OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1 [superseded by 2020.1 XB2]

Forums: OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1 [superseded by 2020.1 XB2]
A forum where development builds are posted for testing by the community.
Forum rules
NOTE: The software in this forum is not %100 reliable, they are development builds and are meant for testing by experienced octane users. If you are a new octane user, we recommend to use the current stable release from the 'Commercial Product News & Releases' forum.

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1

Postby Elvissuperstar007 » Sun Dec 29, 2019 3:09 pm

Elvissuperstar007 Sun Dec 29, 2019 3:09 pm
your model has bad eyes
Attachments
alpha_random_walk.jpg
alpha_random_walk.jpg (77.22 KiB) Viewed 778 times
win 7 /64x C2Quad 6600 2.4/ Nvidia 9800 GX2 1gb 512 bit + Asus 480 GTX/ DDR2 8Gb / NVIDIA 460 GTX 2GB/2x NVIDIA 580 GTX 3GB
Page octane render " В Контакте " http://vkontakte.ru/club17913093
User avatar
Elvissuperstar007
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 8:20 am
Location: Ukraine/Russia

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1 [superseded by 2020.1 XB2]

Postby Lewis » Tue Dec 31, 2019 1:54 pm

Lewis Tue Dec 31, 2019 1:54 pm
Hi DEVs,

First of all thanks for BUG fixes form XB1 (both of my bugs are fixed now :))

Although I have some questions about Hosek-Eilkie Sun system,
For better explanation I'm sending short video to show the problem/confusion so maybe someone from DEVs could jump in and explain what is going on there, why does new sun model so drastically change reflections in my scene.
Is this new behavior correct ?

Here is the video and ORBX scene and video.

Thanks and Happy NY :).
Attachments
RTX_Velvet_Glass_BUG.rar
ORBX scene file
(21.52 MiB) Downloaded 27 times
Octane2020_XB2_Hosek-Wilkie_daylight_video.rar
Short Video with explanation
(33.21 MiB) Downloaded 36 times
--
Lewis
http://www.ram-studio.hr
Skype - lewis3d
ICQ - 7128177

WS Dual Xeon E5-2698v4, 128GB RAM, Win10, 4 * RTX 2080Ti
RS1 i7 9800X, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
RS2 i7 6850K, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
User avatar
Lewis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:30 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1 [superseded by 2020.1 XB2]

Postby karu » Sun Jan 05, 2020 9:12 pm

karu Sun Jan 05, 2020 9:12 pm
Lewis wrote:Hi DEVs,

First of all thanks for BUG fixes form XB1 (both of my bugs are fixed now :))

Although I have some questions about Hosek-Eilkie Sun system,
For better explanation I'm sending short video to show the problem/confusion so maybe someone from DEVs could jump in and explain what is going on there, why does new sun model so drastically change reflections in my scene.
Is this new behavior correct ?

Here is the video and ORBX scene and video.

Thanks and Happy NY :).


Hi Lewis,

Thanks for the explanation of the difference you're seeing - the scene and video are really helpful. I think the result you're seeing is correct. The reflection is dim, but visible on a black background. On a bright sky background the reflection is overwhelmed by the brightness of the sky. This doesn't appear to be related to the daylight model chosen - I can get the same reflection effect using the Octane daylight model if I adjust the ground angles so that the relevant part of the sky is black. I can also see the reflection by changing the glass railing to a diffuse black material.
karu
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2019 11:26 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1 [superseded by 2020.1 XB2]

Postby Lewis » Mon Jan 06, 2020 9:42 am

Lewis Mon Jan 06, 2020 9:42 am
Thanks for answer karu, I suspected it might be ok due hemisphere vs full sphere but i just wasn't sure. Thanks for explanation/confirmation.
--
Lewis
http://www.ram-studio.hr
Skype - lewis3d
ICQ - 7128177

WS Dual Xeon E5-2698v4, 128GB RAM, Win10, 4 * RTX 2080Ti
RS1 i7 9800X, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
RS2 i7 6850K, 64GB RAM, Win10, 3 * GTX 1080Ti
User avatar
Lewis
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 899
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:30 pm
Location: Croatia

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1

Postby andrey.krivulya » Wed Jan 15, 2020 6:43 am

andrey.krivulya Wed Jan 15, 2020 6:43 am
mojave wrote:
Hi @andrey.krivulya

Your issue has been fixed. Unfortunately it didn't make it into 2020.1 XB2 but it will be included in the next build.

