OctaneRender V4 XB3

Forums: OctaneRender V4 XB3
A forum where development builds are posted for testing by the community.
Forum rules
NOTE: The software in this forum is not %100 reliable, they are development builds and are meant for testing by experienced octane users. If you are a new octane user, we recommend to use the current stable release from the 'Commercial Product News & Releases' forum.

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB3

Postby coilbook » Tue Jun 19, 2018 2:39 pm

coilbook Tue Jun 19, 2018 2:39 pm
Dear otoy,
please don't forget about foam, mist, splash shaders for octane 4 (phoenix fd or 3ds max liquids). All renderes out there already have foam shaders like arnold, vray we still dont

Thanks
coilbook
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2608
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 2:27 pm

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB3

Postby funk » Tue Jun 19, 2018 5:55 pm

funk Tue Jun 19, 2018 5:55 pm
Will it be possible to enable the denoiser without restarting the render? Nothing else in the imager requires a restart.
Last edited by funk on Tue Jun 19, 2018 5:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 13
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 859
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB3

Postby funk » Tue Jun 19, 2018 5:56 pm

funk Tue Jun 19, 2018 5:56 pm
funk wrote:Now that Octane 4 is out (in beta), I'd like to ask about the rounded edge improvements that were discussed in previous presentations by Jules.

Is this still happening? I really love Octane but the rounded edge feature is a real let down. We really need something better.

https://render.otoy.com/requests/?qa=12 ... ge-shading

Improved rounded edges have been announced in our roadmap for v3.10.
What we plan is to keep the current implementation, which just works in some cases and which is extremely fast compared to most renderers and add a new "accurate" option that will hopefully solve the current issues and add extra functionality.


Jules, can you please let us know what's going on with rounded edges?
Win10 Pro 64 / Core i7-975 3.33GHz / 12GB RAM / GTX 1080 Ti + GTX 670 / 2x1920x1200 / MODO 13
"I am the resurrection, and the life: he that believeth in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live" - Jesus Christ
User avatar
funk
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 859
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:24 pm
Location: Australia

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB3

Postby BorisGoreta » Tue Jun 19, 2018 10:19 pm

BorisGoreta Tue Jun 19, 2018 10:19 pm
I've noticed that if you have an object textured with camera projection and a perspective correction checked in thin lens camera it actually affects the texturing of that object which is not a desirable behavior. Perspective correction should only correct the geometry not the texturing of it.

Currently I can't match correct camera projection texturing and perspective correction when using background images taken with tilt shift camera.
User avatar
BorisGoreta
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1349
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB3

Postby Notiusweb » Wed Jun 20, 2018 5:47 pm

Notiusweb Wed Jun 20, 2018 5:47 pm
Q - Without denoiser - Is Octane V4 measurably faster than Octane V3?
1 - If YES, why the heck even bother with development on V3?
2 - if NO, what the heck!?
:twisted:

PS - heck
Win 10 Pro 64, Xeon E5-2687W v2 (8x 3.40GHz), G.Skill 64 GB DDR3-2400, ASRock X79 Extreme 11
Mobo: 1 Titan RTX, 1 Titan Xp
External: 6 Titan X Pascal, 2 GTX Titan X
Plugs: Enterprise
User avatar
Notiusweb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1269
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:51 am

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB3

Postby HHbomb » Wed Jun 20, 2018 7:13 pm

HHbomb Wed Jun 20, 2018 7:13 pm
@Notiusweb : I want your drugs !!!! :mrgreen:
| seven 64 | i7 5930K + titanX + 1050 for video | i7 3970 + 4 x titan | i7 5960 + 4 x titanX | 3dsmax 2018 |
HHbomb
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 944
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 8:45 pm

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB3

Postby itou31 » Wed Jun 20, 2018 8:40 pm

itou31 Wed Jun 20, 2018 8:40 pm
Notiusweb wrote:Q - Without denoiser - Is Octane V4 measurably faster than Octane V3?
1 - If YES, why the heck even bother with development on V3?
2 - if NO, what the heck!?
:twisted:

PS - heck


No for the XB3, I hope that when release, V4 will be faster than V3.
I7-3930K 64Go RAM Win8.1pro , main 3 titans + 780Ti
Xeon 2696V3 64Go RAM Win8.1/win10/win7, 2x 1080Ti + 3x 980Ti + 2x Titan Black
User avatar
itou31
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 377
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:43 am

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB3

Postby arvinmoses0122 » Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:01 pm

arvinmoses0122 Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:01 pm
Didn't see if anyone responded to the crashes yet, but here's what I found. It seems to be related to alembic or fbx geometry.

I'm specifically shipping mine out of blender. Whenever I ship those geos out, and try to render them in Octane, it seems to crash octane.
arvinmoses0122
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 10:41 pm

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB3

Postby haze » Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:28 pm

haze Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:28 pm
Notiusweb wrote:Q - Without denoiser - Is Octane V4 measurably faster than Octane V3?
1 - If YES, why the heck even bother with development on V3?
2 - if NO, what the heck!?
:twisted:

PS - heck


We are working on speed in two ways:
1. increasing the number of samples that arrive for tonemapping in the same delta time
2. increasing the quality of those samples in the same time

Our focus currently is #2, meaning that in general in V4, you don't need as many samples for the same level of noise/error (actually that means that the MS/sec measurement as speed becomes less important)

With XB4 there will be some more improvements, and you should be able to see a good improvement across most of your scenes.
User avatar
haze
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 805
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 8:57 pm

Re: OctaneRender V4 XB3

Postby haze » Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:38 pm

haze Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:38 pm
arvinmoses0122 wrote:Didn't see if anyone responded to the crashes yet, but here's what I found. It seems to be related to alembic or fbx geometry.

I'm specifically shipping mine out of blender. Whenever I ship those geos out, and try to render them in Octane, it seems to crash octane.


Can you send one for me to check please? Thanks
User avatar
haze
OctaneRender Team
OctaneRender Team
 
Posts: 805
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 8:57 pm
PreviousNext

Return to Development Build Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Wed May 27, 2020 3:31 am [ UTC ]