OctaneRender 2 for DAZStudio [STABLE]

Forums: OctaneRender 2 for DAZStudio [STABLE]
DAZ Studio (Export Script Plugin developed by Tugpsx; Integrated Plugin maintained by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Forum rules
Please keep character renders sensibly modest, please do not post sexually explicit scenes of characters.

Re: OctaneRender for DAZ Studio 2.24.2 [TEST]

Postby Sorel » Tue Nov 24, 2015 2:15 am

Sorel Tue Nov 24, 2015 2:15 am
face_off wrote:
Ok my first issue I have found. I am unable to select a camera for animation rendering.
This is happening for me too. Was it a problem on the 2.2 version of the plugin?

Paul

This was not a problem with the previous build.
User avatar
Sorel
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:22 pm

Re: OctaneRender for DAZ Studio 2.24.2 [TEST]

Postby linvanchene » Tue Nov 24, 2015 11:00 pm

linvanchene Tue Nov 24, 2015 11:00 pm
- - -

@ Functionality of the Mouse wheel in the Node Graph Editor & Viewport

In OcDS 1.2 the Mouse wheel used to

- zoom in or out in the Node Graph Editor
- zoom in or out in the Viewport


In OcDS Prerelease 5th a bug was introduced that made the Mouse wheel

- move the NGE selection up and down
- move the showed viewport up and down

I do not anymore remember if in the last beta build it was fixed.

In 2.24.1 now it seems the Mouse wheel

- moves the NGE selection up and down
- move the showed viewport up and down

- - -

Can someone else confirm?
There is a small probability that it is not OcDS but my own mouse settings...

Does anyone remember some keyboard shortcuts to zoom in and out in the NGE?
Last edited by linvanchene on Wed Nov 25, 2015 12:02 am, edited 2 times in total.
Win 10 Pro 64bit | Rendering: 2 x ASUS GeForce RTX 2080 Ti TURBO | Asus RTX NVLink Bridge 4-Slot | Intel Core i7 5820K | ASUS X99-E WS| 64 GB RAM
FAQ: OctaneRender for DAZ Studio - FAQ link collection
User avatar
linvanchene
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 783
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:58 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: OctaneRender for DAZ Studio 2.24.2 [TEST]

Postby sixb0nes » Tue Nov 24, 2015 11:34 pm

sixb0nes Tue Nov 24, 2015 11:34 pm
linvanchene wrote:- - -
In 2.24 now it seems the Mouse wheel

- moves the NGE selection up and down
- does not seem to do anything at all in the viewport


I'm wondering if this is something on your end? Mouse wheel zooms fine (for me) in the latest build for both NGE & viewport. Let me know if you want me to inspect any settings, system or otherwise.
sixb0nes
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 8:19 pm
Location: Canada

Re: OctaneRender for DAZ Studio 2.24.2 [TEST]

Postby linvanchene » Wed Nov 25, 2015 12:07 am

linvanchene Wed Nov 25, 2015 12:07 am
sixb0nes wrote:
linvanchene wrote:- - -
In 2.24 now it seems the Mouse wheel

- moves the NGE selection up and down
- does not seem to do anything at all in the viewport


I'm wondering if this is something on your end? Mouse wheel zooms fine (for me) in the latest build for both NGE & viewport. Let me know if you want me to inspect any settings, system or otherwise.


Thanks for the quick feedback. I was able to "fix" the "not doing anything at all" part by changing if the mouse wheel is scrolling just lines or the whole page.

But now in both the NGE and the OcDS viewport the mouse wheel just move things up and down but no zooming at all.
I did not install any special Logitech drivers (yet).

Update / Edit:

Did install the Logitech Setpoint drivers. No change in functionality.

To compare:

In the OctaneRender standalone Node Graph Editor the mouse wheel zooms in and out as expected.
In OctaneRender standalone I can press the mouse wheel middle button to "grab" the page and then move it around with the mouse.

In the DAZ Studio viewport the camera zooms just fine when I use the mouse wheel.

It is the OcDS viewport and Node Graph Editor in which zooming does not work and instead the "page" is just moved up and down.

- Holding ALT seems to move the page from the left to the right.
- It is possible to left mouse double click to zoom in a little.
- It is possible to use the arrow keys to move the NGE page up, down, left, right.