For now just so you are aware this was an issue related to autofocus, so disabling it from your scene should not fix it completely but mitigate it significantly.

Thank you.


Hi, @mojave

Thank you for this fix.
win 10 /64x Intel Core i9-9900K - 2xGeForce 2080Ti (NVLink)

My youtube channel with 3d tutorials ----- >>>> https://www.youtube.com/c/AndrewKrivulya
User avatar
andrey.krivulya
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2016 6:15 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1

Postby mojave » Tue Jan 21, 2020 8:04 pm

mojave Tue Jan 21, 2020 8:04 pm
funk wrote:
funk wrote:OTOY team, can you please post a sample file for those Vectron Volume screenshots? I can't figure out how its done.


I know you guys are probably really busy, but is it possible to get a sample file showing us how Vectron Volumes are created?


We have updated the section regarding vectron volumes in the initial post with Lua script you can use as reference.
User avatar
mojave
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1063
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1

Postby funk » Wed Jan 22, 2020 2:32 pm

funk Wed Jan 22, 2020 2:32 pm
mojave wrote:
funk wrote:
funk wrote:OTOY team, can you please post a sample file for those Vectron Volume screenshots? I can't figure out how its done.


I know you guys are probably really busy, but is it possible to get a sample file showing us how Vectron Volumes are created?


We have updated the section regarding vectron volumes in the initial post with Lua script you can use as reference.


Thanks. I don't think anyone could have come up with this without an example script :) I hope this process will be simplified with a built in node that converts vectrons to volumes.

I don't even think my plugin (for modo) supports lua scripts
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 13
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 859
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1

Postby jimho » Wed Feb 26, 2020 6:59 pm

jimho Wed Feb 26, 2020 6:59 pm
karu wrote:
SSmolak wrote:
osiosiosi wrote:Question ...

Does NVlink work with 4 cards? Meaning a pool of 2 x 2 with total 22GB memory avaiable?

Can anybody confirm?


I can confirm that NVlink memory pooling doesn't work even for one pair at the moment. It probably works only for Quadro and Titan RTX. It doesn't work for any other Geforce card including 2080Ti.

If your scene extend memory of one card and you have disabled Out Of Core - Octane render will fail with out of memory error.


We have identified the cause of this issue and are working towards a fix. It should be available in a future build of 2020.1 (likely not XB2 though), and a future build of 2019.1.

Regarding 4 cards, currently we only support memory pooling with pairs of cards (but you can have multiple pairs). So you could pool memory between cards 1 & 2 and between cards 3 & 4, but you can't have a single pool with cards 1, 2, 3 & 4 all together.

Dear Karu,
It seems only one pair of 2080ti sli is allowed by nvidia, the second pair does not appear in the nvidia control panel at the same time with the first pair,
does that mean octane may jump over the nvidia control panel to active the both nvlinks?
sli.JPG
only one pair of sli is actived at the same time


many thanks,
Jim

Supermicro 4028GR TR2|Intel xeon E5 2697 V3| windows 10| revit 2019 |Titan V+ Quadro GV100+RTX 2080 Ti
jimho
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2018 10:58 am

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1

Postby mojave » Wed Feb 26, 2020 7:50 pm

mojave Wed Feb 26, 2020 7:50 pm
jimho wrote:It seems only one pair of 2080ti sli is allowed by nvidia, the second pair does not appear in the nvidia control panel at the same time with the first pair,
does that mean octane may jump over the nvidia control panel to active the both nvlinks?


NVidia drivers at the time of writing this allow just a single pair of NVlinked cards for GeForce series, more than one pair is allowed just for Quadro cards.
User avatar
mojave
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 1063
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 2020.1 XB1

Postby jimho » Wed Feb 26, 2020 7:58 pm

jimho Wed Feb 26, 2020 7:58 pm
mojave wrote:
jimho wrote:It seems only one pair of 2080ti sli is allowed by nvidia, the second pair does not appear in the nvidia control panel at the same time with the first pair,
does that mean octane may jump over the nvidia control panel to active the both nvlinks?


NVidia drivers at the time of writing this allow just a single pair of NVlinked cards for GeForce series, more than one pair is allowed just for Quadro cards.

Thanks for the explanation

Supermicro 4028GR TR2|Intel xeon E5 2697 V3| windows 10| revit 2019 |Titan V+ Quadro GV100+RTX 2080 Ti
jimho
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2018 10:58 am
PreviousNext

Return to Development Build Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Fri May 29, 2020 6:33 am [ UTC ]