Smoothing problem

Forums: Smoothing problem
Blender (Export script developed by yoyoz; Integrated Plugin developed by JimStar)

Re: Smoothing problem

Postby danvica » Sat Oct 09, 2010 2:56 pm

danvica Sat Oct 09, 2010 2:56 pm
Here are the files:

One is the IGES export from PRO/E
One is the SLP export from PRO/E
One is the OBJ export from Blender

I can check them all but SLP using FreeCAD. I think SLP output from PRO/E is missing normals data. I hope I'm wrong.

I'll check importing STL format.

Thanks for any help.

Daniele
Attachments
st2slp.zip
(174.15 KiB) Downloaded 124 times
st2obj.zip
(37.05 KiB) Downloaded 105 times
st2igs.zip
(21.12 KiB) Downloaded 118 times
Win7 64bit | GTX480 | i3 540 3.07GHz | 4GB
danvica
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 5:56 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Smoothing problem

Postby mib2berlin » Sat Oct 09, 2010 4:49 pm

mib2berlin Sat Oct 09, 2010 4:49 pm
Hi, i test the .obj and the .slp file in blender and the slp mesh is much better.
You have to set smooth in blender an use the edge split modifier, also "Apply all Modifier" during export from blender to .obj.

Cheers mib

Edit: .slp is blue
Attachments
smooth.png
Opensuse Leap 42.3/64 i5-3570K 16 GB
GTX 760 4 GB Driver: 430.31
Octane 3.08 Blender Octane
mib2berlin
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1187
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 7:18 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Smoothing problem

Postby ycarry » Sat Oct 09, 2010 5:52 pm

ycarry Sat Oct 09, 2010 5:52 pm
Same result:
I add edge split modifier (angle to 10), apply, then object 'set smooth' then export to obj

slp2blend2obj.jpg
slp2blend2obj.jpg (10.83 KiB) Viewed 1902 times


Or save pro/E to IGES and open in MoI then save as .obj (as Octane perfectly use MoI vertex normal).
ycarry
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 7:55 pm
Location: France

Re: Smoothing problem

Postby danvica » Sun Oct 10, 2010 5:33 am

danvica Sun Oct 10, 2010 5:33 am
Many thanks for your test !

I'm not in front of the O.R. computer but... this is exactly what I done. (At least it seems).

Edge split to 10 (or similar value) plus 'set smooth'. In Blender I could see the quality/quantity of the smooth changing depending on edge split value.

Actually I didn't apply the e.s. modifier... seems a stupid question... do I have to apply it or it's enough to see it in the modifier's stack ?

I'll try later. Anyway thanks again for your time.
Win7 64bit | GTX480 | i3 540 3.07GHz | 4GB
danvica
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 5:56 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Smoothing problem

Postby danvica » Sun Oct 10, 2010 9:25 am

danvica Sun Oct 10, 2010 9:25 am
I tested smooth + edge split and it works. Many thanks.

The only remaining problem is the strange reflection i've got in my scene.

I enclosed some pictures of the same scene with different zooming. The image reflected on the flat surface has to be the same, but I obtain a somehow irregular picture depending also on the zoom.

The scene to be reflected is (part of) reflb5.jpg

Using a simple scene, the part + sphere, the reflection is good (reflb6.jpg)

Any hints ?
Attachments
reflpb6.jpg
reflpb5.jpg
reflpb3.jpg
reflpb2.jpg
Win7 64bit | GTX480 | i3 540 3.07GHz | 4GB
danvica
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 5:56 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Smoothing problem

Postby ycarry » Sun Oct 10, 2010 2:27 pm

ycarry Sun Oct 10, 2010 2:27 pm
Actually I didn't apply the e.s. modifier... seems a stupid question... do I have to apply it or it's enough to see it in the modifier's stack ?

You need to apply modifier.
I always do that when modeling cause I ever forgot to do in export dialog :oops:

Nota: think you see why 10° for this object... add set smooth first can help here
ycarry
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 7:55 pm
Location: France

Re: Smoothing problem

Postby danvica » Sun Oct 10, 2010 2:56 pm

danvica Sun Oct 10, 2010 2:56 pm
Thanks ycarry for your cooperation !

I'll have to better study blender interface. I liked the idea to apply a modifier while keeping it in a stack. So I could see all the modifier applied to an object and eventually modify any of them (even the very first one).
Applying a modifier automatically remove it from the stack (how to modify it later ?)
But I'll check on the Blender site, here it seems way too OT.

Any idea on the strange reflection ?
Win7 64bit | GTX480 | i3 540 3.07GHz | 4GB
danvica
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 5:56 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Smoothing problem

Postby ycarry » Sun Oct 10, 2010 3:30 pm

ycarry Sun Oct 10, 2010 3:30 pm
Applying a modifier automatically remove it from the stack (how to modify it later ?)
To modify later do not apply... :)
Any idea on the strange reflection ?
... but apply modifier when export:
Attachments
apply_mod.jpg
apply_mod.jpg (22.86 KiB) Viewed 1885 times
ycarry
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 202
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 7:55 pm
Location: France

Re: Smoothing problem

Postby ROUBAL » Sun Oct 10, 2010 3:31 pm

ROUBAL Sun Oct 10, 2010 3:31 pm
In Blender, If you use a subsurf modifier set to "Catmull-Clark" with a sufficient level (usually 2 is fine) and apply this modifier, you should have no problem.

Smooth problems are often due to non subsurfaced objects, or subsurfaced objects with "Simple subdivision" instead of Catmull-clark.
French Blender user - CPU : intel Quad QX9650 at 3GHz - 8GB of RAM - Windows 7 Pro 64 bits. Display GPU : GeForce GTX 480 (2 Samsung 2443BW-1920x1600 monitors). External GPUs : two EVGA GTX 580 3GB in a Cubix GPU-Xpander Pro 2. NVidia Driver : 368.22.
User avatar
ROUBAL
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: FRANCE

Re: Smoothing problem

Postby Synthercat » Sun Oct 10, 2010 3:55 pm

Synthercat Sun Oct 10, 2010 3:55 pm
I dunno if that helps but if you want to have an object partly smoothed and partly solid you have to use different materials on blender so when exported to Oct it would look as it should be.
Windows 10 64bit | GTX-770 OC 2GB + GTX-460 768MB | AMD FX-8320 (8 X 4.4GHz OC) | 16GB RAM
User avatar
Synthercat
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 11:12 am
Location: Thessaloniki Greece
PreviousNext

Return to Blender


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests

Sat Dec 07, 2019 11:23 am [ UTC ]