Tested with DAZ Studio 4.9.036 on windows 10 using a Logitech M570.

Will investigate further...

- - -

I just remember that t_3 wrote back in 2014 that mouse wheel scrolling and moving is different for users with different drivers installed.

Back then the talk was about adding some additional options in the OcDS settings what exactly the mouse wheel does in the NGE...
Win 10 Pro 64bit | Rendering: 2 x ASUS GeForce RTX 2080 Ti TURBO | Asus RTX NVLink Bridge 4-Slot | Intel Core i7 5820K | ASUS X99-E WS| 64 GB RAM
FAQ: OctaneRender for DAZ Studio - FAQ link collection
User avatar
linvanchene
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 783
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:58 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: OctaneRender for DAZ Studio 2.24.2 [TEST]

Postby face_off » Wed Nov 25, 2015 3:18 am

face_off Wed Nov 25, 2015 3:18 am
I just remember that t_3 wrote back in 2014 that mouse wheel scrolling and moving is different for users with different drivers installed.
Not really - window sends a WM_MOUSEWHEEL event to the plugin regardless of the drivers you have loaded. I am also getting your mousewheel zoom issue. The problem appears to be in the code - and the fix simple (but I will be interested to see if it breaks zooming for some ppl). The fix will be in 2.24.2.2.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13765
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender for DAZ Studio 2.24.2 [TEST]

Postby Sorel » Wed Nov 25, 2015 5:16 am

Sorel Wed Nov 25, 2015 5:16 am
Another problem I have run into with animation, (I dont recall if this was an issue in the previous build). Trying to add a keyframe to any parameter in the materials for G2 or G3 causes DAZ to just close. (I tried to animated several different things to test such as roughness, color, etc. Whenever I hit add keyframe the whole program would just close, didn't even get a bug error.
User avatar
Sorel
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:22 pm

Re: OctaneRender for DAZ Studio 2.24.2 [TEST]

Postby face_off » Wed Nov 25, 2015 7:19 am

face_off Wed Nov 25, 2015 7:19 am
Trying to add a keyframe to any parameter in the materials for G2 or G3 causes DAZ to just close. (I tried to animated several different things to test such as roughness, color, etc. Whenever I hit add keyframe the whole program would just close, didn't even get a bug error.
Can you be a bit more specific pls? Are you adding a keyframe to the DS material or Octane material? Can you pls a screenshot of the field you are keyframing pls?

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13765
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender for DAZ Studio 2.24.2 [TEST]

Postby Sorel » Wed Nov 25, 2015 5:29 pm

Sorel Wed Nov 25, 2015 5:29 pm
Sorry, it is when I try to animate an octane material. An example would be selecting the torso on G3M and selecting the roughness parameter. When I try to add a keyframe to this the whole program closes. When I get off work I will test other figures and props.
User avatar
Sorel
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:22 pm

Re: OctaneRender for DAZ Studio 2.24.2 [TEST]

Postby face_off » Wed Nov 25, 2015 8:53 pm

face_off Wed Nov 25, 2015 8:53 pm
When I try to add a keyframe to this the whole program closes. When I get off work I will test other figures and props.
I fixed the whitebalance add keyframe crash in the next release (2.24.2.2). I just tested with an Octane material parameter, and was able to add a keyframe. So your issue may be resolved in the next release.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 13765
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender for DAZ Studio 2.24.2 [TEST]

Postby Sorel » Wed Nov 25, 2015 9:47 pm

Sorel Wed Nov 25, 2015 9:47 pm
face_off wrote:
When I try to add a keyframe to this the whole program closes. When I get off work I will test other figures and props.
I fixed the whitebalance add keyframe crash in the next release (2.24.2.2). I just tested with an Octane material parameter, and was able to add a keyframe. So your issue may be resolved in the next release.

Paul


Thank you. Another issue I just tested, that I think has been around for a while is, geometry shells do not update when a figure is reposed, moved, etc. The only way to make them update is to force rebuild the scene. This is problematic for animations as well.

When first applied
geo_test.jpg


When pose changes
geo_test_2.jpg
User avatar
Sorel
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:22 pm
PreviousNext

Return to DAZ Studio


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Mon Feb 24, 2020 11:56 am [ UTC ]