Blender and instanced object

Forums: Blender and instanced object
Blender (Export script developed by yoyoz; Integrated Plugin developed by JimStar)

Re: Blender and instanced object

Postby steveps3 » Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:32 pm

steveps3 Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:32 pm
Work on my script to export particle geometry to a text file is almost complete. It will take each particle and convert its XYZ / rotation details into a series of matrices that can be pasted into the scatter node. Not very nice but it would appear as if this is the best that we will be able to mange for a while.

I can't believe that there is no way to hack the .OCS to include the correct XML required for the placement / scatter nodes. If this is the case then it would appear as if the alienation of blender users from Octane has begun.
(HW) Intel i7 2600k, 16GB DDR3, MSI 560GTX ti (2GB) x 3
(SW) Octane (1.50) Blender (2.70) (exporter 2.02)
(OS) Windows 7(64)
User avatar
steveps3
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1118
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 4:07 pm
Location: England

Re: Blender and instanced object

Postby matej » Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:55 am

matej Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:55 am
steveps3 wrote:I can't believe that there is no way to hack the .OCS to include the correct XML required for the placement / scatter nodes. If this is the case then it would appear as if the alienation of blender users from Octane has begun.


You can hack the .ocs all you want. Just load it with some python XML parser (works inside Blender too) and write data into nodes (Octane dev team discourages this, but who cares). It's just a really messy work.

I think now its the time Otoy starts taking Blender users seriously (second largest Octane usergroup!!!) and gives us an official exporter. Since we most likely wont be seeing an integrated plugin for Blender, this is the least they owe us (morally too, but especially legally, since they advertise Blender as being supported).

btw, there is also a new exchange file format being developed (Roeland said so), that will probably make the instance data transfer to Octane a lot easier.
SW: Octane 3.05 | Linux Mint 18.1 64bit | Blender 2.78 HW: EVGA GTX 1070 | i5 2500K | 16GB RAM Drivers: 375.26
cgmo.net
User avatar
matej
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Slovenia

Re: Blender and instanced object

Postby pixelrush » Wed Jul 25, 2012 6:17 am

pixelrush Wed Jul 25, 2012 6:17 am
I don't think Otoy are setting out to alienate people its just they haven't really been very adept at any meaningful dialogue so far :) Granted though it doesn't look like we are going to get much of a conversation out of them. ;)
i7-3820 @4.3Ghz | 24gb | Win7pro-64
GTS 250 display + 2 x GTX 780 cuda| driver 331.65
Octane v1.55
User avatar
pixelrush
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1618
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 7:11 pm
Location: Nelson, New Zealand

Re: Blender and instanced object

Postby steveps3 » Wed Jul 25, 2012 6:28 am

steveps3 Wed Jul 25, 2012 6:28 am
I agree that whilst we are quite unlikely to see a fully integrated product it would be good to have an official exporter. Or at least give the likes of Lionel the tools that he needs in order to be able to create an unofficial one :idea:
(HW) Intel i7 2600k, 16GB DDR3, MSI 560GTX ti (2GB) x 3
(SW) Octane (1.50) Blender (2.70) (exporter 2.02)
(OS) Windows 7(64)
User avatar
steveps3
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1118
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 4:07 pm
Location: England

Re: Blender and instanced object

Postby matej » Wed Jul 25, 2012 4:38 pm

matej Wed Jul 25, 2012 4:38 pm
hmm, yes, it seem that its really hard (or dangerous :) ) to produce a concise answer to some questions regarding Blender. It's actually possible to make an integration? It's Otoy willing to make the integration? Will we see official Blender exporter support?

I would go so far to say that Lionel should stop updating his exporter. While the community manages by itself and we are (somewhat) satisfied with our situation, Otoy wont do much. Piles of customer complaints, OTOH, should move things forward and produce some fast solutions, business logic says :D

I suppose they are brewing something down in the basement (Roeland mentioned a new data exchange format to replace .obj). If they are I hope they are keeping in touch with Lionel, so he wont waste his time on hacks & partial solutions. Lionel showed that he is more than willing to develop the exporter and thus keep Blender users interested in Octane (== moar licenses!!), so they ought to keep at least him informed.
SW: Octane 3.05 | Linux Mint 18.1 64bit | Blender 2.78 HW: EVGA GTX 1070 | i5 2500K | 16GB RAM Drivers: 375.26
cgmo.net
User avatar
matej
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Slovenia

Re: Blender and instanced object

Postby steveps3 » Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:36 pm

steveps3 Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:36 pm
I may be wrong but I think that Lionel has pushed the exporter pretty much as far as he can at the moment. From the bog standard .obj exporter to what we have at present is a massive leap. I am not sure if I would still be using Octane if all I had was the .obj exporter. Especially with cycles coming on so fast.

We need some official weight behind an exporter / integration.
(HW) Intel i7 2600k, 16GB DDR3, MSI 560GTX ti (2GB) x 3
(SW) Octane (1.50) Blender (2.70) (exporter 2.02)
(OS) Windows 7(64)
User avatar
steveps3
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1118
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 4:07 pm
Location: England

Re: Blender and instanced object

Postby thiagobulhoes » Fri Jul 27, 2012 5:44 pm

thiagobulhoes Fri Jul 27, 2012 5:44 pm
ok, I did not understand how to do this part?

"I export my scene and during the export process the instances matrix coordinates are stored in separate files with the instanciated object as name."

enrico, if you could help me with this part I would appreciate... thanks.
Thiago Muradas Bulhões
www.napalmstudio.com.br
Brazil - RS
thiagobulhoes
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2010 8:10 pm
Location: Brasil

Re: Blender and instanced object

Postby Daniel » Sat Jul 28, 2012 5:15 am

Daniel Sat Jul 28, 2012 5:15 am
Save us from Cycles!
Core i7 950 @3.07GHz | GTX 460 2GB | 12GB RAM | Window 7 x64
Daniel
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 412
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 9:52 am

Re: Blender and instanced object

Postby enricocerica » Sat Jul 28, 2012 6:28 am

enricocerica Sat Jul 28, 2012 6:28 am
thiagobulhoes wrote:ok, I did not understand how to do this part?

"I export my scene and during the export process the instances matrix coordinates are stored in separate files with the instanciated object as name."

enrico, if you could help me with this part I would appreciate... thanks.


Unfortunately I can't help you on this, I've modified Lionel script to generate the matrix and to export the instance objects separately, I will see if I could give it here but it is based on a old version (I'm still using blender 2.52), did a quick ugly write and it's still a bit tricky for use it, not sure I'll have time to package it ...

But steveps3 has made something which may help you :
viewtopic.php?f=32&t=22630
Modeling system : I7 32GB Windows 10 & Fujitsu Celsius H720
GPU : 1x Gigabyte GTX580 3GB + 1x MSI GTX780 3GB + 1x PALIT GTX780 6GB +1x Asus Stix GTX1070 8GB
http://www.myline.be
User avatar
enricocerica
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2009 7:32 pm

Re: Blender and instanced object

Postby matej » Sat Jul 28, 2012 11:54 am

matej Sat Jul 28, 2012 11:54 am
See here for a working script for instance export
SW: Octane 3.05 | Linux Mint 18.1 64bit | Blender 2.78 HW: EVGA GTX 1070 | i5 2500K | 16GB RAM Drivers: 375.26
cgmo.net
User avatar
matej
Licensed Customer
Licensed Customer
 
Posts: 2083
Joined: Fri Jun 25, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Slovenia
Previous

Return to Blender


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Thu Jul 02, 2020 10:09 am [ UTC ]