OcDS - Render Cue functionality

Forums: OcDS - Render Cue functionality
DAZ Studio (Export Script Plugin developed by Tugpsx; Integrated Plugin maintained by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: BK

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

OcDS - Render Cue functionality

Postby linvanchene » Wed Apr 27, 2016 9:49 am

linvanchene Wed Apr 27, 2016 9:49 am
- - -

The idea of the OcDS Render Cue is to render out multiple image versions of the same scene.
Basically it is a limited form of a batch rendering option for the same (!) scene.

You can mix and match the following settings:
Camera
Environment
Rendersettings

-> In theory this should work like this:

Example:
Render Camera I, Environment A and Rendersetting X at frame 0
Render Camera II , Environment B and Rendersetting Y at frame 5
Render Camera III, Environment B and Rendersetting Y at frame 10

-> When rendering an animation the cues at frame 0 , 5 and 10 are rendered out as 3 images.
Differently to a normal animation render camera, environment and render settings can be switched at the "Cue" points.

Render Cue example.jpg



- - -
Result of some limited testing:

Currently the "Render Cue" functionality does not seem to be fully operational.

- the switch to a different camera, environment or render settings at a cue does not seem to trigger properly.

- In some cases the viewport just freezes.

- - -

Until all the other more pressing animation issues are resolved there does not seem much point in doing further testing with this feature.

Maybe the introduction of OctaneRender cloud will replace the Render Cue feature anyway?

One could assume that OctaneRender cloud will have some batch render functionality.
The question is if that can be used to queue up scenes to render locally as well.


- - -
Win 10 Pro 64bit | Rendering: 2 x ASUS GeForce RTX 2080 Ti TURBO | Asus RTX NVLink Bridge 4-Slot | Intel Core i7 5820K | ASUS X99-E WS| 64 GB RAM
FAQ: OctaneRender for DAZ Studio - FAQ link collection
User avatar
linvanchene
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 783
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:58 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: OcDS - Render Cue functionality

Postby face_off » Wed Apr 27, 2016 11:57 am

face_off Wed Apr 27, 2016 11:57 am
The cloud rendering functionality which will become available soon is going to mean a re-think on how functionality like the Render Cue is implemented - so suggest we wait for that to arrive then have a more meaningful discussion on this.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14331
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Return to DAZ Studio


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Sat Jan 23, 2021 6:26 pm [ UTC ]