OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [OBSOLETE]

Forums: OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [OBSOLETE]
Foundry Modo (Developed by stenson, Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby funk » Wed May 08, 2019 6:57 pm

funk Wed May 08, 2019 6:57 pm
Fredrikvictorhugo, I'm not sure if this is related to the new changes with live meshes on by default.

Can you try the suggestions in my previous post (https://render.otoy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=362741#p362741) and see if it makes it faster?

If so, then we need to figure out why live meshes cause a slow down refreshing materials.
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 14
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Fredrikvictorhugo » Wed May 08, 2019 7:18 pm

Fredrikvictorhugo Wed May 08, 2019 7:18 pm
I disabled live update in the settings and the material update works again.
And then i selected all meshes and thicked live geo update and the material update slows down again.

/ Fredrik
Fredrikvictorhugo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 3:03 pm

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby funk » Wed May 08, 2019 7:50 pm

funk Wed May 08, 2019 7:50 pm
Fredrikvictorhugo, thanks for testing it out.

If you can, it would probably help to PM Paul a link to a scene where this is happening, so he can take a look.
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 14
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Wed May 08, 2019 10:42 pm

face_off Wed May 08, 2019 10:42 pm
I disabled live update in the settings and the material update works again.
And then i selected all meshes and thicked live geo update and the material update slows down again.
Can you please send me that scene Fredrik,. and I will take a closer look.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14186
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Tue May 21, 2019 10:21 pm

face_off Tue May 21, 2019 10:21 pm
I have updated the STABLE installers at the top of this thread with:

2018.1.2.144
- Fixed performance issue there "Refreshing Materials" was taking too long when updating a Modo material
- Fixed bug where "Add Nodegraph" could not be enabled
- Fixed bug where Modo would crash if you deleted a group locator whilst rendering in Octane
- Slight improvement to the speed with which geometry is loaded into Octane when the "Refreshing Octane Geometry" dialog is shown

Thanks

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14186
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby funk » Wed May 22, 2019 5:51 am

funk Wed May 22, 2019 5:51 am
Thanks Paul
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 14
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Tharso » Thu May 23, 2019 11:23 pm

Tharso Thu May 23, 2019 11:23 pm
Render 7000x7000 + denoise in finish. Modo crashs.
User avatar
Tharso
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 3:11 pm
Location: Brasil

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Thu May 23, 2019 11:49 pm

face_off Thu May 23, 2019 11:49 pm
Render 7000x7000 + denoise in finish. Modo crashs.
I suspect you are running out of memory. What are your system specs please?

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14186
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Tharso » Fri May 24, 2019 1:36 pm

Tharso Fri May 24, 2019 1:36 pm
face_off wrote:
Render 7000x7000 + denoise in finish. Modo crashs.
I suspect you are running out of memory. What are your system specs please?

Paul


7000 px with a simple box? Impossible. AMD 1950x 1x1080ti 2x 1070 and 32gb memory.

edit: working with one 8k texture
User avatar
Tharso
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 3:11 pm
Location: Brasil

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Sat May 25, 2019 12:15 am

face_off Sat May 25, 2019 12:15 am
7000 px with a simple box? Impossible. AMD 1950x 1x1080ti 2x 1070 and 32gb memory.

edit: working with one 8k texture
Once you get to rendering at 7k x 7k, a huge amount of memory is needed - and denoising this size image takes even more memory. I suggest trying different OOC settings to find the right balance between GPU RAM and CPU RAM. You could also export the scene to ORBX and render it in Octane Standalone, which doesn't have the overhead of having Modo in memory.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14186
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia
PreviousNext

Return to Foundry Modo


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests

Sun Sep 27, 2020 4:48 pm [ UTC ]