OctaneRender 2018 for DAZ Studio [OBSOLETE]

Forums: OctaneRender 2018 for DAZ Studio [OBSOLETE]
DAZ Studio (Export Script Plugin developed by Tugpsx; Integrated Plugin maintained by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Thu Apr 25, 2019 10:52 am

face_off Thu Apr 25, 2019 10:52 am
There is a bug in all the version (2018.1, V4, V3). If an wearable object (shoes / clothing) has a surface named 'Face' and the wearable object is fitted to the character, the plugin does not show the surface name 'Face' under the Materials Tab for that wearable object. You cannot set any materials for it as the surface is not recoganized. I had faced this earlier but never could figure out why the material would not set on that surface. Today I noticed that the 'Face' surface itself was not being shown in the Octane Material Tab. Clicking on the surface in Octane Viewport to edit it in NGE actually loaded the 'Face' material of the character in the NGE.
Double check you don't have 'Face' in the Preferences->Surfaces Material Filter. If you can provide a simple scene which reproduces this problem, I will take a look.

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13606
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby rajib » Fri Apr 26, 2019 10:55 am

rajib Fri Apr 26, 2019 10:55 am
face_off wrote:
There is a bug in all the version (2018.1, V4, V3). If an wearable object (shoes / clothing) has a surface named 'Face' and the wearable object is fitted to the character, the plugin does not show the surface name 'Face' under the Materials Tab for that wearable object. You cannot set any materials for it as the surface is not recoganized. I had faced this earlier but never could figure out why the material would not set on that surface. Today I noticed that the 'Face' surface itself was not being shown in the Octane Material Tab. Clicking on the surface in Octane Viewport to edit it in NGE actually loaded the 'Face' material of the character in the NGE.
Double check you don't have 'Face' in the Preferences->Surfaces Material Filter. If you can provide a simple scene which reproduces this problem, I will take a look.

Thanks

Paul


There is nothing set in the Surfaces Material Filter for me under Preferences. As the shoe is a purchased content, I am not sure even if I give you the scene file whether you will be able to open it without having that Daz product installed in your PC. I will see if I can do a export as object.

Update :
Paul, I have PMed you the test scene. Please take a look.
Windows 10 Pro x64 | Intel i9-9980XE | DDR4 3200 128GB RAM | 4 x RTX 2080 TI | NVMe M.2 SSDs | Daz Studio Pro 4.12 | Octane 2019.1.4.46 | NVIDIA Driver 441.28 Studio Driver

My gallery here : https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=70965
User avatar
rajib
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:57 am

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby rajib » Fri May 03, 2019 12:47 pm

rajib Fri May 03, 2019 12:47 pm
Hi All,

Regarding the problem I had mentioned in viewtopic.php?f=44&t=71080&start=10#p361687. Based on advice from Paul, I deleted the preferences and then restarted Daz Studio (and set the paths as per what I was using), the issue went away. Now If I open the same scene, the 'Face' surface correctly renders.

Thanks Paul for your help :) !

Best regards,
Rajib
Windows 10 Pro x64 | Intel i9-9980XE | DDR4 3200 128GB RAM | 4 x RTX 2080 TI | NVMe M.2 SSDs | Daz Studio Pro 4.12 | Octane 2019.1.4.46 | NVIDIA Driver 441.28 Studio Driver

My gallery here : https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=70965
User avatar
rajib
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:57 am

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Sun May 05, 2019 12:41 pm

face_off Sun May 05, 2019 12:41 pm
Regarding the problem I had mentioned in viewtopic.php?f=44&t=71080&start=10#p361687. Based on advice from Paul, I deleted the preferences and then restarted Daz Studio (and set the paths as per what I was using), the issue went away. Now If I open the same scene, the 'Face' surface correctly renders.
In case others have this issue, the resolution was to untick Preferences->"Try to map Geo Craft replacement materials internally".

