OctaneRender 2.2 for LightWave Production build 2.25

Forums: OctaneRender 2.2 for LightWave Production build 2.25
Newtek Lightwave 3D (exporter developed by holocube, Integrated Plugin developed by juanjgon)

Re: OctaneRender™ 2.2 for LightWave™ - Production release

Postby gordonrobb » Tue Jun 30, 2015 10:56 am

gordonrobb Tue Jun 30, 2015 10:56 am
Ah, ok. No worries. Thanks for the quick reply :)
Windows 8 Pro | i7 3770 OC | 32 GB Ram | Single Titan (plus Black Edition on Order) | Octane Lightwave |
gordonrobb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1245
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:08 am

Re: OctaneRender™ 2.2 for LightWave™ - Production release

Postby MrFurious » Tue Jun 30, 2015 7:59 pm

MrFurious Tue Jun 30, 2015 7:59 pm
An update on the IPR weirdness I've been experiencing. This only seems to happen if I rename the material before editing the Octane materal.. in which case I have to reload IPR to see changes. If I don't rename the material, or rename the material After setting up the Octane material, all is good and IPR behaves as it should.

Correction.. EVERY time I rename the surface, IPR needs to be reloaded to see changes in the Octane Material
Dino Inglese
CG Artist
Melbourne Australia


Intel Core i7-4820K, 3x GTX 980ti
Windows 7 64bit, Modo 12.2v2 for PC
Octane build 4.04.0.145
User avatar
MrFurious
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 521
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 5:46 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: OctaneRender™ 2.2 for LightWave™ - Production release

Postby juanjgon » Tue Jun 30, 2015 9:01 pm

juanjgon Tue Jun 30, 2015 9:01 pm
MrFurious wrote:An update on the IPR weirdness I've been experiencing. This only seems to happen if I rename the material before editing the Octane materal.. in which case I have to reload IPR to see changes. If I don't rename the material, or rename the material After setting up the Octane material, all is good and IPR behaves as it should.

Correction.. EVERY time I rename the surface, IPR needs to be reloaded to see changes in the Octane Material


Yes, if you rename materials you need to reload the scene in the IPR. Currently the plugin can't change the internal material names in the Octane scene, and as you can see the picking and materials editing could fail. I will check this issue for Octane 3 to see if it can be fixed.

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 6972
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: OctaneRender™ 2.2 for LightWave™ - Production release

Postby MrFurious » Tue Jun 30, 2015 9:08 pm

MrFurious Tue Jun 30, 2015 9:08 pm
I've never noticed this problem before this build- was using Octane for Lightwave 2.16.0 previously, has it always been that way?
Dino Inglese
CG Artist
Melbourne Australia


Intel Core i7-4820K, 3x GTX 980ti
Windows 7 64bit, Modo 12.2v2 for PC
Octane build 4.04.0.145
User avatar
MrFurious
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 521
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 5:46 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: OctaneRender™ 2.2 for LightWave™ - Production release

Postby juanjgon » Tue Jun 30, 2015 9:22 pm

juanjgon Tue Jun 30, 2015 9:22 pm
MrFurious wrote:I've never noticed this problem before this build- was using Octane for Lightwave 2.16.0 previously, has it always been that way?


Yes, as far I know ;) ... perhaps in the old plugin versions, before the 2.x releases, rename the objects didn't affect the picking because the plugin was using a custom raycasting code to pick over the Layout scene. Now the plugin uses the native Octane picking functions over the Octane scene, and I am sure that if you rename the surfaces without reload the scene, you are going to have side effects in the IPR.

Anyway I will review all this code to know what is happening and if it is possible support materials renaming while the IPR is rendering.

-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 6972
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: OctaneRender™ 2.2 for LightWave™ - Production release

Postby juanjgon » Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:30 pm

juanjgon Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:30 pm
A preview of the upcoming LiveDB support in the OctaneRender for LightWave plugin.



-Juanjo
Computer Graphics Software Developer
Octane plugin development and support: LightWave and Houdini
User avatar
juanjgon
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 6972
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:01 pm
Location: Spain

Re: OctaneRender™ 2.2 for LightWave™ - Production release

Postby 3dworks » Wed Jul 08, 2015 6:37 pm

3dworks Wed Jul 08, 2015 6:37 pm
very nice news :-)

what are the other goodies in the bag? ;-)

cheers and good luck with the coding...

markus
http://instagram.com/3dworksvisualcomputing

Apple Mac Pro 5,1 with NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 8192 MB, 2 x 2,66 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon/ Mac OS 10.13.6 + networked HP Z600 workstation with 48G RAM, Netstor GPU box, 5 x NVIDIA GTX 980ti / Windows 7 pro.
User avatar
3dworks
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 5:08 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: OctaneRender™ 2.2 for LightWave™ - Production release

Postby atnreg » Wed Jul 08, 2015 7:01 pm

atnreg Wed Jul 08, 2015 7:01 pm
WOOOOOOOW! :mrgreen:

When this feature will be available in beta or final version? ;)

Antti
Intel Core i7 [email protected](6-core), 32GB RAM, Nvidia Geforce GTX 690(2 GPU), Geforce Titan Black, Win 10/64 Pro
Latest daily build Octane3 LW plugin (no network rendering :))
Octane-supported software: Lightwave 2015.3, HDR Light Studio 5 (via LW)
atnreg
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2014 5:59 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: OctaneRender™ 2.2 for LightWave™ - Production release

Postby gordonrobb » Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:36 pm

gordonrobb Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:36 pm
Looks great. Is this a 2.x feature?
Windows 8 Pro | i7 3770 OC | 32 GB Ram | Single Titan (plus Black Edition on Order) | Octane Lightwave |
gordonrobb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1245
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 9:08 am

Re: OctaneRender™ 2.2 for LightWave™ - Production release

Postby Lewis » Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:38 pm

Lewis Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:38 pm
Great stuf fJuan, keep them coming :).
--
Lewis
http://www.ram-studio.hr
Skype - lewis3d
ICQ - 7128177

WS Dual Xeon E5-2698v4, 128GB RAM, Win10, 2x2080Ti + 2x1080Ti
RS1 Dual Xeon E5-2690, 64GB RAM, Win8, 2080Ti + 2x1080Ti + TitanX(M)
RS2 i7 6850K, 64GB RAM, Win10, 2*1080Ti
User avatar
Lewis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 772
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:30 pm
Location: Croatia
PreviousNext

Return to Lightwave 3D


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests

Wed Oct 23, 2019 9:13 pm [ UTC ]