OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [OBSOLETE]

Forums: OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [OBSOLETE]
Foundry Modo (Developed by stenson, Integrated Plugin developed by Paul Kinnane)

Moderator: face_off

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Thu Mar 21, 2019 10:32 pm

face_off Thu Mar 21, 2019 10:32 pm
I've tried both versions on the top of this page.
Do you have an All-Accesses subscription? I think this is something you will need to handle via a ticket with OTOY. Sorry I can't be more help.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14186
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby OlaHaldor » Tue Mar 26, 2019 6:54 pm

OlaHaldor Tue Mar 26, 2019 6:54 pm
I'm confused. There's only subscription based downloads for the latest build, and an older one for the 'old license type'. Will there no longer be any builds for the old license type?
Modo & LightWave 3D | Win 10 x64 | RTX 2080 Ti | Threadripper 2920x | 128GB
OlaHaldor
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 7:48 am
Location: Norway

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby funk » Tue Mar 26, 2019 7:06 pm

funk Tue Mar 26, 2019 7:06 pm
Octane has moved to subscription only for future releases. They allow you to use 4.x perpetually after a subscription expires though

I'm not too happy about this to be honest. There was some talk about adding perpetual access for those who subscribe 3 years in advanced, but no final word if that's happening.

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=69646

*For 3 year passes, we are planning to support a rent-to-own system that let's you keep using versions after V4 (at minimum 2018.1 now in beta), with limited support and online features and only for your purchased licences. (see below)
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 14
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 904
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby OlaHaldor » Tue Apr 02, 2019 6:44 am

OlaHaldor Tue Apr 02, 2019 6:44 am
WHAT!? Such... bull... Everything is becoming subscription it's getting hard to keep up and maintain. :x
Modo & LightWave 3D | Win 10 x64 | RTX 2080 Ti | Threadripper 2920x | 128GB
OlaHaldor
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 7:48 am
Location: Norway

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby OlaHaldor » Wed Apr 03, 2019 12:36 pm

OlaHaldor Wed Apr 03, 2019 12:36 pm
Any news on UDIM for Octane in Modo though?
Modo & LightWave 3D | Win 10 x64 | RTX 2080 Ti | Threadripper 2920x | 128GB
OlaHaldor
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Jul 07, 2013 7:48 am
Location: Norway

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Thu Apr 04, 2019 4:40 am

face_off Thu Apr 04, 2019 4:40 am
Any news on UDIM for Octane in Modo though?
I hope to have it implemented in the next month or so.

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14186
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby vantrum » Sat Apr 06, 2019 7:27 pm

vantrum Sat Apr 06, 2019 7:27 pm
Hi Paul,

I'm experiencing the CUDA 700 error, and can't get octane to initialize in Modo. Initially I fixed this issue by rolling back to driver 417, which worked, but led to other system instability. Misunderstanding some forum threads, I purchased the enterprise subscription in order to get access to Octane 2018.1 - thinking it had resolved the nvidia driver issue. It didn't fix the issue, I'm still getting the cuda error with the nvidia 'creator' drivers.

What's my best option here? Is it still to revert to old nvidia drivers and wait for improvements? There's a variety of conflicting reports on the forums, so I'd be satisfied to simply know the actual state of the bug. Thanks so much for your help!

-Matt

modo 12.2.2
OctaneRender Enterprise 2018.1 (5000010)
windows 10
64gb ram, rtx2080 8gb, nvidia driver 419.67
vantrum
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2016 11:05 pm

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Goldorak » Sat Apr 06, 2019 10:16 pm

Goldorak Sat Apr 06, 2019 10:16 pm
funk wrote:Octane has moved to subscription only for future releases. They allow you to use 4.x perpetually after a subscription expires though

I'm not too happy about this to be honest. There was some talk about adding perpetual access for those who subscribe 3 years in advanced, but no final word if that's happening.

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=69646

*For 3 year passes, we are planning to support a rent-to-own system that let's you keep using versions after V4 (at minimum 2018.1 now in beta), with limited support and online features and only for your purchased licences. (see below)


The 3 year rent to own plan was a compromise solution for users who really wanted a perpetual licences at any cost for at least 2018.1. We offered it on Black Friday for $599 and those users that bought it now have a 2018.1 perpetual licence, and will get 2019.1 once that is out too . Now that we are well into 2019.1 (V6) and 2019.2 (V7), we feel we can offer a more fleshed out and targeted rent-to-own plan covering 2019.x. which we plan to lock down after the stable release of 2019.1 on the shop page.
User avatar
Goldorak
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 2191
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:09 pm

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby face_off » Sun Apr 07, 2019 12:12 pm

face_off Sun Apr 07, 2019 12:12 pm
I'm experiencing the CUDA 700 error, and can't get octane to initialize in Modo. Initially I fixed this issue by rolling back to driver 417, which worked, but led to other system instability.
I am not aware of any other users having this problem on Nvidia drivers 419. I suggest trying to reproduce the issue on Octane Standalone - and then if re-produced, report to OTOY. Also make sure you have a good enough power supply, and if rendering with multiple cards, try each card in isolation. Also try trying off the denoiser (if it's on).

Paul
Win7/Win10/Mavericks/Mint 17 - GTX550Ti/GT640M
Octane Plugin Support : Poser, ArchiCAD, Revit, Inventor, AutoCAD, Rhino, Modo, Nuke, DAZ Studio
Pls read before submitting a support question
User avatar
face_off
Octane Plugin Developer
Octane Plugin Developer
 
Posts: 14186
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 10:52 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: OctaneRender 2018 for Modo [TEST and STABLE]

Postby Fredrikvictorhugo » Sat May 04, 2019 4:29 pm

Fredrikvictorhugo Sat May 04, 2019 4:29 pm
Can somone test if you can save animations in the latest enterprice build.
I can't save animations anymore.
The frames won't save.

/Fredrik
Fredrikvictorhugo
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 3:03 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Foundry Modo


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Sun Sep 27, 2020 4:56 pm [ UTC ]