct me.

Regards,
Rajib
Windows 10 Pro|Intel i9-9980XE|128GB RAM|4xTitan RTX|Houdini 18|Daz Studio Pro 4.12|Octane 2020.1|Plugins : DAZ 2020.1.0.55, Houdini 2019.1.5|NVIDIA 442.19 Studio Standard
Gallery : https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=70965
User avatar
rajib
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:57 am

Re: OctaneRender 2019 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Tue Dec 31, 2019 1:04 am

face_off Tue Dec 31, 2019 1:04 am
I have updated the installers at the top of this thread with:

2019.1.5.49
- Compiled with Octane 2019.1.5
- NOTE: The Octane 2020.1 nodes (such as the Random Walk medium) can be created in the node graph editor, but only appear as an "Unknown" node, and connect be connected to anything

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14269
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2019 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Tue Dec 31, 2019 1:06 am

face_off Tue Dec 31, 2019 1:06 am
Thanks for reporting it Paul. I haven't checked yet whether the scene can be exported as rendering needs to start to export the scene and it gives engine failure even before anything gets rendered to the Octane Viewport. Only thing on the Octane Viewport is the HDRI environment sky. I remember you had said without the render starting, the Octane scene export will not export anything. This is like the chicken and egg issue. If I remember it incorrectly, do correct me.
I would suggest exporting the scene even if the Octane engine has reported a failure, as it will hopefully still export the scene nodes and geometry.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14269
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2019 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby apollyonpt » Mon Jan 27, 2020 3:21 pm

apollyonpt Mon Jan 27, 2020 3:21 pm
Hello,
I have noticed a bug.
If you create a camera, switch to that camera, and move the camera around from the viewport it will change the Ray epsilon values.
:)
apollyonpt
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 7:47 pm

Re: OctaneRender 2019 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Tue Jan 28, 2020 2:56 am

face_off Tue Jan 28, 2020 2:56 am
apollyonpt wrote:Hello,
I have noticed a bug.
If you create a camera, switch to that camera, and move the camera around from the viewport it will change the Ray epsilon values.
:)
Do you have Preferences->"Automatic calculation of kernel "rayepsilon" ticked?

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14269
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2019 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby apollyonpt » Tue Jan 28, 2020 3:31 pm

apollyonpt Tue Jan 28, 2020 3:31 pm
face_off wrote:
apollyonpt wrote:Hello,
I have noticed a bug.
If you create a camera, switch to that camera, and move the camera around from the viewport it will change the Ray epsilon values.
:)
Do you have Preferences->"Automatic calculation of kernel "rayepsilon" ticked?

Paul

yes, I turned it off and it stopped changing the values. :)
apollyonpt
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 7:47 pm

Re: OctaneRender 2019 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Fri Mar 06, 2020 1:35 am

face_off Fri Mar 06, 2020 1:35 am
I have updated the installers at the top of this thread with:

2019.1.5.51
- Removed the setting of the Windows TDR Deley setting when the plugin starts up

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14269
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2019 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby rajib » Fri Mar 13, 2020 2:46 pm

rajib Fri Mar 13, 2020 2:46 pm
face_off wrote:I have updated the installers at the top of this thread with:

2019.1.5.51
- Removed the setting of the Windows TDR Deley setting when the plugin starts up

Thanks

Paul


Thanks Paul. Will update and test.
Windows 10 Pro|Intel i9-9980XE|128GB RAM|4xTitan RTX|Houdini 18|Daz Studio Pro 4.12|Octane 2020.1|Plugins : DAZ 2020.1.0.55, Houdini 2019.1.5|NVIDIA 442.19 Studio Standard
Gallery : https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=70965
User avatar
rajib
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:57 am
PreviousNext

Return to DAZ Studio


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: RGUS and 4 guests

Fri Nov 27, 2020 6:17 am [ UTC ]