OctaneRender 3 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Forums: OctaneRender 3 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]
DAZ Studio (Export Script Plugin developed by Tugpsx; Integrated Plugin maintained by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

Re: OctaneRender 3 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Wed Aug 08, 2018 12:39 am

face_off Wed Aug 08, 2018 12:39 am
If it isnt you who can offer support for the product i have bought? Who is the right person to speak to?
If you submit a ticket via the "Support" option at the top of this page, OTOY will respond to it.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12913
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 3 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Notiusweb » Wed Aug 15, 2018 3:06 am

Notiusweb Wed Aug 15, 2018 3:06 am
face_off wrote:
When OCDS goes V4, will the conversion of materials be the same for cases of skin, ie a Diffuse + Glossy, or will it be using the new Universal Material?
In the short term it would be the same as currently, but in the long term there might be the option to use the Universal material.

Paul


Hi Paul,
I have been using the Universal Material more and more in standalone, it works pretty well for translating a Daz character too. The thing that is nice is you have the Transmission/Medium + Roughness, Sheen, and Top Coat, so when you put the Daz maps in those slots you can get a much more featured look with skin highlights/reflections. Not exactly sure how it *should* translate, thinking Dual Lobe spec goes in Sheen and then Top Coat goes in Coat, but maybe this is wrong, ...but it looks good! :)
Win 10 Pro 64, Xeon E5-2687W v2 (8x 3.40GHz), G.Skill 64 GB DDR3-2400, ASRock X79 Extreme 11
Mobo: 1 Titan X, 1 Titan Xp
External: 6 Titan X Pascal - 1600W EVGA T2
Plugs: 3DSMax, C4D, Daz, Houdini, Lightwave, Sketchup
User avatar
Notiusweb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 924
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:51 am

Re: OctaneRender 3 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby rohandalvi » Sun Sep 09, 2018 4:50 am

rohandalvi Sun Sep 09, 2018 4:50 am
Hi,

Just curious, when can we expect a version 4 build for Daz.

Regards
Rohan
rohandalvi
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:39 am

Re: OctaneRender 3 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby itou31 » Sun Sep 09, 2018 7:38 pm

itou31 Sun Sep 09, 2018 7:38 pm
I think that V4 will not be free, so it should not be alpha or beta before release. :roll:
I7-3930K 64Go RAM Win8.1pro , main 3 titans + 780Ti
Xeon 2696V3 64Go RAM Win8.1/win10/win7, 2x 1080Ti + 3x 980Ti + 2x Titan Black
User avatar
itou31
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:43 am

Re: OctaneRender 3 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby rohandalvi » Mon Sep 10, 2018 2:37 am

rohandalvi Mon Sep 10, 2018 2:37 am
Version 4 is free for all version 3 users. Otoy already announced this when they launched the first XB1 release of octane 4. I’ve been using the Houdini octane 4 plugin for the past couple of months
rohandalvi
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:39 am

Re: OctaneRender 3 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby itou31 » Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:12 am

itou31 Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:12 am
I hope so.

but as Paul said here : https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=66055#p333949
he is not sure for OcDS V4 plugin
I7-3930K 64Go RAM Win8.1pro , main 3 titans + 780Ti
Xeon 2696V3 64Go RAM Win8.1/win10/win7, 2x 1080Ti + 3x 980Ti + 2x Titan Black
User avatar
itou31
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:43 am

Re: OctaneRender 3 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby rohandalvi » Fri Sep 14, 2018 3:36 am

rohandalvi Fri Sep 14, 2018 3:36 am
That statement is specifically for the New Free tier that will be launched when Octane 4 is out of Beta. That will have standalone and a few plugins. Otoy hasn’t announced which plugins will be available with the free version.

OCTANE 4 will have 3 license models.

1. Free up to 2 GPUs and some plugins bundled with that. ( not sure which ones)
2. Subscription 20 GPU limit . (All plugins bundled in that)
3. Enterprise 200 GPU limit. ( all old paying customers with permanent license will be on the enterprise version.)

Also octane 4 is a free upgrade for all existing customers this includes the plugins.

I’m not asking about that.

I just want to know when the octane 4 for Daz plug-in will be released since all the other softwares already have a plugin available. Even if it is a paid upgrade, I’m fine with that too. I just need an ETA.
rohandalvi
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 7:39 am

Re: OctaneRender 3 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Fri Sep 14, 2018 3:50 am

face_off Fri Sep 14, 2018 3:50 am
I just want to know when the octane 4 for Daz plug-in will be released since all the other softwares already have a plugin available. Even if it is a paid upgrade, I’m fine with that too. I just need an ETA.
Once Octane 4 is released (ie. out of the Release Candidate stage), the DAZStudio plugin for Octane 4 will be available.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 12913
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 3 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby itou31 » Fri Sep 14, 2018 12:01 pm

itou31 Fri Sep 14, 2018 12:01 pm
Thanks Rohandalvi and Paul, it's clear for me now.
I7-3930K 64Go RAM Win8.1pro , main 3 titans + 780Ti
Xeon 2696V3 64Go RAM Win8.1/win10/win7, 2x 1080Ti + 3x 980Ti + 2x Titan Black
User avatar
itou31
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 372
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:43 am

Re: OctaneRender 3 for DAZ Studio [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Notiusweb » Fri Sep 28, 2018 10:32 pm

Notiusweb Fri Sep 28, 2018 10:32 pm
For me it's going to be free.
I have the Octane VIP Premium Extra Plus Daz Membership OCDS Plugin.

You guys don't have? :?
Win 10 Pro 64, Xeon E5-2687W v2 (8x 3.40GHz), G.Skill 64 GB DDR3-2400, ASRock X79 Extreme 11
Mobo: 1 Titan X, 1 Titan Xp
External: 6 Titan X Pascal - 1600W EVGA T2
Plugs: 3DSMax, C4D, Daz, Houdini, Lightwave, Sketchup
User avatar
Notiusweb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 924
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:51 am
PreviousNext

Return to DAZ Studio


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Sat Jan 19, 2019 1:50 am [ UTC ]