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13606
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Sat May 25, 2019 1:13 am

face_off Sat May 25, 2019 1:13 am
I have updated the STABLE installers at the top of this thread with:

2018.1.3.44
- Compiled with Octane 2018.1.3

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13606
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby rajib » Mon May 27, 2019 2:25 pm

rajib Mon May 27, 2019 2:25 pm
face_off wrote:I have updated the STABLE installers at the top of this thread with:

2018.1.3.44
- Compiled with Octane 2018.1.3

Thanks

Paul


Thanks for the update Paul. Will test and see if there is any issues.
Windows 10 Pro x64 | Intel i9-9980XE | DDR4 3200 128GB RAM | 4 x RTX 2080 TI | NVMe M.2 SSDs | Daz Studio Pro 4.12 | Octane 2019.1.4.46 | NVIDIA Driver 441.28 Studio Driver

My gallery here : https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=70965
User avatar
rajib
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:57 am

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby rajib » Mon May 27, 2019 3:13 pm

rajib Mon May 27, 2019 3:13 pm
rajib wrote:
face_off wrote:I have updated the STABLE installers at the top of this thread with:
2018.1.3.44
- Compiled with Octane 2018.1.3


Thanks for the update Paul. Will test and see if there is any issues.


Hi Paul,

There seems to be a difference between how a Texture Emission is behaving between 2018.1.1.44 and 2018.1.3.44. Not sure if a old bug was fixed or a new one was introduced. I had to drastically reduce power (watts) to prevent the scene from being overblown. I basically used the same scene I had used under 2018.1.1.44 just before updating the plugin (which was rendering without any light issue), but under the latest version with no changes to the materials or scene, the scene was overblown.

Will test with a couple of my old scenes to see if it is one off or consistent change in the behavior of Texture Emission.

Best regards,
Rajib

Update : I can confirm all my existing scene have this issue. But in any case I think Otoy fixed some bug and now it behaves more correctly based on size of the light source. The sphere I was using was pretty massive in size. For small plane / sphere primitive Texture Emission based lights I did not notice any difference.
Windows 10 Pro x64 | Intel i9-9980XE | DDR4 3200 128GB RAM | 4 x RTX 2080 TI | NVMe M.2 SSDs | Daz Studio Pro 4.12 | Octane 2019.1.4.46 | NVIDIA Driver 441.28 Studio Driver

My gallery here : https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=70965
User avatar
rajib
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:57 am

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Wed May 29, 2019 2:37 am

face_off Wed May 29, 2019 2:37 am
Update : I can confirm all my existing scene have this issue. But in any case I think Otoy fixed some bug and now it behaves more correctly based on size of the light source. The sphere I was using was pretty massive in size. For small plane / sphere primitive Texture Emission based lights I did not notice any difference.
Hi Rajib. Suggest checking the release notes for Octane Standalone to see if it mentions this. If you can reproduce the issue in Octane Standalone, then you can report it as a bug (if it's not listed as a bug fix in the release notes).

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13606
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby RGUS » Sun Jun 23, 2019 5:38 am

RGUS Sun Jun 23, 2019 5:38 am
Amazing, this forum has turned into a one user/one developer convesation... why is that? Just sayin'
WEB: http://rgus.deviantart.com/
GPU: 1x Nvidia GTX TITAN 6GB - 436.02
RAM: 32GB
CPU: INTEL Core i7-3770K CPU @ 3.50GHz
SOFTWARE: Windows 10 Enterprise
DAZ Studio Pro Edition 4.11.0.383 (64 bit), DAZ Studio Plugin: 4.2.1.44 - Feb 15.2019
User avatar
RGUS
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 275
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:32 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby rajib » Sun Jun 23, 2019 4:59 pm

rajib Sun Jun 23, 2019 4:59 pm
Hi Paul,

Can you please compile the plugin against the latest Daz SDK release ? I feel the interface has slowed down a bit since I upgraded to Daz 4.11. For e.g. in the material tab, I need to click and wait for a second or two before the Quick Edit part updates to show the new material. This was instant under 4.10.x.

Regards,
Rajib
Windows 10 Pro x64 | Intel i9-9980XE | DDR4 3200 128GB RAM | 4 x RTX 2080 TI | NVMe M.2 SSDs | Daz Studio Pro 4.12 | Octane 2019.1.4.46 | NVIDIA Driver 441.28 Studio Driver

My gallery here : https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=70965
User avatar
rajib
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:57 am
PreviousNext

Return to DAZ Studio


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sat Dec 07, 2019 11:18 am [ UTC ]