OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1

Forums: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1
A forum where development builds are posted for testing by the community.
Forum rules
NOTE: The software in this forum is not %100 reliable, they are development builds and are meant for testing by experienced octane users. If you are a new octane user, we recommend to use the current stable release from the 'Commercial Product News & Releases' forum.

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby Notiusweb » Tue Aug 14, 2018 8:50 pm

Notiusweb Tue Aug 14, 2018 8:50 pm
I get crashes all the time too, I can't modify anything while denoiser is active. Sliders especially have a bad way of crashing the engine while denoiser is running.
I use a separate 'preview' render target with Denoiser off, then I go and render with another one having Denoiser on.
Win 10 Pro 64, Xeon E5-2687W v2 (8x 3.40GHz), G.Skill 64 GB DDR3-2400, ASRock X79 Extreme 11
Mobo: 1 Titan Xp, 1 Titan X Pascal
External: 6 Titan X Pascal - 1600W EVGA T2
Plugs: 3DSMax, C4D, Daz, Houdini, Lightwave, Sketchup
User avatar
Notiusweb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1157
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:51 am

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby abstrax » Tue Aug 14, 2018 9:31 pm

abstrax Tue Aug 14, 2018 9:31 pm
funk wrote:Hey guys, I seem to be getting a crash enabling the denoiser. It's almost the same as the first XB you released where old CPUs with no AVX support were crashing.

1. Start octane
2. Add a rendertarget and select it to start rendering
3. Enable the denoiser

CRASH after a second or two

Does the application crash or do the GPUs fail like with mac3d?
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5102
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby funk » Tue Aug 14, 2018 11:10 pm

funk Tue Aug 14, 2018 11:10 pm
abstrax wrote:
funk wrote:Hey guys, I seem to be getting a crash enabling the denoiser. It's almost the same as the first XB you released where old CPUs with no AVX support were crashing.

1. Start octane
2. Add a rendertarget and select it to start rendering
3. Enable the denoiser

CRASH after a second or two

Does the application crash or do the GPUs fail like with mac3d?


The app crashes (no crash dialog, it just vanishes and I see the desktop)
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 13
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 786
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby vijay_thirukonda » Tue Aug 14, 2018 11:47 pm

vijay_thirukonda Tue Aug 14, 2018 11:47 pm
mac3d wrote:Crash with Enable Denoising.
Ubuntu 17.10 64 bit


Could you please send me the scene for testing?
vijay_thirukonda
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 136
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:42 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby ff7darkcloud » Wed Aug 15, 2018 12:23 am

ff7darkcloud Wed Aug 15, 2018 12:23 am
I get a crash as soon as I connect to my slave machine while rendering. And when I start rendering after connecting to my slave.
( PC ) Win 10 x64 | 4xGTX1080TI | ASUS Rampage VI Extreme | i9 7900x | 32GB | 1600W
( Laptop ) Win 10 x64 | GTX1070 | MSI GT73VR | i7 6820HK | 32GB - Octane Standalone Win 10/ Octane for Sketchup 2018

PORTFOLIO: archvi.wix.com/archvi
User avatar
ff7darkcloud
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2012 11:20 pm
Location: Fredericksburg, VA, USA

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby abstrax » Wed Aug 15, 2018 12:52 am

abstrax Wed Aug 15, 2018 12:52 am
ff7darkcloud wrote:I get a crash as soon as I connect to my slave machine while rendering. And when I start rendering after connecting to my slave.

Thanks for the report. We think we can reproduce an issue here and will fix it with the next release. If it happens only with a specific scene, please send it to us so we can verify that our fix also fixes your issue. Thank you.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5102
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby coilbook » Wed Aug 15, 2018 1:33 am

coilbook Wed Aug 15, 2018 1:33 am
"Nvidia’s new Turing architecture focuses on dedicated RT Cores for ray tracing, a technique that’s designed to improve lighting effects in games."

Will octane 4 support RT cores or only cudas
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2485
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby abstrax » Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:35 am

abstrax Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:35 am
coilbook wrote:"Nvidia’s new Turing architecture focuses on dedicated RT Cores for ray tracing, a technique that’s designed to improve lighting effects in games."

Will octane 4 support RT cores or only cudas

At the moment we are planning to use only CUDA in version 4, but we are not sure yet. It all depends how things come together in the next few months.
In theory there is no difference between theory and practice. In practice there is. - Yogi Berra
User avatar
abstrax
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 5102
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 11:01 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby coilbook » Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:37 am

coilbook Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:37 am
abstrax wrote:
coilbook wrote:"Nvidia’s new Turing architecture focuses on dedicated RT Cores for ray tracing, a technique that’s designed to improve lighting effects in games."

Will octane 4 support RT cores or only cudas

At the moment we are planning to use only CUDA in version 4, but we are not sure yet. It all depends how things come together in the next few months.

Thanks!
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2485
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender™ 4 RC 1 [latest version 4]

Postby grimm » Wed Aug 15, 2018 5:41 am

grimm Wed Aug 15, 2018 5:41 am
I'm getting a GPU failed message when I try to add a plane. Once I delete the plane it works normally. I checked the logs, but no message. I did test the volume denoiser and it's working great! Thanks,

Jason
Linux Mint 19 x64 | Nvidia GTX 980 4GB (displays) RTX 2070 8GB| Intel I7 5820K 3.8 Ghz | 32Gb Memory | Nvidia Driver 440.31
User avatar
grimm
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1149
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 8:11 pm
Location: Spokane, Washington, USA
PreviousNext

Return to Development Build Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Wed Nov 13, 2019 8:14 pm [ UTC ]